Solflare Card Review: Paused, Unconfirmed, and What to Do Instead
If you have been looking for a crypto card that spends straight from your own wallet — no custodian holding your money, no waiting weeks for a physical card — the Solflare card looked like the cleanest version of that idea. It spent USDC directly from a Solana wallet, it worked with Google Pay, and the app carried a 4.8 rating from nearly 10,000 ratings. Then, on 28 July 2026, the programme stopped. The issuer that held the card account wound down, new cards stopped being issued, and the promised replacement has not been confirmed as of the date this review was checked. I went through the card’s terms, the pause notice, the public pages, and what independent sources report, and the picture is clear: this is not a card you can sign up for today, and whether it ever comes back in a usable form is genuinely unknown right now.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the card as it stands is 3.2 out of 10. That is not a judgement on the underlying idea — self-custody spending is genuinely useful, and Solflare got several things right. It is a judgement on what you can actually do with this product today, which is very little.
Verdict: the score, who it suits, and who it does not
The single biggest problem is not fees or features. It is that the card programme is closed. The “who can get it” line scores zero out of ten because there is nothing to get: cards are paused, the relaunch is unconfirmed, and the issuer behind the old cards has wound down. Everything else on this page is secondary to that one fact.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Cards paused during a move to a new issuer; relaunch not confirmed |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially undisclosed; unofficial sources say the annual fee is free, but fees differ between sources |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Spends USDC straight from a Solana wallet; no other coins or networks |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | Cards paused 28 July 2026 after issuer Kulipa closed; no new partner named; funds stay in self-custody |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Not being issued; Google Pay works, Apple Pay “soon”; ATM fee reported at 2% |
| Total | 3.2 / 10 |
Who does this suit today? Almost nobody, honestly. The card suits Solflare wallet holders who were already using it and are waiting to see whether the relaunch happens with the promised improvements — higher limits, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the return of cash back. If you are one of those people, the wallet itself, staking, and swaps all still work; it is only the card that stopped. Your money has not moved anywhere and is not at risk, because it never left your own wallet.
Who does it not suit? Anyone who needs a card to spend from this month, anyone who is choosing a card for the first time, and anyone who would be unsettled by a product with no confirmed restart date and an unnamed future issuer. If your situation is that an ordinary bank card is hard to get — because of where you live, your residency status, or a banking history — then a paused card is not a solution. You need something you can actually open today. I point to three working alternatives further down.
There is a fair argument for patience. Self-custody spending is a real category and Solflare built something coherent. But patience has to be a choice made with open eyes about the risk, not a default that happens because the sign-up button is greyed out.
What happened to the programme
This is the section that matters most, so let me walk through the timeline and then what the card’s own pages do and do not say.
On 28 July 2026, Solflare paused its virtual and physical cards. The stated reason was that the issuer, Kulipa, wound down; a Solflare co-founder pointed to solvency issues at Kulipa. When an issuer that holds a card account disappears, the cards cannot keep working — that is just how the card network arrangement works. The issuer is the licensed institution behind the programme, and the crypto brand is often only the front end.
Solflare promised a replacement card “in August” 2026, and said it would come with Apple Pay and Google Pay, higher limits, and cash back. As of late August, the public roadmap still listed the relaunch as a future item. As of 20 October 2026, I found no confirmation that a new card is live. The pause notice says higher limits will return with the new card and that cash back comes back with it, but the rate and the payout currency were never stated.
Here is what the card’s own public pages do and do not tell you:
- Where it was offered. The site says cards were offered in the EEA, the UK, and “other countries”, decided case by case. Eligibility was checked by requesting a card in the app. There is no country list, and whether it is residence or citizenship that counts is not stated.
- Identity checks. Verification in the app was instant. What documents, proof of address, or age rules applied is not stated.
- The card itself. The site still describes a self-custody Mastercard that deducts USDC from your wallet at checkout and claims “100M+ merchants”. The issuer is not named on the page; the site footer reads Solrise Finance Ltd. Existing cards do not carry over to a replacement.
- Mobile wallets. Google Pay worked. Apple Pay was “coming soon”, tied to the relaunch. Whether gambling or certain merchants were blocked is not stated.
- Fees and costs. Not stated on the official pages.
- Tiers, currencies, delivery. Not stated — the programme is paused.
The company behind it: the footer names Solrise Finance Ltd, registered in Tortola, British Virgin Islands. Marketing may be handled by an affiliate, Blockadopt d.o.o. in Zagreb, Croatia. Licences are not stated on the official pages. A third-party source names Kulipa as the wound-down issuer; the new partner has not been named.
One thing worth flagging as you read all this: Solflare’s pages still show the old “Get Solflare Card” marketing with no pause notice, while the pause is communicated elsewhere. That mismatch is why you may see adverts for a card that you then cannot actually apply for. Trust the current status, not the landing page.
If you already have the card
The good news, and it is genuinely good, is that your money is fine. This is the strongest thing about the card as a design, and it is why the score for reliability is low but not zero.
Here is the position as it stands:
- Your funds were never on the card. There is no card balance. Your money stays in your own self-custodial wallet, and the card only ever spent from there. The pause notice says plainly: “There is nothing you need to do.”
- Your existing card stopped working on 28 July 2026. So you cannot use it to pay right now.
- Subscriptions tied to the card stopped. Any auto-renewal subscription that was billed to the card has stopped renewing. You will want to move those to another payment method yourself.
- The rest of the wallet is unaffected. Staking, swaps, and your wallet itself all still work. Open Borrow positions stay accessible in the Cards tab.
- Support. A “24/7 human support team” is reachable by message in the app.
- Disputes and chargebacks. Not stated, and with no active card there is little to dispute.
This is where the self-custody design pays off. Compare it to a custodial card, where your balance sits with a provider and a provider failure can strand your money. Here the failure was in the card’s plumbing, not in your funds. When issuers disappear — and they do — self-custody is the difference between a hassle and a loss.
The flip side: because the card was not holding your money, there is also no card account for you to wind down or a balance to withdraw. There is no “my money is stuck in the card” problem here. That is genuinely the cleanest possible outcome of a card programme shutting down.
What you cannot do right now: use the card, top it up (there is no separate load step — the card just spends USDC from your Solana wallet directly), or rely on any card-level feature until a replacement exists.
What can go wrong
I want to be straight with you about the risks, because a paused product invites wishful thinking. None of the following are predictions — they are the specific exposures of this situation as it stands.
The main risk is that it never comes back, or comes back different. The relaunch has been promised since July and was still unconfirmed in late October. There is no named new issuer. It is entirely possible the replacement arrives with tighter limits, a fee the old card did not have, or a narrower country list than the original EEA/UK/other mix. Do not plan your finances around a card that does not exist.
You are trusting an issuer you cannot see. Self-custody protects your crypto, but the moment you tap to pay, the transaction runs through a licensed issuer and a card network. Neither Visa nor Mastercard issues these cards directly — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. When the issuer wound down in July, spending stopped, cleanly and immediately. That is the model of the risk.
Unverified costs. The official pages do not publish fees. Unofficial sources disagree: one reports a free annual fee with a 1% service fee, FX of 0.7%, and 2% at ATMs; another lists FX at 1%; another says a fixed 1% FX; another says 0.55%. The old card’s price was listed as “TBD, confirm in app”. Nobody has publicly reconciled these numbers. If a relaunch happens, treat every fee as unconfirmed until you see it in the app.
Reports about the platform, not the card. On Trustpilot, Solflare scores 3.9 out of 5 from 66 reviews, with roughly 45% critical, citing lost funds, failed transactions, and suspicious token approvals. Important caveat: these are complaints about the wallet, not card-specific, and they are a third-party read, not a verified figure from the card. Still, if you are deciding whether to trust the platform at all, this belongs in your thinking.
Unstated limits and ATM costs. Limits are not stated officially; one source shows them as unlimited and another says none are published. ATM fees are reported as 2% by one source and free by another, with the source itself saying “confirm in app”. Unknowns here, not facts.
Broader category risks. Crypto transfers are irreversible; if you ever send to the wrong network, there is no built-in way to get it back. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the issuer’s country. A declined payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days. None of these are Solflare-specific, but they apply to this card like any other.
A fair summary: the risk to your crypto is low by design, and the risk to your time and expectations is high.
What to take instead
If you need a working card now, there are three credible options. I have read each one’s official pages and am giving you the comparison honestly, including where each is awkward.
| Option | Score | Card | Annual cost | Key catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask Card | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard, virtual free + metal option | Virtual free; Metal $199/year | 45-country sign-up list; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed |
| RedotPay | 6.9 / 10 | Visa; USD and HKD cards | No monthly/annual fee; virtual apply $10, physical $100 | Long unsupported-country list; Pro tier $12.90/month |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual + physical; Mastercard or Visa by region | “No annual fees”; physical issuance varies | Not for EEA customers at all |
MetaMask Card is the strongest of the three overall and the closest to the self-custody idea. It spends directly from your connected wallet across several networks including Solana, is Mastercard, and the virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee. You verify in-app and get a virtual card instantly; the Metal card is optional at $199/year. Cash back is 1% on the virtual card, 3% on Metal for the first $10,000 spent. The catch is geography: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. If you are in a supported country, this is the one I would look at first.
RedotPay has the broadest published country exclusions, which is worth reading carefully because it is also the longest list. Its KYC list bars citizens of countries including the United States, Russia, Ukraine, Serbia, and many others; a separate card-issuance list adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore, and Turkey as ineligible for both virtual and physical cards. It has no monthly or annual fee, but applying for a virtual card costs $10 and a physical card $100. It converts crypto and spends from a balance, with a 1% transaction fee.
Bybit Card is the most region-locked. Its own cards page says plainly: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” It draws on your Bybit account rather than a self-custody wallet, so it is a more custodial model than Solflare was. Its rewards tiers are generous, but only crypto-funded spending earns them.
Which one is right depends almost entirely on where you are and whether you can tolerate a custodial model. If self-custody is non-negotiable, MetaMask is the closest fit. If you are outside its 45-country list, read RedotPay’s and Bybit’s country rules against your own before anything else.
Who I would recommend it to
Let me split this by who you are, because the answer changes completely.
If you already hold Solflare and staked or swapped in the wallet: keep the wallet, ignore the card for now, and wait for a confirmed relaunch with a named issuer before you rely on it again. Your funds are safe and there is nothing to do but watch.
If you want a self-custody spending card and MetaMask serves your country: that is where I would put your attention. It does the same idea, it is running, and its virtual card is free.
If you are in a region MetaMask does not serve but RedotPay or Bybit does: either can work, but read the country rules and the fee tables yourself before you commit, because both change terms and both exclude more countries than you might expect.
If you need a card this month and all three exclude your country: I am not going to pretend there is an easy answer, because there is not one in this category. Look at the wider market of crypto cards and check each one’s country list directly, and prioritise the provider’s own published terms over any review, including this one.
If you were considering Solflare specifically because you wanted to avoid a custodian holding your money: understand that Solflare got that right, and that you gave it up in exchange for a card that is not running. That is a reasonable trade if you value the principle, but it is not a working card today.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Solflare card?
The Solflare card was a self-custody Mastercard that spent USDC directly from your Solana wallet at the checkout, with no separate card balance to load. The site claimed acceptance at “100M+” merchants and worked with Google Pay. It was issued through a licensed issuer behind the Solflare brand, but that issuer wound down in July 2026 and the cards stopped.
How does the Solflare card work?
You keep your crypto in your own wallet, and when you pay, the card deducts USDC from that wallet at the point of sale. Because the funds are yours, there is no custodial account and nothing to load — but it also means the card depends entirely on an external issuer and card network staying in place.
Is Solflare a bank?
No. The site footer names Solrise Finance Ltd in the British Virgin Islands, and the card itself was issued by a separate licensed partner — a third-party source names Kulipa, which wound down. Solflare is a crypto platform and card programme manager, not a bank, and no bank deposit protection applies to it.
Who owns Solflare?
Solflare is operated by Solrise Finance Ltd, registered in Tortola, British Virgin Islands, with marketing possibly handled by an affiliate called Blockadopt d.o.o. in Zagreb, Croatia. Licences are not stated on the official pages, and the future card issuer, if there is one, has not been named.
Can I get a Solflare card right now?
No. Cards are paused as of this review, with no confirmed relaunch. The programme was suspended on 28 July 2026 after the issuer closed, and although a replacement was promised for August, no live card was confirmed by 20 October 2026.
Does the Solflare card require KYC?
Yes — verification happens in the app and was described as instant. What documents, proof of address, or age requirements applied is not stated on the public pages, and if the card returns, a fresh round of identity checks is likely for the replacement.
How much does the Solflare card cost?
Officially, the fee is not disclosed. Unofficial sources report a free annual fee with a 1% service fee, and FX fees ranging from 0.7% to 1% depending on the source, plus a reported 2% ATM fee. The card price itself was listed as “TBD, confirm in app”. None of these are confirmed by the card.
Is the Solflare card safe for my money?
Your crypto is safer than on a custodial card because it stays in your own wallet and you hold the keys — the pause notice says there is “nothing you need to do”. But the card itself is unavailable, and while you cannot spend, Trustpilot shows wallet complaints about lost funds and failed transactions that are worth weighing.
Can I add the Solflare card to Apple Wallet?
Not currently. Google Pay worked with the old card, but Apple Pay was listed as “coming soon” and tied to the card relaunch, which has not been confirmed. If the card returns with the promised features, Apple Pay is expected to return with it.
Is Solflare a good card?
It was a well-designed self-custody card that got the custody question right, but as of this review it scores 3.2 out of 10 simply because it is not operating. If you want a working self-custody card, MetaMask is the closest currently available option; otherwise the card’s core idea may yet return in some form.
Wallet cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
