Wenia Mastercard reviewed: a Colombia-only virtual card that spends your crypto, free to create but with limits worth knowing

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Wenia is a virtual Mastercard that lets you pay online from a crypto balance held inside the Wenia app. It is offered by Wenia S.A.S., a Colombian company supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, and it runs on Mastercard’s network. The pitch is simple: no issuance fee, no monthly management fee, zero interest, and the ability to switch between COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA when you pay. The catch is that Wenia says very little about who can actually get one, what conversion or FX fees look like, or whether a physical card and ATM access are part of the plan at all. This review walks through what the card’s own pages do and don’t say, what that means if you are considering it, and how it stacks up against three alternatives people often compare it to.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Wenia works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026. Some of the practical details — eligibility rules, conversion rates, supported networks — are not stated on the card’s public pages, and where that is the case I say so plainly rather than guess.

Verdict

Wenia scores 6.1 out of 10 in my assessment. That number breaks down as follows across the criteria that matter most when you pick a crypto card.

Criterion Mark Why it matters
Who can get it 2 / 10 Eligibility is not listed; the product is presented as a Wenia S.A.S. offering in Colombia via the Wenia app, with no public country or KYC checklist.
Cost 9 / 10 Free to create, no monthly management fee, no monthly charges, 0% interest; payments in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no extra cost, though other coins may trigger a conversion fee.
Top-up options 8 / 10 The card spends from your digital-asset balance and supports eleven tokens, but the page does not name which networks you transfer on.
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 A real Colombian company (NIT 901656609-9) under SIC oversight, on the Mastercard network; I found no complaints and no public incidents, though the issuing bank is not named.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital-only Mastercard, with Apple Pay and Google Pay mentioned; physical card and ATM access are not described, and in-store mobile-wallet use is described as coming soon.

If you live in Colombia, already use the Wenia app, and want to spend a COPW, USDW or EURC balance online without paying a card fee, Wenia fits. If you need a physical card to tap in a shop, an ATM withdrawal, or any kind of published eligibility you can check before signing up, this is not the card to plan around — and if you are outside Colombia, the silence about cross-border availability is the single biggest thing to verify with Wenia directly before you download anything.

Who will they give you the card

The honest answer is that the public pages do not say. What they do say is that the card is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app, and that it sits inside the Wenia product rather than being sold as a standalone product to anyone anywhere. There is no list of supported countries, no age check published, and no KYC checklist spelled out.

What that means in practice is that the eligibility question has to be answered by the app itself: when you download it, create an account, and try to add the card, the app is what tells you whether you can proceed and what documents to upload. If you are not in Colombia, or if your residency or citizenship is not on whatever internal list Wenia uses, the card simply does not appear as an option. The card is supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, which is the Colombian consumer-protection and competition authority, so the company is regulated — but “regulated” is not the same as “open to anyone.”

A practical check before you commit: try to find an explicit country list on the Wenia website, in the app’s help section, or in the terms. If you cannot find one, treat the lack of information as a feature, not a bug — and ask Wenia support directly before you create an account.

How to get it

The published path is short. You download the Wenia app, open an account, create the card inside the app, and pick which digital asset you want to pay with. That is the full official description; the KYC steps behind it are not stated on the public pages, and the app is what asks for identity documents, address proof or anything else it needs.

A few things to set expectations on before you start. The card that comes out of the Wenia app is a digital Mastercard intended for online use, and the page describes in-store payment through a mobile wallet as “coming soon.” There is no mention of a physical card, so do not expect a piece of plastic in the post. There is also no public card currency — some crypto cards are denominated in dollars, some in euros, some in local currency — and the Wenia pages do not say which applies here.

The practical reading: if you are the kind of person who needs to see a fee table, an eligibility list, or a card-design PDF before you sign up, Wenia is a thin read. If you are comfortable opening the app and discovering the rules in the flow, that is by design.

Fees: what it really costs

The cost story is the strongest part of the Wenia pitch. The card is free to create, there is no “cuota de manejo” (the Spanish term for a monthly management fee) and no monthly charges, and there is no interest because it is not a credit product. Purchases made in COPW, USDW or EURC have no additional cost, which is unusual — most crypto cards charge a conversion spread even on stablecoins.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wenia payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Outside that core case, the page admits that choosing some other cryptocurrencies may incur a conversion fee, and the rate is not stated. There is no published FX fee for foreign-currency transactions, no ATM fee (because ATM access is not stated to exist), and the only published limit is a 10,000 USD monthly cap, with higher limits available on request through customer service.

Here is the cost picture as the public pages describe it.

Fee or limit Value
Card creation Free
Monthly management fee None
Monthly charges None
Interest 0%
Conversion fee (COPW, USDW, EURC) None stated
Conversion fee (other coins) Not stated
FX fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated
Monthly limit Up to 10,000 USD
Higher monthly limit On request to customer service
Daily limit Not stated
ATM limit Not stated

A few everyday scenarios to ground that table. Paying a USD-denominated online subscription from a USDW balance: no conversion, no published FX fee, no monthly charge, no interest — the strongest case. Paying a COP-denominated local merchant from a BTC balance: the conversion fee kicks in and the rate is not published, so the actual cost is something you will only see in the app at the moment of payment. Paying a EUR-denominated merchant from a USDW balance: still a conversion through the Mastercard network’s FX path, and the FX fee is not published, so the real cost is also visible only in the app.

The honest read: the published fees are good, but they do not cover the full cost of using the card in any currency other than COPW, USDW or EURC, and the silent cases (FX, conversion spread for non-listed coins, ATM, daily limits) are exactly the cases where cards tend to bite you.

Top up: how to fund the card

There is no separate “top-up” step in the Wenia design. The card pays directly from the digital-asset balance in your Wenia app, and you pick which asset to spend in the “Wenia Card” section of the app. The supported assets are COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA — a mix of stablecoins and majors, which is broader than many competing cards.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wenia starts with a transfer to the right network

What the page does not say is the network. If you have USDT on Tron and ETH on Arbitrum, you cannot tell from the Wenia website which of those you should send to the app. Wenia’s own stablecoins (COPW, USDW, EURC) are presumably on whatever network Wenia issues them on, and the rest of the list reads as coins you can hold in-app and spend from. The practical effect is that you need to check the deposit screen inside the app for the exact network and address before you send anything — and if you send a token on a network Wenia does not support, the transfer is irreversible by design, with no guarantee of manual recovery.

A short checklist before any transfer: confirm the receiving network in the Wenia app, not on a third-party site; send a small test amount first if the amount matters; remember that on-chain fees (gas, bandwidth) are charged by the network, not by Wenia, and that you may need a small balance of the native asset to pay them.

Paying with it every day

The day-to-day shape of the Wenia card is narrower than most crypto cards. It is a digital Mastercard for online use, with Apple Pay and Google Pay mentioned on the home page and in-store mobile-wallet use described as “coming soon.” That means today you can expect to use the card for online subscriptions, in-app purchases, and any checkout that accepts Mastercard online — and the wallet-on-phone story is forward-looking.

There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, no published rewards or cashback programme, and no physical card or ATM access described at all. The 10,000 USD monthly limit is generous for a personal card but capped, and higher limits are only available if you ask. The card currency is not stated, which matters more than it sounds: a card denominated in COP will look foreign to a US merchant and may face extra scrutiny or a soft decline, especially where Address Verification Service is in play.

What that means in practice is that Wenia works best as an online-only spending tool, used in the currencies the card is designed for (COPW, USDW, EURC), where the merchant accepts Mastercard and the amount is within the monthly cap. If your daily life is “tap to pay at a café, withdraw cash from an ATM, collect points on a credit card,” the Wenia card does not currently match that picture.

What can go wrong

Three categories of risk are worth taking seriously, and the Wenia pages are not always clear about them.

Company and supervision. Wenia S.A.S. (NIT 901656609-9) is a Colombian company supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, and the card runs on Mastercard’s network. That is a real regulatory and network footprint. The pages do not name a separate bank that issues the card, which is common for newer programmes but means you cannot look up the issuer’s licence number. I found no complaints or user reviews about the Wenia card on Reddit, Trustpilot or in news searches, and no public incidents — a positive signal, but also a thin one given how new the product is.

Limits and silence. The single biggest practical risk is the things the page does not say. The conversion fee for non-listed coins is not stated. The FX fee is not stated. The ATM situation is not stated. The card currency is not stated. The KYC steps are not stated. Each of these is a place where a user can be surprised, and the only mitigation is to test with a small amount first, read the in-app disclosures carefully, and contact customer service before you commit real money.

The category risks. Crypto cards carry the usual category risks: the underlying assets are volatile and not necessarily stable even when labelled “stablecoin,” blockchain transfers are irreversible, the provider can pause a programme, and the network (Mastercard, in this case) can withdraw support. A common-sense posture is to keep only the balance you actually plan to spend, switch the spending asset deliberately, and treat the card as a spending tool rather than a store of value.

What to take instead

Three cards come up most often when readers compare Wenia, and they cover three different shapes of the same problem.

Bybit Card (6.0 / 10) is the most global of the three. The official help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and “Asia Pacific,” and the application asks for a country of residence; if your country is not supported, Bybit says it will “register your interest.” The cards page adds that the product is “not meant for European Economic Area customers” and that EEA participation is “strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list covers Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States, with Russian users limited to RUB transactions. The card has both virtual and physical versions in most regions (Peru is virtual-only), runs on Mastercard in some regions and Visa in others, and ships in USD, ARS, MXN, BRL or PEN/USD depending on the country. Cost-wise, virtual issuance is free in all regions “until further notice,” physical issuance ranges from 5 to 29.99 USD depending on the region, and VIPs in some regions pay no issuance or replacement fee. There is a 0.5%–0.9% crypto-conversion fee, an FX fee that ranges from 1% to 7% depending on the region, and a multi-tier cashback programme that only pays on crypto-funded spending from 2026-10-05. Bybit is the right comparison if you want a global card with a real cashback programme and are willing to live with a conversion fee.

Coinbase Card (6.4 / 10) is the US-only option. It is available in all US states except Hawaii, follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules, and ships as a Visa prepaid debit card (virtual or physical) that converts crypto to US dollars at the point of payment. There are no spending fees and no annual fees, with all costs disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement; the only friction is the spread Coinbase charges when it buys, sells or converts crypto. There is an optional crypto-rewards programme (US card users only) where the rate is variable and shown in the app, with users picking from rotating crypto rewards. Coinbase Card is the right comparison if you live in the US, want a Visa-branded prepaid card, and value Coinbase’s compliance footprint.

OKX (6.2 / 10) is the European option. It is a Mastercard euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, launched on 28 January 2026 in the EU plus Norway, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded and the rules set by OKX Europe Ltd. under MiCAR. The card has no fee, no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is 0.1% per a May 2026 explainer (the launch press release said 0.4%, the explainer is the newer figure). The card is funded with USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay, and other coins must be converted first. Cashback is paid only on USDG purchases (USDC earns none), with monthly caps ranging from 2% / EUR 10 for Regular users up to 10% / EUR 1,000 for VIP4+. OKX is the right comparison if you are in the EEA, want a euro card, and are happy holding USDC or USDG.

If you live in Colombia and the Wenia app is already part of your life, Wenia fits and there is little reason to switch. If you are outside Colombia, or if you need a physical card, an ATM, a published FX fee or a real cashback programme, one of the three above will match a published brief better.

Who I would recommend it to

Wenia makes sense for a narrow reader. You live in Colombia. You already have, or are happy to open, a Wenia app account. You hold COPW, USDW or EURC and want to spend them online without paying a card creation fee, a monthly fee, or interest. The 10,000 USD monthly cap is enough for your normal online spend, and you do not need a physical card, ATM access or a rewards programme. In that case, the card is essentially free to run, and the rest is a question of whether the Wenia app itself is a product you want to use.

Wenia does not make sense for a different reader. You are outside Colombia, or you are not sure whether Wenia will let you sign up. You need a physical card to tap in a shop or to withdraw cash. You want a published FX fee, a published conversion spread for BTC/ETH payments, or a clear list of blocked merchant categories. You collect cashback or points on your spending. In any of those cases, the silence in the Wenia pages is itself the answer, and a card with a more complete brief — Bybit for a global brief, Coinbase for a US brief, OKX for a European brief — is a safer bet.

A last piece of personal advice, on the assumption that you fall somewhere in between. Treat the first month as a test. Add the card, set a low spending limit, pay one or two small online bills from a stablecoin balance, watch the in-app fee disclosures carefully, and only then decide whether to scale up. The card is free to create, and the cost of a small test is small.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wenia card?

The Wenia card is a digital Mastercard offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia, through the Wenia app. It lets you pay online from a digital-asset balance held in the app, switching between COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA as the spending asset.

How does the Wenia card work?

You hold a balance of supported digital assets in the Wenia app, choose which one to spend in the “Wenia Card” section, and pay online with a virtual Mastercard. In-store mobile-wallet use is described as coming soon; there is no physical card or ATM access described.

Is Wenia a bank?

No. Wenia S.A.S. is a Colombian company (NIT 901656609-9) supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio. The card runs on Mastercard’s network; the pages do not name a separate bank that issues the card, and the company is not presented as a bank.

Who owns Wenia?

The card’s pages identify the provider as Wenia S.A.S., a Colombian company, without naming ultimate owners or investors. Ownership structure is not stated on the public card pages.

Is the Wenia card available in my country?

The public card pages do not publish a country list. The card is presented as a Wenia S.A.S. offering in Colombia through the Wenia app, so the most reliable way to check is to open the app and see whether the card option is available for your account; the in-app flow is where eligibility is decided.

How do I get the Wenia card?

Download the Wenia app, create an account, and add the card from inside the app. The KYC steps behind the account opening are not stated on the public pages; the app is what asks for identity documents and decides whether you can proceed.

Does the Wenia card require KYC?

The card sits inside a regulated Colombian product supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, and account opening is handled inside the Wenia app. The exact KYC steps (documents, address proof, identity check) are not stated on the public card pages, so the in-app onboarding is where this is decided.

How do I top up the Wenia card?

There is no separate top-up step. You hold a balance of supported digital assets in the Wenia app, and the card spends from that balance; the asset used for spending is selected in the “Wenia Card” section. Networks for deposits are not stated on the public pages, so check the deposit screen inside the app before sending.

Is the Wenia card free?

The card is free to create, has no monthly management fee, no monthly charges, and 0% interest. Payments made in COPW, USDW or EURC have no additional cost; using other coins may incur a conversion fee, and the rate is not stated. FX, ATM and daily-limit fees are not stated on the public pages.

How do I add the Wenia card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay are mentioned on the Wenia home page, so tokenising the card into a mobile wallet is supported. The exact steps live in the Wenia app, since the public card pages do not describe the flow; in-store use through a mobile wallet is described as “coming soon.”

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team