A card programme in shutdown, and the choices that remain for people who still hold a BitMart balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The BitMart card programme is winding down. Trading on the platform is set to end on 26 August 2026, and platform operations are planned to cease on 31 January 2027. New card applications are not part of the current offering. If you already have a card or a balance tied to one, your decisions now are about exit, not features. If you are still shopping for a crypto card, the BitMart card is not an option — but the alternatives section below walks through what else is available.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The BitMart card programme no longer issues new cards

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The BitMart card scores 3.7 out of 10. That number reflects the fact that this is no longer a live product you can sign up for. The exchange that backs the card is in a phased shutdown, customer support is described as unresponsive in recent reviews, and the card page on BitMart’s own site does not name the issuer, the legal entity behind it, or any licences. The card does some things well on paper: it offers virtual, plastic, and metal Visa variants, supports a broad range of cryptocurrencies for top-up, and adds to Google Pay. But those strengths are theoretical now that the programme is closing.

Who the card suits: no one as a new application. The card might suit existing cardholders who want to spend down their BitMart balance before the platform closes, and even then only with caution about withdrawal reliability.

Who it does not suit: anyone looking for a stable, long-term crypto card, anyone in a country where the card’s status is unclear, and anyone who needs reliable customer support.

Criterion Score Reason
Who can get it 0 / 10 Programme is shutting down: phased closure announced 26 July, trading ends 26 August, platform ceases 31 January 2027; not confirmed on official pages for new applications
Cost 5 / 10 Virtual $0, plastic $70, Platinum (metal) $120 at issue; no annual fee; 1.3% per transaction; ATM 2% or 1.5%
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, BNB from BitMart balance; networks not listed
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Platform closure, withdrawal delays, Trustpilot 2.3/5 from 2,915 reviews, support silent; issuer unnamed
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual, plastic, and metal Visa; Google Pay for virtual; ATM on physical cards; Apple Pay not mentioned
Total 3.7 / 10

The audience for this page is people who already have a BitMart card and need to know what to do next, and people comparing crypto cards who have heard about BitMart and want to know why it is not on the shortlist. Both groups will find the same answer: the programme is closing, and the alternatives section points to cards that are still actively issuing.

What happened to the programme

The BitMart card is a Visa card issued in three forms: a virtual card, a plastic card, and a metal Platinum card. All three settle in US dollars. The virtual card is free to issue; the plastic card costs $70; and the metal Platinum costs $120. There is no annual fee. Every transaction carries a 1.3% fee, and the balance is converted from crypto to USD in real time at the moment of purchase. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay. Apple Pay is not mentioned on the card page.

The card required Identity Verification Level 2 (KYC Lv.2) with possible extra documents and proof of address. The minimum age was not stated. Virtual cards were issued immediately after approval; physical cards shipped and could be tracked in the account, but the card page does not give countries, delivery times, delivery costs, or replacement costs.

Cashback, on paper, was generous: 4.0% on online shopping in the first month for new users, dropping to 3.5% from month two; 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month, dropping to 5.0% from month two. The payout asset was not stated.

Then the platform changed direction. On 23 July 2026, a separate notice went out to identified US users. On 26 July 2026, BitMart announced phased restrictions on new activity. The deadline for general users to complete verification, close positions, and submit withdrawal requests was 26 August 2026. Trading-platform operations are planned to end on 31 January 2027. A separate news report (Forklog) noted that the founder denied misappropriating user funds. No official regulatory action has been reported.

The card page does not name the issuer or the legal entity behind the programme, and no licences are listed. Unofficial sources say the card covered 115+ countries and regions at launch, and a third-party listing (CryptoCardHub, February 2026) showed 183 available and 10 restricted countries including the US, UK, Netherlands, Russia, and Ukraine, though a U.Today piece reported the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026, so that list may be outdated. Unofficial cashback figures also conflict with the official page: “up to 5.5%” (U.Today), “1–10% by tier and merchant” (ChainCatcher), and “1–3.5% standard, up to 10% in promotions” (CryptoCardHub).

The app’s iOS listing shows 2.9 out of 5 from 3,500 ratings (US listing, read 2026-10-20), with interface languages including Russian, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Google Play was not read for this review.

If you already have the card

If you hold a BitMart card now, your immediate concern is access to your balance. The card page says the card draws on the crypto balance in your BitMart account, so the card and the exchange balance are linked. If withdrawals from BitMart are delayed or frozen, the card becomes less useful over time.

ATM access depends on the card type. The virtual card has no ATM access. The plastic BitMart Card charges 2% for ATM withdrawals. The Platinum metal card charges 1.5%. The homepage mentions fee-free ATM withdrawals “up to 1000U,” described as free ATM withdrawals of 200–1,000 USD per month with 2% applied after, but the conditions for that free allowance are unclear on the card page. Only ATMs displaying the Visa logo work. Unofficial launch coverage (Blocktempo and ChainCatcher, September 2025) described unlimited ATM withdrawals per year; CryptoCardHub said free ATM allowances were tied to VIP status. These unofficial figures conflict with what the card page shows, so treat them with caution.

Daily spending limits are stated: $10,000 for the virtual card, $50,000 for the plastic card, and unlimited for the Platinum metal card. Monthly limits were not stated. Unofficial sources describe no fixed spending cap, with transactions over $250,000 undergoing a security review. Again, treat unofficial figures with caution.

Top-up is from the crypto already in your BitMart account. The supported coins are USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, and BNB. The networks for those tokens are not listed. The card page does not state a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, or a fiat top-up option. The funding model is custodial: your assets sit in the BitMart exchange account, and the card draws on that balance.

The card page does not state a withdrawal process for the card balance, a help-centre path specific to the card, or a dispute or chargeback procedure. The platform’s general help centre is at bitmart.zendesk.com (support.bitmart.com redirects there). Unofficial platform context from news and a OneKey guide (7 August 2026, not official) says withdrawals may be held for review (KYC, source of funds, address ownership, Travel Rule, sanctions). The general-user deadline to submit withdrawal requests was 26 August 2026, and the platform’s planned end date is 31 January 2027. The BitMart card is not mentioned in those notices, which is itself a concern.

Practical steps if you hold a card:

What can go wrong

The most immediate risk is platform failure. BitMart announced a phased shutdown. Even before the announcement, Trustpilot reviews described withdrawal delays, account freezes, KYC escalation requests, high fees, and missing funds. Trustpilot shows 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews (66 in the last 12 months), read 2026-10-20. Themes from recent reviews (3 September, 18 September, 9 October, 11 October 2026) include withdrawals blocked or failing after the wind-down announcement, support going silent for periods ranging from a week to a month (August–September 2026), deposits not credited or still being accepted after suspension (August 2026, October 2026), and a lack of direct notice about closure (September, October 2026). No card-specific complaints were found, but the platform-level issues affect the card because the card draws on the exchange balance.

One Trustpilot user reported $280,000 blocked, and a Hungarian company reported about $80,000 unreleased since 26 July. Fraud allegations appeared in reviews but are unverified. The founder’s denial of misappropriating user funds (per Forklog) is a statement, not an outcome.

The card is custodial: your crypto sits in the BitMart exchange account, and the card is tied to that balance. If the exchange restricts withdrawals, the card cannot function independently. The card page does not mention 2FA, in-app freeze, spending controls, or insurance. Security features are not documented on the card page.

The issuer is not named. That means you cannot check the licence, the regulator, or the jurisdiction. It also means there is no clearly identified party to approach in a dispute, and the cardholder agreement is not referenced on the card page. A card without a named issuer is a card without a clear path to recourse.

The cashback structure on the card page is described in ranges (3.5%–5.5%), but unofficial sources cite up to 10% in promotions. The actual rate you receive depends on tier and merchant, and the card page does not fully explain the rules. Blocked merchant categories are not stated on the card page, so you may discover restrictions only at the point of sale.

For people in unsupported or restricted countries, the card may stop working without notice. The unofficial country list is inconsistent, and the card page does not state which countries are served.

What to take instead

Three cards from other exchanges are worth comparing if you need a crypto-funded payment card. None of them are in shutdown. The scores below come from separate research pages for each card.

Bybit Card (6.0 / 10). Bybit offers virtual and physical cards in several regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, and Asia Pacific. The networks and currencies vary: Mastercard prepaid in Argentina (ARS), Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, and Mexico (USD except Mexico in MXN), Visa prepaid in Brazil (BRL) and Peru (PEN or USD), and Visa credit in Asia Pacific (USD). Virtual card issuance is free “until further notice” in all regions. Physical card issuance costs vary: Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD/USDT, Georgia 29.99 USDT, Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, and no fee in Brazil and Mexico. VIPs in Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia, and Asia Pacific pay no issuance or replacement fee. Validity ranges from 3 to 6 years depending on region. The cards page states “auto interest, no annual fees.”

Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina, and not supported in Peru. FX fees vary: 2% on the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, and Mexico; 2% international fee in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside Kazakhstan; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. Argentina carries VAT 21% on foreign digital services, a 30% tax on foreign transactions, and a provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%. The card draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, with crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus the conversion fee if fiat is insufficient. Supported cryptos: BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM. Default priority is USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH, XRP, reorderable in the Card Dashboard.

From 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not. Cashback tiers: Base 2.00% (5 USD cap), Beta 2% (50 USD, 500 USD spend), Alpha 4% (150 USD, 3,500 USD), Apex 6% (250 USD, 9,500 USD), Omega 8% (400 USD, 12,500 USD), Infinite 10% (600 USD, 25,000 USD). Points are pending 4 calendar days; cashback is in USDT = points × 0.002. Welcome offer: 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. The cards page states the product is not meant for EEA customers. The application asks for Country of Residence; if unsupported, Bybit will register your interest.

Coinbase Card (6.4 / 10). Available in all US states except Hawaii. Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto. All crypto is converted to USD for purchases and ATM withdrawals. The card has zero spending fees and no annual fees, all disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. There are no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies when Coinbase converts crypto. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US Card users, with a variable rate shown in the app and a rotating selection of reward assets. Funding is by linking a bank account, depositing part of a paycheck, or spending crypto balance on Coinbase (converted to USD).

OKX (6.2 / 10). Available in the EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay; physical card not mentioned. Issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider. No card fee, no transaction fee, no OKX FX fee. Conversion spread is 0.1% per the May 2026 explainer, versus 0.4% market spread in the launch press release; the explainer is newer. Conversion to euro happens at purchase. Funded by USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay (via Convert or external deposit); other coins must be converted first. No auto top-up; payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback only on USDG purchases (USDC earns none), with monthly caps in EUR: Regular 2% cap 10, VIP1 4% cap 300, VIP2 4.5% cap 450, VIP3 5% cap 1,000, VIP4+ 10% cap 1,000. Launch release offered a 30-day promo of up to 20% VIP / 15% regular.

Card Score Where available Card type Key fees Cashback
BitMart (closed) 3.7 / 10 Not accepting applications Visa virtual, plastic, metal 1.3% transaction; ATM 1.5%–2% 3.5%–5.5% (official)
Bybit 6.0 / 10 Selected regions (not EEA) Mastercard and Visa; virtual and physical 0.5%–0.9% conversion; 1%–7% FX Up to 10% (tiered)
Coinbase 6.4 / 10 US (all states except Hawaii) Visa prepaid debit; virtual and physical Spread on conversion Variable, rotating
OKX 6.2 / 10 EU plus Norway Mastercard virtual debit 0.1% spread Up to 10% VIP

BitMart’s card is not in the comparison as a live option. The other three are active, and each has clearer geographic and regulatory boundaries.

Who I would recommend it to

I would not recommend the BitMart card to anyone applying fresh. The programme is shutting down, the platform is closing, and the issuer is not named. Even at its best, the card did not stand out on cost or cashback when measured against active alternatives. The 1.3% transaction fee is higher than Bybit’s 0.5%–0.9% conversion fee, and the official cashback ceiling of 5.5% is below Bybit’s 10% and OKX’s 10% VIP rate.

For existing cardholders, the recommendation is narrower: use the card to spend down your BitMart balance while you can, prefer the Platinum card for ATM use (1.5% vs 2%), and do not load new funds onto the card beyond what you plan to spend immediately. If your balance is in a coin you do not want to hold, converting to USDT or USDC inside BitMart and then spending through the card avoids the extra step of an external withdrawal. If you need to withdraw funds rather than spend, follow the platform’s withdrawal process and submit your request before the 26 August 2026 deadline if it still applies to you.

For people choosing a new crypto card, the alternatives in the previous section are the starting point. Bybit has the broadest regional coverage of the three but excludes the EEA. Coinbase is a US-only option. OKX serves the EU and Norway. None of them are a direct replacement for the BitMart card’s claimed 115+ country footprint, but all three are live, named-issuer programmes with published fees and terms.

Frequently asked questions

What is the BitMart card?

The BitMart card is a Visa payment card that draws on a cryptocurrency balance held in a BitMart exchange account. It was available in three forms: a virtual card, a plastic card, and a metal Platinum card. All three settled in US dollars. The programme is being wound down as the BitMart platform closes.

Is BitMart a bank?

No. BitMart is a cryptocurrency exchange, not a bank. The card page does not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the card, and no banking or e-money licence is listed. Funds held on BitMart are not deposit-guaranteed the way bank deposits are in many jurisdictions.

Who owns BitMart?

BitMart is a private cryptocurrency exchange. The card page and the platform pages reviewed for this article do not name the issuer or the legal entity that owns the card programme. The founder publicly denied misappropriating user funds in a Forklog report, but the issuer remains unnamed on official pages.

Is the BitMart card available in my country?

The card page does not state a country list. Unofficial sources say the card covered 115+ countries and regions at launch, and a third-party listing (CryptoCardHub, February 2026) showed 183 available and 10 restricted countries. Another source said the card expanded to all 50 US states in early 2026. These figures conflict, and the card is not accepting new applications, so country availability is moot for new sign-ups.

Does the BitMart card require KYC?

Yes. The card required Identity Verification Level 2 (KYC Lv.2), with possible extra documents and proof of address. The minimum age was not stated. The card page does not explain the lower KYC levels or the processing time for verification.

How do I top up the BitMart card?

The card draws on the crypto balance in your BitMart account. Supported coins are USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON, and BNB. The networks for those tokens are not listed. The card page does not state a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, or a fiat top-up option.

Can I add the BitMart card to Apple Wallet?

The card page does not mention Apple Pay. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay. For physical cards, tokenised wallet support is not documented.

Is the BitMart card safe?

The card is custodial: your crypto sits in the BitMart exchange account, and the card is tied to that balance. The card page does not mention 2FA, in-app freeze, spending controls, or insurance. The issuer is not named, and the platform is in shutdown. If the exchange restricts withdrawals, the card cannot function independently.

How do I withdraw money from BitMart?

The card page does not state a withdrawal process for the card balance. Platform-level context (from news and a non-official OneKey guide) says withdrawals may be held for review (KYC, source of funds, address ownership, Travel Rule, sanctions). The general-user deadline to submit withdrawal requests was 26 August 2026, and the platform’s planned end date is 31 January 2027. The BitMart card is not mentioned in those notices. For the most current process, check the BitMart help centre at bitmart.zendesk.com.

How do I delete my BitMart account?

The card page does not describe an account-deletion process. For exchange-level account actions, the BitMart help centre is the starting point, but the platform is closing, and support has been described as unresponsive in recent Trustpilot reviews. Document your case with screenshots and dates before initiating any account action.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team