A crypto card from the MultiversX team, built for people who already live inside the EGLD ecosystem
The xPortal card is a Mastercard debit issued under the MultiversX / xPortal brand, designed to let you spend a balance that’s funded from a handful of major cryptocurrencies, plus a debit or credit card. It exists for a very specific kind of user: someone who already keeps assets in the MultiversX ecosystem and wants a card that plugs into the same app, rather than someone shopping for the cheapest or most rewarding crypto card on the market. The score on this review is 6.4 out of 10, and the reason it’s not higher comes down to two things: the country rules are vague in a way that makes it hard to know whether you’re even eligible, and the everyday fee structure is uneven, with no monthly fee but a foreign exchange mark-up of up to 2.5% and a 1.49% fee every time you buy crypto to top up.

Conditions on the card’s own pages and in its published fees document are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The card lands at 6.4 out of 10. That’s a middling score and it reflects a product that’s competent at what it does, but doesn’t lead its category on cost, rewards, or transparency. If you’re an EEA resident who already holds EGLD, or a small portfolio of major coins, and you’re happy to pay the conversion premium for the convenience of spending directly from your wallet, the xPortal card does the job. If you’re shopping for the best cashback rate, the lowest FX fee, or the clearest set of terms, you’ll find better options elsewhere.
Here’s the breakdown by criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The card’s own pages don’t actually list eligible countries; third-party sources say 29 EEA states, with the US, UK, Canada, Switzerland, Iran and North Korea excluded |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | The card itself is free, but the 1.49% crypto-purchase fee and the maximum 2.5% FX mark-up add up |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Nine named coins (BTC, ETH, EGLD, POL, BNB, SOL, DOGE, BERA, SUI), but no stablecoins or networks stated on the card page |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Operated by xPortal Equity A.G.; unofficial sources point to Capital Financial Services S.A. (Twispay) as the issuer under a Romanian e-money licence; the app scores 4.8 on the App Store |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard Debit, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, ATM withdrawals up to EUR 500 per month |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 | A solid choice inside its niche, but neither the cheapest nor the most rewarding card on the market |
The verdict in one sentence: this is a card for EEA residents who pay with EGLD and a handful of other major coins, and who can tolerate a fee structure that’s clearer in the published PDF than on the marketing page.
Who will they give you the card
The honest answer here is that the card’s own pages don’t tell you, and that’s already a problem. The product page lists shipping prices for “RO” (Romania) and “INT” (international) and the terms of service say the card “may not be available to you … in certain regions”, but there’s no published list of eligible or excluded countries. If you try to sign up, you’ll find out at KYC, which means you may go through the identity check before learning the card simply isn’t available where you live.
Unofficial sources, including review sites, put the supported list at various European Economic Area countries, with a small set of explicit exclusions: Canada, Iran, North Korea, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The same third-party pages are internally inconsistent about Germany, which is a yellow flag for anyone who relies on them to check eligibility in advance. Treat those country lists as unofficial and not confirmed by the card itself.
What that means in practice: if you live in the EEA, there’s a reasonable chance you’ll be approved, but you should not rely on a checklist before you start. If you live outside the EEA, especially in the UK, Switzerland, the US, or Canada, the third-party evidence suggests you will be declined. If you live somewhere not on any list, you simply have to apply and see.
The card also doesn’t publish the KYC requirements on the product page or in the terms, but help-centre article titles reference source-of-funds checks and tax identification numbers, which signals that the verification process goes beyond a basic ID upload. Unofficial sources say full KYC (ID plus proof of address) is required before the card is issued. If you can’t complete KYC, the documented contact routes are in-app chat and the email address [email protected].
How to get it
The sign-up flow isn’t fully documented, but the moving parts are: you install the xPortal app, create an account, go through KYC, request a card, and wait for delivery. The app is available on iOS, Google Play, and Huawei AppGallery; the iOS version carries an App Store rating of 4.8 from roughly 1,800 reviews, and the card page itself shows a “4.9” figure, which is the same kind of inconsistency the country list shows. The app supports 30 languages, including Russian.
The card comes in two forms. You can start with a virtual card, branded xPortal, MultiversX, or Sui, and a physical Mastercard Debit follows. The card currency is implied to be euros by the page graphics, but the card page never says so explicitly. A small note on virtual cards: the published fees PDF says the first three virtual cards are free, then EUR 3 per additional virtual card, which is information you won’t find on the marketing page.
Delivery pricing differs between two official sources and is worth quoting carefully. The card product page lists delivery at EUR 5.99 for Romania and EUR 9.99 for international. The fees PDF (effective 2 July 2024) lists the first physical card at EUR 9.99 plus delivery of EUR 5.99 in Romania or EUR 12.99 international, which means the same physical card costs EUR 15.98 in Romania and EUR 22.98 internationally on the PDF, versus EUR 5.99 / EUR 9.99 on the page. An older help-centre article adds that international delivery is “only EEA”. Delivery time and replacement cost are not stated.
Verification levels, processing time, and the specific rejection reasons are not stated either. Help-centre article titles point to “Source of funds check” and “Why do I have to provide my tax identification number?”, which suggests the issuer may ask for tax IDs and proof of income at some stage. Treat the order, depth, and timeline of KYC as a black box; plan to have your passport, proof of address, and tax identification number ready.
Fees
The fee structure is one of the most uneven parts of the product. The good news is that the physical card itself is issued free, with no monthly or annual fee stated on the card page. The fees PDF goes further: opening and maintaining the account is free, card payments are free, and there’s no annual fee on the Standard Mint Account. The bad news is the fees that do apply, and the gap between the marketing page and the published document.

The marketing page is the one most users will read. It advertises a 1.49% crypto purchase fee (via xMoney) and a “Maximum 2.5%” foreign exchange fee, applied to the exchange rate, with the exact rate depending on transaction type, merchant type, geography, or campaigns. The fees PDF adds a few items you won’t see in the marketing summary: EUR 20 per unjustified chargeback, free ATM withdrawals up to EUR 200 per month, then 2% plus EUR 1 per withdrawal above that, an ATM balance-check fee of EUR 1 in Romania or EUR 2 outside, and a maximum 3% fee (with a EUR 1 minimum) on payments to high-risk merchants such as gambling sites.
There’s a real disagreement on daily card-spending limits. The fees PDF says “No limit” for daily card spending across POS, e-commerce, and ATM; the card page says EUR 5,000. The two are both official sources, and they don’t agree.
Here’s a consolidated table from the official sources:
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free |
| Virtual card | First three free, then EUR 3 each |
| Delivery (Romania) | EUR 5.99 (page) or EUR 5.99 (fees PDF) plus EUR 9.99 card |
| Delivery (international) | EUR 9.99 (page) or EUR 12.99 (fees PDF) plus EUR 9.99 card |
| Monthly / annual fee | Not stated |
| Crypto purchase fee | 1.49% via xMoney |
| Foreign exchange fee | Maximum 2.5% (page and fees PDF) |
| Card payments | Free |
| ATM withdrawal | Free up to EUR 200 / month, then 2% + EUR 1 per withdrawal |
| ATM balance check | EUR 1 (Romania) or EUR 2 (outside) |
| High-risk merchant fee | Maximum 3%, minimum EUR 1 |
| Chargeback (unjustified) | EUR 20 |
| Daily spending | EUR 5,000 (page) — “No limit” (fees PDF) |
| ATM limit | EUR 500 / month (page) — EUR 500 / day, EUR 2,500 / month (fees PDF) |
| Daily top-up | EUR 2,500 (page) — EUR 5,000 (fees PDF) |
| Monthly top-up | EUR 10,000 (page) — EUR 25,000 (fees PDF) |
The take-away: the card is cheap to hold and free for everyday in-currency payments, but every conversion (crypto to euro, euro to another currency, crypto top-up) carries a premium of around 1.5% to 2.5%, and the limits you see depend on which official page you read.
To make that concrete: imagine three everyday payments. First, you buy a EUR 30 lunch in Bucharest. The card is in euros, the merchant is in Romania, no conversion happens, you pay EUR 30 with no fee. Second, you buy a USD 50 item online from a US merchant. The card converts euros to US dollars at the Mastercard rate plus a maximum 2.5% mark-up, so the effective fee on that purchase is up to EUR 1.25 before any spread your card-issuer adds. Third, you withdraw EUR 100 from an ATM in Berlin. The first EUR 200 in a month are free, so this withdrawal costs you nothing in fees, but you also can’t go past EUR 500 per month on the card page, or EUR 2,500 per month on the fees PDF. A EUR 300 withdrawal the same month is still free on the first EUR 200, then 2% plus EUR 1 on the next EUR 100, which is EUR 3.
Top up
The card page names nine coins you can use to fund the card: BTC, ETH, EGLD, POL, BNB, SOL, DOGE, BERA, and SUI. It does not name any stablecoins, and it does not name any networks. That second omission is more important than it sounds: if you hold USDT on Ethereum and try to top up the xPortal card, you have no published guidance on whether the app supports ERC-20, TRC-20, or Polygon USDT, or whether USDC at all is supported, because the card page simply doesn’t say. There’s a help-centre article titled “What foreign exchange rate will I get?” which would likely answer part of this, but the answer wasn’t read.

The fees PDF adds a few useful numbers for fiat top-ups: adding euros to the account is free, the minimum top-up is EUR 10, and the daily limit is EUR 5,000 with a monthly limit of EUR 25,000 across all methods. The card page gives a tighter figure: daily top-up EUR 2,500 and monthly top-up EUR 10,000. As elsewhere, the two official pages don’t agree, and you’ll need to know which one applies to you. The card page also confirms that you can fund the card by buying crypto with a debit or credit card, which is where the 1.49% fee is charged. Who pays the on-chain network fees on a crypto top-up is not stated, and that’s a real gap: the network fee is charged by the blockchain, not the card provider, but the card page doesn’t tell you whether xPortal passes it through, swallows it, or adds a margin.
The practical advice is: top up from a debit or credit card if you want a clean, fee-only 1.49% transaction; top up from crypto only if you already hold one of the nine named coins and you’re comfortable with the conversion rate you see in the app at the moment of the swap; and don’t assume stablecoins are supported without checking the live app.
Paying with it every day
In day-to-day use, the card behaves like a regular Mastercard debit, with the convenience of tokenised mobile wallets. The card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the app lets you freeze and unfreeze the card instantly, change settings, terminate the card, or request a replacement. The lost-and-stolen phone line is open 24/7 at +40212026944, and the in-app support chat is powered by Intercom.
Cashback is paid in $EGLD or $UTK depending on your staking tier, but the card page contradicts itself: a comparison table on the page says “Up to 0,5%”, while elsewhere the same page says “Up to 5% cashback”. Unofficial sources reconcile this by saying the 0.5% figure applies to the only currently live entry tier (Fresh Mint), and the 5% figure is for higher tiers that are not yet launched. Cashback is paid in $EGLD or $UTK, which means even your “cashback” is a crypto asset, with its own price risk and its own taxable disposal in many jurisdictions.
There’s a small list of other things you should know. The card is a Mastercard Debit, so it’s accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted, including online and at point of sale, subject to standard decline reasons. There’s no published list of blocked merchant category codes, so you don’t know in advance whether, say, gambling merchants are blocked by policy, even though the fees PDF charges up to 3% on payments to such merchants if they go through. The fees PDF also covers only the Standard Mint Account, with named-but-undefined tiers (“Diamond Touch” and a “Plan & Benefits” collection) only appearing in help-centre titles and page images.
Disputes follow the standard chargeback route, with the EUR 20 fee applying to unjustified chargebacks. Help-centre articles exist on cancelling a transaction, dealing with unrecognised transactions, and duplicate transactions, but the time frames for each are not stated. One help-centre article says a transaction cannot be cancelled once initiated.
In normal use, in a euro country, paying by card or by phone is straightforward, free, and the cashback rate is whatever the live tier says it is. The complications start the moment you spend in a non-euro currency, top up from crypto, or push past the basic free allowances.
What can go wrong
A few categories of risk are worth thinking about before you commit.
First, the company and the licence. The site footer credits xPortal Labs, and the terms name xPortal Equity A.G. as the operator of xPortal. The card page does not name the issuer or the BIN sponsor, and does not list any licence. Unofficial sources, again, point to Capital Financial Services S.A., trading as Twispay, an electronic money institution licensed by the National Bank of Romania under number IEME-RO-0001, and they credit MultiversX as the developer. This is unofficial, not confirmed by the card’s own pages, but it lines up with the use of a Mastercard Debit: a crypto brand on the front, a licensed e-money issuer on the back. EMIs in the EU are required to safeguard customer funds, but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Second, the country and sanctions risk. The card is subject to sanctions screening and to the issuer’s risk policy on citizenship and country of birth, not just residence. If you hold citizenship of an excluded country, you may be declined at KYC even if you live in a supported one. If the issuer’s policy changes, an account that was open yesterday can be closed tomorrow, and EU rules require the institution to end the relationship if due diligence cannot be completed.
Third, custody. The card’s own pages don’t state who custodies the crypto and how. In a custodial model, the provider holds the keys, which means the user trusts the provider completely; in a self-custody model, the funds stay in the user’s own wallet until the moment of payment, and the user bears the risk of key loss, phishing, and address-swapping malware. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost with no built-in recovery. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof either: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Fourth, programme risk. Card networks can suspend programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. In 2018, Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The xPortal card uses Mastercard, not Visa, but the principle is the same: a card programme can be wound down, with a notice period, then a stop on new loads, then a stop on spending, and a request to withdraw remaining balances. There’s no evidence this is happening at xPortal; the only dated official item is the fees and limits page effective 2 July 2024.
Fifth, customer support. Official sources are quiet on complaints; no Trustpilot page for the xPortal card turned up, and no news or Reddit reports either. Unofficial sources flag slow support response times and a verification process that reviewers say has room for improvement, particularly around seed phrase visibility. The app’s 4.8 rating on the App Store suggests most users are happy, but the sample is small (1,800 ratings).
Finally, tax. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so swapping crypto for a card payment is a taxable disposal, with gain or loss measured in local fiat at fair market value on the day. The same principle applies in many other jurisdictions. Each card purchase funded from crypto is, in tax terms, a separate sale, and cashback paid in $EGLD or $UTK is income or a gain in its own right. The card doesn’t withhold tax and doesn’t prepare reports for you.
What to take instead
If the country rules, the FX mark-up, or the missing stablecoin support put you off, three other cards are worth a look. None of them are identical to xPortal, and each comes with its own trade-offs.
MetaMask Card (score 7.1 / 10) is the closest comparison. It’s a Mastercard issued by Monovate with Crypto Life as card provider; you get a free virtual card first, with a Metal version pre-orderable in the app for $199 a year. Sign-ups are open in 45 listed countries and territories (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them), and other regions join a waitlist, though US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ. The card spends directly from a connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, or Solana, with named tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, and USDT. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, headline 3% on Metal with a footnote that limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent then drops to 1%. There’s a $FLY bonus via the Blackbird dining app: 5X on Virtual, 7X on Metal. The card charges “no additional MetaMask fees” and uses the Mastercard rate for FX, with no foreign transaction fee, though the underlying fee table was linked rather than read in full. Compared to xPortal, the country list is clearer, the cashback is paid in a dollar stablecoin rather than a volatile token, and the FX story is simpler, but you pay a $199 annual fee for the metal tier and you can only hold one card per user.
KAST (score 6.1 / 10) sits at the other end of the fee spectrum. It’s a Visa product (Standard Visa Platinum, Premium Visa Infinite metal, Private Visa Infinite gold-plated) issued under a residence-based country check at KYC, with a US-dollar balance that accepts stablecoin deposits at a 0% spread. The annual membership is the headline number: Standard is $0, Premium is $1,000 a year, Private is $10,000 a year, all billed annually upfront with no monthly option. There are smaller fees: extra virtual cards $2, Standard physical card fee $0 plus $40 delivery, an inactivity fee of $1 a month after 12 months, and a declined-transaction fee of $0.50. Stablecoin top-up is 0%, card spend in USD is 0%, and non-USD FX fees run from 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence, transaction country, and card programme. Cashback is paid in USD: 1.5% on the first $2,000 of monthly spend on Standard, 2% on the first $10,000 on Premium, 3% on the first $40,000 on Private, with KAST Points on top. Compared to xPortal, the cashback is more generous and paid in USD, but you need a stablecoin to fund the card, the membership is steep, and the country list is not published.
Zeal (score 6.1 / 10) is the third option, built on top of Gnosis Pay. The card is a Visa, virtual, addable to Apple Pay, with accounts in EUR, USD, and GBP. Spend is accepted in 150+ countries and the card programme is live in the EU, the UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia, and Thailand, with Mexico, Colombia, and Bolivia called out in update notes. There’s no published fee schedule; Zeal itself charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees (for example, ATM) may still apply. Cashback is up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, with the requirement that GNO is held in the card Safe to qualify, and rates can change. Compared to xPortal, the FX story is cleaner and the cashback rate is higher, but the rewards token is a smaller-cap crypto asset, the physical card status is not stated, and the live country list is narrower than the 150+ where the card can be spent.
Who I would recommend it to
The honest recommendation has three parts, because the card is a good fit for some users, a poor fit for others, and a marginal fit for the rest.
If you live in the EEA, you already hold EGLD or one of the nine named coins, you’re comfortable paying the 1.49% crypto-purchase fee and the up to 2.5% FX mark-up, and you want a single app that holds your coins and issues a card you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, then the xPortal card does the job. The Mastercard acceptance is broad, the everyday in-currency spending is free, the ATM allowance of EUR 200 a month is enough for casual cash, and the cashback paid in $EGLD or $UTK is a real, if small, kicker for someone who already believes in the MultiversX ecosystem.
If you live outside the EEA, especially in the UK, the US, Switzerland, or Canada, don’t apply. The unofficial evidence is that you will be declined, and the lack of an official country list means you’ll only find out at KYC, after you’ve handed over your ID. If you don’t already hold one of the nine named coins and would need to buy crypto to top up, the 1.49% fee is a real drag; if you mostly spend in non-euro currencies, the maximum 2.5% FX mark-up is the wrong side of competitive.
If you sit in the middle, the right question is whether you value the convenience of the MultiversX app more than you value a clearer fee schedule, a higher cashback rate, or paid-in-cash rewards. MetaMask Card will give you a clearer country list and stablecoin cashback at the cost of an annual metal-tier fee; KAST will give you USD cashback at the cost of a much higher annual membership; Zeal will give you cleaner FX and higher cashback at the cost of a smaller-cap rewards token. The xPortal card’s case is that it’s free to hold, simple to set up, and integrated with the MultiversX stack, and that’s a real case for a specific reader.
Frequently asked questions
What is the xPortal card?
The xPortal card is a Mastercard Debit issued under the MultiversX / xPortal brand, available as a virtual card (branded xPortal, MultiversX, or Sui) and as a physical card. It draws on a balance funded from one of nine named cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, EGLD, POL, BNB, SOL, DOGE, BERA, SUI) or from a debit or credit card, and the card page implies the balance is held in euros. The card is operated by xPortal Equity A.G. per the terms of service.
How does the xPortal card work?
You install the xPortal app, complete KYC, request a card, and add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay for tokenised mobile payments or use the physical card at point of sale. When you top up from crypto, the app converts your coin into euro balance at the rate shown at the time; when you top up with a debit or credit card, the 1.49% xMoney fee is charged. At payment, the card debits your euro balance, with a maximum 2.5% foreign exchange fee applied if the merchant is in a non-euro currency.
Is xPortal a bank?
No. The site footer credits xPortal Labs, the terms name xPortal Equity A.G. as the operator of xPortal, and unofficial sources name Capital Financial Services S.A. (Twispay) as the card issuer, an electronic money institution licensed by the National Bank of Romania under IEME-RO-0001. EMI funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
Where is the xPortal card available?
The card’s own pages don’t publish a list, which is unusual. Unofficial sources say it is available in 29 EEA countries and explicitly excluded from Canada, Iran, North Korea, Switzerland, the UK, and the US. The same third-party sources are internally inconsistent about Germany, and older help-centre articles say international delivery is “only EEA”. Treat the list as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.
Does the xPortal card require KYC?
Yes. The product page and terms don’t spell out the requirements, but help-centre article titles reference source-of-funds checks and tax identification numbers, and unofficial sources say full KYC (ID plus proof of address) is required before the card is issued. If you can’t complete KYC, the documented contact routes are in-app chat and [email protected].
How do I top up the xPortal card?
You can top up from one of nine named coins (BTC, ETH, EGLD, POL, BNB, SOL, DOGE, BERA, SUI) or by buying crypto with a debit or credit card via xMoney at a 1.49% fee. The fees PDF says fiat top-ups are free above a EUR 10 minimum, with daily and monthly limits that differ from the card page. Stablecoins and specific networks are not named on the card page, so don’t assume support without checking the live app.
How do I add the xPortal card to Apple Wallet?
Open the xPortal app, go to the Cards section, select your card, and follow the prompt to add it to Apple Wallet. The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, with the card number tokenised so the real PAN never leaves the Secure Element. The process is the same in reverse for Google Wallet.
Is the xPortal card free?
Issuance is free, virtual cards are free for the first three and EUR 3 thereafter, and there is no monthly or annual fee on the Standard Mint Account. Delivery is EUR 5.99 in Romania or EUR 9.99 internationally on the card page, and EUR 5.99 plus EUR 9.99 (Romania) or EUR 12.99 (international) on the fees PDF. The real costs are the 1.49% crypto-purchase fee, the maximum 2.5% FX fee, and the EUR 20 unjustified-chargeback fee.
What can I do if a transaction is wrong or unrecognised?
The card supports the standard chargeback route, with an EUR 20 fee applying to unjustified chargebacks. Help-centre articles cover cancelling a transaction, dealing with unrecognised transactions, and duplicate transactions, though the time frames are not stated and one article says a transaction cannot be cancelled once initiated. For lost or stolen cards, the 24/7 line is +40212026944; for KYC issues, the documented email is [email protected].
Is the xPortal card safe?
The app supports in-app card freeze and unfreeze, 3-D Secure online authentication via Mastercard Identity Check, and tokenised mobile wallets through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The company is not a bank, EMI funds are safeguarded but not deposit-guaranteed, and the custody model for the underlying crypto is not stated on the card page. Treat the card as a payment product from an e-money institution, and size your on-card balance accordingly.
Wallet cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
