The Gnosis Pay card is shutting down: a review of the shutdown, refunds and replacements

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Gnosis Pay card no longer issues new cards. The programme was formally wound up on 21 September 2026, and the consumer card and the web app stop working at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. If you were reading about this card because you were thinking of applying, that search has ended. If you already hold one, the interesting question is not whether the card is any good but how to get your balance out and what happens to payments you already have in flight. I went through the card’s own help centre, the closure notice, the terms on fees and limits, the issuer’s identity, and the reviews people left behind, and this page is what I found. One score, given honestly: 4.5 out of 10.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The Gnosis Pay card programme no longer issues new cards

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.5 out of 10, and the score is mostly about timing rather than quality

The score is low, but not because the card was badly built. On cost and on everyday use it scores well: no transaction fees from Gnosis Pay, no added currency-conversion fee of its own, a free physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a virtual card you can get in minutes. What sinks it is the single hardest fact about any card that is closing: you cannot get one. Issuance is closed. The card and the web app stop working on 20 December 2026. A card you are not allowed to apply for, and that will not exist in two months, cannot score well on the one criterion that matters most to someone who has never had an ordinary bank card.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and web app stop working on 20 December 2026, and the consumer card is being replaced by partner cards
Cost 8 / 10 Card issue and delivery are free (the old EUR 30.23 price is out of date), no transaction fees or FX markup from Gnosis Pay, Visa’s exchange rate applies, ATM 2% after the free allowance
Top-up options 7 / 10 Self-custody Safe, EURe/GBPe/USDCe, USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain; unofficial: funding from another network needs a swap or a bridge
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 The issuer Monavate (FCA) is named, but the programme is closing: support to 18 Jun 2027, disputes to 12 Jun 2028; Trustpilot 2.3, unofficial: an exploit in June 2026
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, cash machines; unofficial: gambling categories blocked
Total 4.5 / 10 The mechanics were good; the closure is what you are actually reviewing

Who this suited, before the closure notice: legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries. The rule was residence, not citizenship — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus and more of the EEA were listed, with a waitlist for new countries. The site has since moved on to listing corridors in USD, EUR, GBP, BRL and ARS and partner apps, which tells you where the successor products are pointing. Not stated anywhere on the public pages: which documents you needed, what proof of address looked like, or what the age threshold was. Verification ran through Sumsub in a single unified flow. Unofficial sources add an age of 18+, a government ID or passport and proof of address issued within the last three months, with approval not guaranteed, but the card’s own pages do not say this, so treat it as third-party detail rather than a promise.

Who this does not suit, now: anyone starting out. There is no application to make. And for current holders the sensible posture is exactly what the notice implies — withdraw your balance before the shutdown, then decide where to spend next.

What happened to the programme

The shape of this is important, because it is not a sudden disappearance. There is a timeline, and each date on it removes one thing you could previously do.

After the cutoff, what remains is narrow. Recurring payments fail and cannot be moved to another card for you. Payments that were authorised but not yet settled still complete. Refunds that arrive after deactivation cannot be used on the card; any such refund is money you will have to sort out through support rather than money you can spend.

One thing worth understanding before you read further: Gnosis Pay was never the issuer. It is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639), and it acts as the technical services provider and programme manager. The card itself was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, and Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097). For UK and non-EEA cardholders the entity is Monavate Ltd; for EEA cardholders it is UAB Monavate, supervised by the Bank of Lithuania. That distinction matters more than usual now: when the front end disappears, the licensed institution behind it is the party that still owes you answers.

The card was a Visa, virtual (instant) and physical, with settlement at T+1. There were Apple Pay and Google Pay, described on the site as ready, with restrictions on rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers and use prohibited in certain countries. Whether gambling was blocked is not stated on the official pages. The balance model is the one that matters most for what follows: your money lived in a self-custody Safe smart account, not in a Gnosis Pay bank account. Card currencies were EURe, GBPe and USDCe, spent 1:1 — a EUR 10 purchase costs 10 EURe — and Gnosis Pay added no conversion fee of its own, with Visa’s exchange rate applying automatically. The advice on the page was to choose the local currency at terminals rather than letting the terminal convert.

On rewards: the closure notice does not describe cashback on the current card. Reports, unofficial, say GNO cashback eligibility ended on 30 September 2026 with a final distribution on 7 October. If you were counting on that, it is gone.

If you already have the card: withdraw, and do it early

Here is the part that actually needs action from you, and the good news is that the design of this card is the reason the ending is not worse. The Safe is a self-custodial smart contract account on Gnosis Chain. Your assets remain yours. Neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. Even after the front end dies, you can reach the account through third-party Safe interfaces with your existing signer key — the key, not the company.

Withdrawals stay open on the web app after 20 December 2026, with no deadline stated, at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw. Blockchain network fees may apply, which is the cost of moving funds on-chain rather than a fee from the card company. Unofficial reporting agrees: the web app stays in limited capacity after the cutoff for withdrawals only, and funds in Safe accounts have no withdrawal deadline. The official help-centre page is looser than that, saying only that the web app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”. My advice is to treat the unofficial version as a floor, not a ceiling: Gnosis Pay itself recommends withdrawing before 20 December 2026, and there is no reason to sit on a balance inside a dying front end when you can move it while support is still fully staffed.

Before you do, export your transaction history and note the last four digits and the expiry date of the card, before 20 December 2026. Keep receipts. Both of those are cheap now and impossible later.

Limits and costs while the card still works, so you know what you are withdrawing from: EUR 5,000 per regular transaction and up to EUR 8,000 per day. Cash machines were free up to five times a month or 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% with a minimum of 1 EUR or 1 GBP, with an ATM cap of EUR 250 per transaction and EUR 500 per day. Funding came from your Safe, with USDC and EURC mentioned on Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain. Unofficial sources say there is no top-up percentage fee from Gnosis Pay, but that funding from another chain needs a swap or bridge with network or DEX costs, and that on-chain transfers pay gas — which is normal, since gas is the chain’s fee, not the card’s. Top-up fees and the minimum top-up are not stated on the official fees page.

Support has a shape too. General cardholder support ends 18 June 2027. Refunds, disputes and chargebacks are supported until 12 June 2028. Your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date. Rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, and card-scheme chargeback rights, are unaffected by the closure — but scheme time limits apply, so raise disputes promptly via [email protected] or the help centre. Partner-app questions after the move go to the partner, not to Gnosis Pay.

What can go wrong

The closure itself is the main risk, and it is not symmetrical across holders. If you use the card for anything recurring — a subscription, a utility, a rent payment — that stops on 20 December and will not be transferred for you. Change it before then or it fails.

Then there is the June 2026 incident. Unofficial reporting, from The Block and from LCX and Cointelegraph, describes an exploit that hit Gnosis Pay’s delay module; co-founder Koppelmann said Gnosis would cover user losses. Advice to withdraw early was reported as conflicting at the time, and I have not verified the status of compensation. I am flagging it as an open question rather than a resolved one, because a promise to cover losses is not the same as money in your account, and the programme it happened to is now closing.

Support quality is the other thing to take seriously. Trustpilot shows 2.3 out of 5, labelled “Poor”, from 38 reviews, of which 21 are from the last twelve months: 58% one-star and 21% five-star. Other regional pages showed 2.5. The themes in those reviews are worth reading as a list of what actually goes wrong with cards like this:

When I look at that pattern, the timing is what strikes me. Every one of those clusters sits either before or around the closure decision. A programme being wound down is not a place where slow support is a neutral fact; it is a place where slow support eats your runway.

What is not stated anywhere on the public pages: the KYC levels, the processing time, the official rejection reasons, and whether funds are insured, whether there is two-factor authentication, and what the spending controls and instant freeze actually do. The card did have a freeze and unfreeze function and 2FA as features, but what they cover is not described. I would not assume an insurance policy exists.

Where to complain, if you need to: [email protected], which is forwarded to Monavate; you can also write to Monavate directly at [email protected], in English or Lithuanian, hours not stated. Escalation is the Financial Ombudsman Service in the UK or the Bank of Lithuania in the EEA.

What to take instead

The successor path named in the closure coverage is a partner card — and the same ecosystem that built Gnosis Pay’s card is already running other names. I looked at three that are open now. Scores are on the same ten-point scale as the Gnosis Pay card above, so you can compare directly.

Alternative Score Card Cost to you
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard, virtual issued instantly, metal pre-ordered after approval, one card per user Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; metal $199/year
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa: Platinum Standard, Infinite metal Premium, Infinite gold plated Private, up to 10 cards Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year, billed annually upfront
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa, virtual card for online use, addable to Apple Pay; physical not stated Not stated — no fee schedule published

MetaMask is the most open of the three: sign-up in 45 listed countries and territories, including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay, with other regions on a waitlist and proof of residency required. The card’s own framing is useful here — ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending. Citizenship rule not stated; US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per the FAQ. It spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named among the tokens. Fees are described as minimal per transaction with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard’s rate used; the exact amount is not stated on the pages I read. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, and for Metal a headline 3% that its own footnote limits to the first $10,000 spent and then 1%.

KAST is the one with tiers, and the tiers are the whole pitch: annual membership of $0, $1,000 or $10,000. Spend is from your own balance in USD, deducted at purchase, not credit. Stablecoin deposits convert 1:1 with a 0% spread, and USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD are listed across Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON, though the terms themselves say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC” — a conflict worth knowing about. Fees: 0% top-up, 0% card spend, 0% transaction fee, 0% for Apple and Google Pay; but a non-USD currency fee of 0.5% to 1.75% depending on your country, transaction country and programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Cashback in USD: 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month for Standard, 2% on the first $10,000 for Premium, 3% on the first $40,000 for Private. Eligibility is unusually honest about identity: it is residence-based, but living in a supported country with only an ID from a restricted region may still fail KYC, dual citizens with a supported-country ID may pass, only your own ID is accepted, and a VPN does not bypass it. An unsupported country can still create an account, but KYC stays locked.

Zeal spends in 150+ countries, though issuance depends on eligibility and regional availability; the Gnosis Pay documentation lists the programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at Visa’s wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as the ATM fee may still apply where Gnosis Pay rails are in play. Accounts are in EUR, USD and GBP on Gnosis Chain and Celo; the exact coins are not stated. Cashback is up to 4% paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, and GNO must be held in the card Safe to qualify — which means it is a reward that only pays if you already hold the token. The app store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances.

My honest comparison: if you want the broadest sign-up list and a free card, MetaMask is the one I would look at first. If you are willing to pay for a tier and want a metal card and higher cashback caps, KAST is the structured option, with the caveat that the country rules are strict about which ID you hold. If you were already inside the Gnosis ecosystem and want the path of least resistance, Zeal is the adjacent move — and you will still need to check whether your own country is on its issuance list, which is not published as a schedule.

One practical note that applies to any of these, and especially to KAST: moving to a partner card may require new identity or compliance checks and a new Safe. You are not transferring a card; you are applying to a new programme.

Who I would recommend it to

Nobody, in the sense of a new applicant, because issuance is closed. That is not a hedge, it is the position.

To a current holder I would say this: withdraw your balance before 20 December 2026, export your transaction history while you still can, note the card’s last four digits and expiry, change any recurring payments to another card, and if you want to keep spending, treat the partner card as a fresh application with fresh checks. If you have a dispute or a refund in flight, raise it now rather than in March — support for those runs to 12 June 2028, but scheme time limits are shorter than that and slow replies were already the norm in the reviews.

To someone reading this in the past tense who has no card and no balance: the case for this card, when it existed, was that the mechanics were genuinely good. Self-custody with your own key, no transaction fees, no FX markup of its own, a free card, virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, spending across EURe, GBPe and USDCe at 1:1. If that is the shape you are after, the three cards above all offer something in the same family, and MetaMask currently has the widest sign-up list of them. The thing to weigh is not the feature list — it is whether you want your funds behind an app that can be switched off, which is the lesson this closure teaches more clearly than any fee table.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Gnosis Pay card?

Gnosis Pay was a Visa payment card that spent directly from a self-custody Safe smart account rather than from a bank balance. It was issued by Monavate Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, with Gnosis Pay acting as programme manager. Card currencies were EURe, GBPe and USDCe, spent 1:1, with no Gnosis Pay fee on transactions or currency conversion.

Why is the Gnosis Pay card closing?

The programme was formally wound up: a closure notice was published on 21 September 2026, and the card and web app stop working at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. The company moved toward business-to-business card issuing and partner cards. Gnosis Pay is not the issuer, so Monavate remains the licensed institution responsible for disputes and complaints.

Can I still get a Gnosis Pay card?

No. New issuance is closed, and the consumer card is being replaced by partner cards rather than by a new version of the same one. Coverage before closure was based on legal residence in selected European and Latin American countries, including Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia and Cyprus. There is a waitlist for new countries, which is not an application route.

What happens to the money in my Gnosis Pay Safe?

Your assets stay yours, because the Safe is a self-custodial smart contract account on Gnosis Chain, and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. Withdrawals remain open on the web app after 20 December 2026 with no stated deadline, though network fees may apply. You can also reach the account through third-party Safe interfaces using your existing signer key.

When exactly should I withdraw my balance?

Before 20 December 2026, which is what Gnosis Pay itself recommends. The official help centre only says the web app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”; unofficial reporting says withdrawals have no deadline. Treat the earlier date as the safe one. While the app is fully working, also export your transaction history and note the last four digits and expiry.

What happens to subscriptions and recurring payments?

They fail. After the cutoff, recurring payments stop and cannot be moved to another card for you. Payments already authorised but not yet settled still complete, and refunds arriving after deactivation cannot be used on the card. If you have any direct debits, move them yourself before 20 December 2026.

How long can I contact support about my card?

General cardholder support ends at 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027. Support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks runs to 12 June 2028. Your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that later date. Raise disputes early anyway, since card-scheme time limits are shorter and reports in 2026 described replies taking one to several weeks.

Was Gnosis Pay a bank, and who actually issued the card?

No — Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639), acting as technical services provider and programme manager, not as issuer. The card was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence. UK and non-EEA holders deal with Monavate Ltd; EEA holders with UAB Monavate, under the Bank of Lithuania.

Is Gnosis Pay safe, and what about the June 2026 exploit?

The card’s design was conservative — self-custody, your own signer key, so neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can move your funds. Unofficial reporting describes an exploit in June 2026 hitting Gnosis Pay’s delay module, with co-founder Koppelmann saying Gnosis would cover user losses; the status of that compensation was not verified. Insurance of funds, spending controls and what the freeze function covers are not stated on the public pages.

What should I use instead of the Gnosis Pay card?

Three open options, all Visa or Mastercard products spending from your own crypto: MetaMask at 7.1 out of 10, with sign-up in 45 listed countries and territories, a free virtual card and a $199/year metal card; KAST at 6.1, with Standard, Premium and Private tiers from $0 to $10,000 a year; and Zeal at 6.1, spending in 150+ countries with up to 4% cashback in GNO. Each is a new programme with its own checks, and possibly a new Safe.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team