Paying from crypto without giving up your keys
If ordinary bank cards are proving hard to get in your country — a declined application, a closed account, a payroll that will not arrive anywhere you can spend it — the Oobit card is one of the names that comes up. It is a Visa card you load from a crypto wallet, and the pitch is simple: keep control of your money, and spend it anywhere Visa is accepted. That pitch is real. So is the catch.

I went through the card’s own pages, its support material, its app listings and a large body of user reviews, and here is what I found. I have never held this card, so treat everything below as a reading of what is published and what users report, not as personal experience.
The score is 6.8 out of 10. That is not a bad card. It is a card with a genuinely good idea, broad availability and a fee schedule you can understand, sitting next to a thin published fee picture and a reviews page where the recurring complaints are about money that did not arrive and support that did not answer.
Conditions here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 6.8 out of 10, and who it is really for
Oobit scores 6.8 out of 10 in my assessment, and the number hides a card that is better than its reputation in some ways and worse in others. It is strongest exactly where you would hope — reach, everyday use and the cost of simply having it — and weakest where it counts most for anyone already nervous about crypto platforms: how reliable the operation is when something goes wrong.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | 75+ countries: 43 in Europe, 10 in Asia and the Middle East, 17 in the Americas, 3 in Africa, 2 in Oceania |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Issuance and holding free; purchase 1% (minimum $0.25), ATM 2.5% (minimum $0.25), swap 0.95% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins, MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.8 out of 5 from 495 reviews — held funds, card blocks, slow support |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual Visa, Apple Pay and Google Wallet, ATM up to $250 per withdrawal; physical card not named |
Who should want this card? Someone who already holds crypto in a self-custody wallet, who is used to networks and addresses, who wants to pay directly from that wallet rather than move money to an exchange first, and who lives somewhere an ordinary card is difficult to get. That person gets a real Visa number that works in shops, plus mobile wallets, for no monthly fee.
Who should not? Anyone who needs chargeback protection or a formal dispute process and reads the small print before buying. Anyone whose income is salary-shaped and predictable enough that a prepaid-style balance is a poor fit. Anyone who is choosing a platform on the strength of the reward headline alone. And anyone who cannot complete identity verification, because verification is mandatory and there is no path around it.
I want to be direct about the reliability mark, because it is the one that pulls the total down. A card at 1% with no monthly fee is not expensive. A card whose support inbox goes quiet when a deposit does not land is expensive in a way no fee table shows.
Will they give you the card?
They will, in most of the world — this is Oobit’s genuine strength. The card states it is available in 75+ countries, and the country list breaks down as 43 in Europe, 10 across Asia and the Middle East, 17 in the Americas, 3 in Africa and 2 in Oceania. Europe includes the UK, Germany and Spain. The three African countries named are Kenya, South Africa and Tanzania.
Two exclusions are worth checking before you invest an afternoon. Turkey is not listed among the countries, and neither is Armenia. Russia and Belarus sit on Oobit’s “Not supported in” list, so if you are reading this in either country, that is the end of the line — the card is not available to you, and nothing you do in the app will change that.
One caveat on the number itself: the card says “75+ countries” and points to a full list on its support site. That list was not available to me to read in full, so the country breakdown above is the version I could verify from what Oobit itself publishes.
The question behind all this is eligibility, and it is narrower than the country list suggests. Issuance is also subject to identity verification (more on that below), and Oobit notes that card issuing runs through licensed partners depending on your location. So a country being on the list means “possible”, not “automatic”. If you have been refused a bank card before, this is still the most likely card to say yes — but treat the country list as a shortlist, not a promise.
How to get it
The route is an app-based signup with mandatory identity verification, and the verification is not optional. Oobit requires a passport or a driver’s licence, and in some cases proof of address. There is no version of this card that skips that step, and I would treat any offer to sell you a verified account as a bad idea — the account is tied to your documents and can be closed.
Practically, the sequence looks like this:
- Download the app — iOS or Android — and create an account.
- Complete identity verification with your passport or driving licence, adding proof of address if asked.
- Request the virtual card in the app. It moves from Pending to Active once you are verified.
- Add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet, or to a supported smartwatch.
The card does not wait weeks. Most accounts are verified in minutes, though some take up to 24 hours. Rejections mostly come down to documents that are expired, unclear or mismatched with the details in your profile — and you can resubmit inside the app rather than starting over.
If you are paying out to a bank account, there is an extra step that catches people out: bank transfers need one-time proof of address before your first payout. That is a different document from the one used for verification, and it is worth gathering before you need it.
What you receive is a virtual Visa card, funded by your Oobit account balance or by the connected wallet. The card sits on the Visa network and settles in local currency. Oobit describes it as a Visa Platinum card. Whether a physical card exists is not stated on the public pages — the app presents the virtual card, and the pages I read do not tell you to expect plastic in the post. If you need a physical card for a shop that will not take a phone, that is a question to ask support before you rely on it.
One rule buried in the small print: a card unused for 90 days is cancelled. You can request a new one afterwards, but a long holiday is a plausible way to lose your card without noticing.
What it really costs: fees and limits
The headline is good: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no account creation fee. Oobit does not publish a monthly charge, and that absence is deliberate rather than an oversight — it is one of the few cards where holding it genuinely costs nothing.

What you pay is per transaction. Card purchases carry a 1% fee with a minimum of $0.25. ATM withdrawals cost 2.5% with the same $0.25 minimum, on top of whatever the ATM operator charges. Swapping between assets costs 0.95%, rising to 3% if you are receiving OOB tokens.
| Fee or limit | What Oobit states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free |
| Monthly fee | None stated |
| Card purchase | 1%, minimum $0.25 |
| ATM withdrawal | 2.5%, minimum $0.25, plus the ATM operator’s own fee |
| Swap | 0.95%; 3% when receiving OOB |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not separately stated |
| Card purchase limits | $1 to $2,000 per purchase; up to $25,000 per rolling 24 hours |
| ATM limit | Up to $250 per withdrawal including operator charges, 3 attempts per 24 hours |
| Swap limits | $5 to $10,000 |
Now the part that needs care. Two things are not settled in the published material, and both are things you would feel.
First, the foreign exchange fee. Oobit does not state it separately. Visa settles the payment in local currency, so the conversion happens somewhere in the chain, and one user report on Trustpilot — dated 24 August 2026, and not confirmed by Oobit — describes about 7% on non-USD payments. Treat that as a signal to test small, not as a rate to plan around. In Brazil the picture is different again: 1% with no minimum, plus IOF and FX charges, and a local and an international card can coexist.
Second, the daily card limit. One page states up to $25,000 per rolling 24 hours; the FAQ states up to $10,000 per day. Both are official pages and they disagree. If you are planning a large purchase, that discrepancy is worth raising with support before you rely on either figure.
Three everyday payments, to make the arithmetic real:
A $4 coffee. The 1% is 4 cents, but the $0.25 minimum applies, so you pay $0.25 for a $4 purchase — a percentage fee that is significantly higher than the standard 1%. This is the single most important thing to understand about the card: small purchases are where the minimum bites. Three coffees a week at that rate is where a percentage fee would never have reached.
A $120 supermarket run. 1% is $1.20, comfortably above the minimum, so the fee is exactly what it says. Nothing unusual here.
$200 taken out of an ATM. 2.5% is $5, plus whatever the ATM operator charges, and the withdrawal itself is capped at $250 including operator charges, with three attempts per rolling 24 hours. If you need cash regularly, this is the expensive habit.
One more number that is easy to miss and easy to like: the minimum purchase is $1. Below that, nothing goes through.
How to top it up
This is where Oobit is genuinely different, and the difference cuts both ways. The card does not need preloading in the usual sense. It pays either from a connected self-custody wallet through DePay, or from your Oobit balance. If you self-custody, the crypto stays in your wallet until you authorise a specific payment.
Assets accepted are USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins. You can connect MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base. Notably, the public pages do not name the networks — so while you will find plenty of advice online about picking the right one for USDT, I cannot tell you from Oobit’s own material which to choose. Work that out from your wallet’s own network list before you send.
The mechanics and limits:
- Crypto deposits start at $0.10 minimum.
- Buying crypto directly in the app is routed through Transak, with limits shown at checkout.
- Withdrawing to an external wallet costs a network fee, shown before you confirm.
- Swaps are 0.95%, and 3% when receiving OOB.
- Fees for topping up with fiat are not stated.
Getting money off is a different set of numbers, and these matter if you are treating this as a place to hold rather than just spend. Crypto withdrawal runs from $1 to $50,000 per withdrawal, with a $5 minimum for US residents, a daily limit per asset that is not stated, and the network fee shown before confirmation. Bank transfers go up to $50,000 per transfer with a minimum of €10, £10 or $10; the bank-transfer fee is not specified, and a failed bank transfer is automatically refunded to your balance. Account deletion is done in the app or through support — though what happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated, which is a fair question to ask before you ever get there.
The self-custody route deserves a moment of attention from anyone who has read the standard warnings. Control of your crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase — usually 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form. Anyone with that phrase can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and no network can freeze or return what has left. DePay’s arrangement means your coins do not move until you approve a payment, which is a real reduction in risk — but key loss, phishing and clipboard malware remain entirely yours.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is Oobit’s strongest section, and it earns 8 out of 10 without much argument. Apple Pay and Google Wallet are both supported, and the card can be added to supported smartwatches. That is most of what you need for daily spending in most of the world.
ATM access goes up to $250 per withdrawal, including the operator’s charges, with three attempts per rolling 24 hours — enough for ordinary cash needs, not enough to be your only way of moving money.
The app itself scores well. The site shows an App Store rating of 4.8 from 22K+ reviews and Google Play at 4.7 to 4.8 from 25K+. The US App Store listing itself showed 4.5 from 134 ratings, iPhone only, requiring iOS 15.4 or later, when I read it on 20 October 2026. That gap between the headline site figure and the specific listing suggests the two numbers may be measuring different things or different storefronts — worth noticing, not worth dwelling on.
The rewards are real but easy to over-read. The headline says “10% Cashback Anywhere”, while the FAQ describes “cashback and 5x Rewards points on card purchases, starting from level 1”. The published structure: reward levels follow cumulative spend over a 90-day cycle — Level 1 at $0 gives 1x points, Level 2 at $250 gives 2x, Level 3 at $500 gives 3x, Level 4 at $1,000 gives 4x, Level 5 at $1,500 gives 5x, with 1,000 points worth $1. Stablecoin rewards are 5% of eligible payments, capped at $200 of spend, and 10% with OOB tokens, capped at $5,000. The payout asset and the caps are not stated. Note the shape of it: 10% is the ceiling, not the rate, and it applies with tokens you hold, not on your first coffee.
Two things you will not find explained, and both are the kind of thing that only matters on the day you need it. The help centre describes no formal card dispute process — I could not find one. And when a payment is declined, the guidance is to check the in-app notification and retry. There is a specific warning about merchants who charge more than the amount first approved: that can leave you with a negative balance and a paused card.
There is a category-level reason those two omissions matter more here than on a normal bank card. Address verification compares the numeric parts of your billing address with the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Merchants can also decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the lookup reveals the card type and the issuer’s country. A virtual card funded by crypto looks, to the merchant’s system, like exactly that.
What can go wrong
Nothing in Oobit’s official pages describes a security incident. That is a real, if limited, piece of good news — I looked, and found no disclosed incidents on the pages I read. I also noticed that page figures are inconsistent (175M versus 150M merchants), which is a small thing but does not inspire confidence in editorial care.
The substance of the risk sits in user reports, and Trustpilot is where the volume is. Oobit’s page shows 3.8 out of 5 from 495 reviews as of 20 October 2026, with no recent history of asking for reviews — which makes the number more credible than a solicited-review score. The themes that recur:
- Funds held or missing. Deposits that never arrived and withdrawals that stalled run through the reviews from July to September 2026. One reviewer describes an April 2026 deposit from another wallet that never arrived, with support unresponsive.
- Unresolved refunds. A refund from Amazon, dated 8 October 2026, still unresolved.
- Support that does not answer. Recurring from July through October 2026.
- Card suspension and account blocks. Reported in July and September 2026.
- Opaque fees. Raised in August 2026, which lines up with the unconfirmed 7% non-USD report I mentioned earlier.
Conversion delays appear too — a delayed USDC-to-BTC conversion in March 2025, and an LTC transaction not accepted within two hours in February 2025, where Oobit replied that delays can come from network conditions. On the positive side, Oobit answers all negative reviews, though often with a template.
Behind the reviews sits a structural question. Oobit Technologies operates through multiple entities globally, and its US crypto services run in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC. The card issuer is not named — Oobit says it works with licensed partners depending on your location. That is normal phrasing for this industry, and it is also why a 5 out of 10 on reliability is unavoidable from the outside: when a card programme breaks, the counterparty you need is not the name on your phone screen. The US launch came via Bakkt in December 2025 across all 50 states, and South Africa followed in November 2025. No 2026 licence news surfaced.
Two structural facts worth keeping in view. Card networks do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Visa also suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a fixed order: notice, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. That is not a prediction about Oobit. It is what closure looks like when it happens.
On funds specifically: this is a prepaid-style balance, not a bank deposit. Electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but that is not the same as a deposit guarantee scheme. And the platform layer above it has form — Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022).
What to take instead
If Oobit’s appeal is the one I understand — spending straight from your own wallet, without parking money at an exchange — then the honest comparison is not with other prepaid cards. It is with other wallet-linked Visa and Mastercard programmes. Here is where the four I looked at sit.
| Card | Score | Availability | Cost | Network and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | 45 listed countries/territories; other regions on a waitlist; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed per FAQ | Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year | Mastercard; “minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated; no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate used |
| Oobit | 6.8 / 10 | 75+ countries | No issuance or monthly fee; purchase 1% (min $0.25), ATM 2.5%, swap 0.95% | Visa; virtual card; FX fee not separately stated |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Residence-based; country list not published, restricted locations referenced but unnamed | Standard 0 USD; Premium 1,000 USD/year; Private 10,000 USD/year | Visa; stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Spend in 150+ countries; programme live in EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand | Not stated on zeal.app or the App Store | Visa; no additional FX fee, conversion at Visa wholesale rate; Gnosis Pay fees may apply |
MetaMask, 7.1 out of 10, is the one to beat. It costs nothing to hold in its virtual form and spends straight from a connected wallet — Linea, Base, Monad, Solana — on tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. It has no foreign transaction fee and uses the Mastercard rate. Cashback is 1% on virtual and 3% on Metal, with the footnote capping 3% at the first $10,000 spent. The catches are structural: sign-up covers 45 listed countries and territories only, with others on a waitlist, US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ, and it is one card per user. Proof of residency is required, and the wording is worth noting — ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending.
KAST, 6.1 out of 10, is the transparent-fee option. Stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%. The FX fee is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your country of residence, the transaction country and the card programme — published, not implied. Cashback runs 1.5% to 3% on USD with monthly caps. The price of that clarity is a membership structure that reaches 1,000 USD a year for Premium and 10,000 USD for Private, billed annually upfront. Its eligibility rules are unusually explicit about citizenship: living in a supported country while holding only an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC, and a VPN does not bypass it.
Zeal, 6.1 out of 10, is the one with the clearest FX promise. No additional FX fee, conversion at the Visa wholesale rate, spend in 150+ countries, accounts in EUR, USD and GBP through Gnosis Pay, and up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain — which you must hold in the card Safe to qualify. Against that: no fee schedule is published at all, physical card availability is not stated, and the exact coins accepted for Zeal are not stated.
Two of these are meaningfully better on fees — MetaMask for holding cost and FX, KAST for a published schedule. Oobit’s edge is reach: 75+ countries is wider than anything else here, and it is the only one of the four that names an ATM fee and a swap fee in plain numbers.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Oobit to you if three things are true. You already hold crypto in a wallet you control and you know how to move it. You live somewhere a normal card is genuinely hard to get. And you can absorb the loss of a stuck deposit without it becoming a crisis.
Under those conditions it is a good card: no monthly fee, 1% purchases, real Visa acceptance, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and 75+ countries of reach. The self-custody option is the right default if you have the technical confidence, because your coins do not move until you approve a payment.
I would steer you elsewhere if any of these apply. You need formal chargeback protection — because the published material describes no dispute process. You want a published foreign exchange rate — because Oobit does not state one. You plan to hold a balance on the platform and want clarity about what happens at closure — because that is not stated either. Or you are in Turkey or Armenia, where the card is not available.
And I would want you to read the Trustpilot themes before you load the first amount, not after. Not because they prove anything specific — 495 reviews is not a sample, and one-star writing on a review platform is its own genre — but because held funds, unanswered support and card suspensions are the three things that would hurt you most, and all three recur there. Then start with a small amount, keep a working card elsewhere if you can, and see how your own support experience goes.
This is a review, not financial or legal advice, and nothing here is a recommendation to buy, hold or convert any asset.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Oobit card?
The Oobit card is a Visa payment card you fund from crypto rather than from a bank account. You connect a wallet such as MetaMask, Phantom or Trust Wallet, or hold a balance inside Oobit, and the card pays directly from it. It runs on the Visa network and settles in local currency. Oobit describes it as a Visa Platinum card, issued as a virtual card in the app.
Is Oobit a bank?
No. Oobit Technologies is a crypto services company operating through multiple entities globally, and its US crypto services run in partnership with Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC. It says the card is issued through licensed partners depending on your location, but the issuer is not named. Treat your balance as stored value with a provider, not as a bank deposit.
Does the Oobit card require KYC?
Yes, verification is mandatory. You need a passport or a driver’s licence, and sometimes proof of address. Most accounts are verified in minutes, some within 24 hours. Rejections usually mean expired, unclear or mismatched documents, and you can resubmit in the app. Bank transfers need one-time proof of address before your first payout.
What does the Oobit card cost?
Issuance and holding are free, with no monthly fee stated. Card purchases cost 1% with a $0.25 minimum, ATM withdrawals 2.5% with the same minimum plus the operator’s fee, and swaps 0.95%, or 3% when receiving OOB. The $0.25 minimum is what hurts small purchases: on a $4 coffee you pay 25 cents, which is a higher percentage than the standard 1% fee.
Is the Oobit card free?
Free to get, and free to hold. What is not free is using it. Every purchase carries 1% down to a $0.25 minimum, cash costs 2.5% plus the ATM operator’s charge, and converting between assets costs 0.95%. There is no monthly charge published, which is genuinely rare in this category.
How do I top up the Oobit card?
You can pay from a connected self-custody wallet through DePay — the crypto stays yours until you authorise a payment — or from your Oobit balance. Accepted assets include USDT, Bitcoin, Ethereum and other stablecoins, with MetaMask, Phantom, Trust Wallet or Base connectable. The public pages do not name the supported networks, so check your wallet’s own list before sending. Crypto deposits start at $0.10.
Can I use the Oobit card in my country?
Oobit states availability in 75+ countries: 43 in Europe, 10 in Asia and the Middle East, 17 in the Americas, 3 in Africa and 2 in Oceania. Turkey and Armenia are not listed, and Russia and Belarus are on the “Not supported in” list. Issuance still depends on passing verification, so treat the country list as a shortlist rather than a guarantee.
Is the Oobit card safe?
Safety depends on which mode you use. With DePay your crypto stays in your wallet until you approve a payment, which is the safer arrangement, though key loss and phishing remain your responsibility. Trustpilot shows 3.8 out of 5 from 495 reviews, with recurring themes of held or missing funds, unresolved refunds, unresponsive support and card suspension. No official security incident was found on the pages reviewed.
Is the Oobit card worth it?
Worth it if you already self-custody crypto, cannot get a normal card easily, and can absorb a stuck deposit. Less worth it if you need chargeback rights, a published foreign exchange rate, or clarity on what happens to your balance if you close the account — none of those are stated. For the widest country reach of the cards I compared, it remains hard to beat; for published fee transparency, KAST is ahead.
How do I add the Oobit card to Apple Wallet?
Request the virtual card in the app after your identity is verified; it moves from Pending to Active. Then add it to Apple Pay or Google Wallet from the app, or to a supported smartwatch. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, not on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time code — so adding it is generally safer than handing over the card number.
Wallet cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
