The crypto card that keeps your keys on your own phone, published on paper that leaves a lot unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Oppi is a crypto card where your private keys stay on your own device. That is the whole pitch, and it is the right one to start from: the card does not hold your money, so the failure mode that has punished crypto wallet users for years — a provider freezing, losing or misappropriating the balance — is designed out of the product. What you get instead is a virtual Mastercard you can load from nine different coins across five networks, an optional physical card, and Apple Pay and Google Pay.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Oppi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

What you also get is a company that publishes less about its own card than you would need in order to trust it with your spending. The issuer and the BIN sponsor are not named anywhere on the public pages. The ATM fee is not stated. The spending limits are not stated. The App Store listing says travel bookings have no currency exchange fees, while the main site charges 2%–2.5% on non-USD purchases, and neither page acknowledges the other. None of that means the card is bad. It means the card is young, and you should size your exposure to it accordingly.

I scored it 7.2 out of 10. For a reader who already holds crypto in self-custody and wants to spend it without handing custody to anyone else, that is a good score. For a reader who needs a bank-grade answer to “who is behind this card and what are my protections”, it is not good enough — because the information is not there to find.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The card suits you if you are already comfortable holding crypto in your own wallet, you spend in USD or in countries where a foreign-issued card is routine, and you can afford to lose visibility into a few things in exchange for keeping control of your keys. It does not suit you if you rely on cash machines, if you need spending limits and chargebacks spelled out before you commit, or if you are in one of the places Oppi will not serve.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Oppi starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is how the score breaks down.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Claimed in 210+ countries; unofficial listings put it at 221, with Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria closed off
Cost 4 / 10 Virtual activation USD 10 with USD 5 returned; physical USD 100 delivered; 2%–2.5% on non-USD payments; no monthly fee
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX, USDC on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON, Solana
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Self-custody is real; the issuer is not named; no complaints found; App Store 4.6 out of 5 from 50 ratings
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual Mastercard plus an optional physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals claimed
Total 7.2 / 10 Strong product design, thin published information

Two things explain the shape of that total. The design decisions that matter most to the person actually spending — self-custody, nine assets, five networks, no monthly fee — are strong. The cost column drags because there is a USD 10 charge to switch the virtual card on, USD 100 for plastic if you want it, and a 2%–2.5% tax on every purchase made outside the dollar, which is exactly the behaviour many people adopt this kind of card for.

Will they give you the card

Oppi claims availability in “210+ countries”. Other pages on the same site say 100+ and 200+, and the site itself adds the caution that availability varies and regulatory limits apply. Eligibility is checked at sign-up rather than promised at the point of sale. A restricted-country list does exist in the site’s FAQ, though the answers were not readable.

Third-party research, which the card itself does not confirm, lists 221 countries as available and names four restricted ones: Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria. The same source reports that the anti-money-laundering policy also bars Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk. That source also suggests the “210+” figure is really about Mastercard acceptance rather than Oppi’s own licensing reach, which is a distinction worth holding in your head: a card that works in 210 countries because the network accepts it is not the same as a card issued in 210 jurisdictions.

So, for the question people actually type — is Oppi available in my country — the honest answer is: almost certainly yes unless you are in a sanctioned place, but the card will tell you at sign-up rather than in advance, and the restrictions it applies may extend further than its own headline number suggests. Your citizenship is a separate matter from your residence and may matter more; screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to where you live. The card’s public pages do not say how it handles a resident of a supported country holding an ID from a restricted one.

How to get it

Identity verification is required to enable the card, not to use the wallet. That distinction is worth sitting with: you can hold and move crypto in Oppi without handing over documents, and the card is what you pay for. The check itself is a government ID plus a selfie, taking two minutes.

There is one verification level on the page. No tiers are described, and proof of address, age requirements and any additional documents are not stated. Unofficial sources say proof of address is required under the anti-money-laundering policy, and that above USD 10,000 of daily withdrawals or USD 100,000 monthly, the company may ask for proof of funds, a source-of-wealth questionnaire and a video call. Treat those thresholds as unconfirmed — they are not on Oppi’s own pages — but treat the direction of travel as real: the checks get heavier as the amounts get larger, and they are the kind of thing that arrives as an email on the day you needed the money.

On the card itself: the virtual card is a Mastercard. The page’s comparison table lists the physical card as a Visa, the App Store listing says virtual Mastercard and physical VISA, and another site page says Visa or Mastercard depending on tier. So the network on your plastic may not be the network on your virtual card, and the App Store page is the most specific source available. Multiple virtual cards can share one balance, and the physical card is optional. The currency is USD, implied by the fact that a foreign-exchange charge applies to anything else. Delivery time, delivery countries and replacement cost are not stated — which, given the single report of a physical card never arriving, is the gap I would most want closed.

Fees

Here is every number Oppi publishes about money, in one place.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Oppi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Virtual card activation USD 10 one-time, USD 5 credited back
Physical card USD 100 including shipping
Monthly fee None
Annual fee None
Non-USD purchase (FX) 2%–2.5%
Crypto top-up conversion Real-time rate; swap fees described as “low”, not quantified
ATM withdrawal fee Supported; fee and allowance not stated
Daily and monthly spending limits Not stated on the card page

A few of those entries need expanding, because “not stated” is doing a lot of work in that table.

The activation charge is the one most people will meet first. You pay USD 10 and USD 5 goes back to the balance, so your real entry cost is USD 5 — but the money has to be there before you can spend it. Unofficial listings disagree with the official figures: one third-party source shows virtual activation at USD 15 in India with 5 returned, while Google Play listings and a February comparison describe the virtual card as free and the physical one as USD 10. Those contradict Oppi’s own numbers, and I would plan on the official ones.

The FX charge is the one that changes your arithmetic. At 2%–2.5% on anything not in dollars, a euro holiday stops being obviously expensive: spend EUR 200 and you have given up roughly 4–5 of it to the charge before you have bought anything. Note the direct conflict with the App Store listing, which advertises travel bookings with no currency exchange fees. One of those two statements will turn out to describe reality. Which one, I cannot tell you from the public pages.

Now, three everyday payments, and what actually applies.

The card works as a prepaid balance: it draws on what you have loaded and cannot overdraw. That is a genuine comfort, and it also means a decline is usually just an empty balance rather than a bank decision.

How to top it up

This is the strongest part of the product. Oppi accepts BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX and USDC, across Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana. The App Store listing claims 40+ assets; the site names the nine above. A pre-funded wallet, the virtual card and the physical card all draw on a single balance, so there is no shuffling money between pots.

Conversion happens at the real-time rate when you top up. Beyond that, the page says nothing further: minimum top-up, fiat on-ramp, and what a withdrawal from the card balance back out looks like are all not stated.

Getting the network right is the part that costs people money, and it is worth understanding why rather than just memorising the list. ERC-20 fees on Ethereum are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. Tron prices transactions through bandwidth and energy resources and burns TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so a “USDC over TRC20” transfer is not a native option. And blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network Oppi does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached. Network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Oppi.

Unofficial sources put card loading at around 1%–2%, which is not itemised on Oppi’s page. If you are moving large sums, that is a number to confirm for yourself rather than accept from me.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, which in practice is how most people will use this card — the virtual number goes into the phone wallet and you stop handling the card. On Apple Pay the card number is replaced by a device-specific account number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time code. That is a meaningful reduction in the ways a card number leaks. It is also not anonymity: the issuer can restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe use.

Spending earns Oppi Points, redeemable for top-ups, according to the eligibility rules. The rate and the caps are not stated. Third-party research records that the rewards programme was introduced in July 2026, so treat it as young.

Dispute handling is not stated — the help centre shows a list of FAQ questions without the answers behind them. This one deserves emphasis for anyone planning to put meaningful monthly volume through the card. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If you do not know which regime Oppi’s card sits under, you do not know what remedy you have when a shop takes the money and does not deliver.

App quality: iPhone, iOS 15.6 and above, also listed for M-series Mac and Vision, English only, rated 4.6 out of 5 from 50 ratings when I read the listing. Unofficial figures vary widely — one source lists Apple at 4.6 from 16 ratings and Google Play at 4.3, with 4.8 from 11 and 4.5 from 386 appearing elsewhere on the same pages. Fifty ratings is a small sample. It is a signal, not a reputation.

What can go wrong

The technical risks are lower here than with a custodial card, and the institutional risks are higher than the marketing suggests.

Nobody will tell you who issues the card. The App Store developer is Encoin Limited, trading as Oppi Wallet. The site says the service is operated by Oppiwallet and is “VASP-certified”. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named, and neither is a licence number or jurisdiction. For a card where your keys are yours, this still matters: the issuer is the party that runs the card programme, holds the licence, and would handle a dispute. You are being asked to trust an unnamed intermediary between you and the network. Third-party research flagged the same gap in August 2026 and it has not since been filled.

The programme could stop. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That is the scenario to hold in mind with any card whose issuer you cannot name.

There are almost no user complaints, and that cuts both ways. A search across Trustpilot and Reddit found nothing about Oppi — only unrelated products. The App Store rating is the only real user signal. Trustpilot carries a single review, in which one reviewer says a physical card was never delivered. A brand with fifty app ratings and one third-party review has not yet been tested by volume, which means both that there is no pattern of failure and that there is no track record of reliability.

Self-custody moves the risk onto you. Private keys stay on your device and Oppi says it does not hold your funds at any point. That is the good part and the dangerous part. A seed phrase — typically twelve to twenty-four words — is the unencrypted private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and because blockchain transfers are irreversible and there is no recovery mechanism, there is nothing to appeal to. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay yours until the moment of payment, but key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address are now your problem alone. Freeze, spending controls and insurance are all not stated.

Merchants may treat it as foreign. The first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution, and any shop can look them up. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, extra scrutiny follows, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright because the lookup reveals the card type. Address verification is largely unavailable for foreign-issued cards. None of this is a defect of Oppi’s specifically — it is what a card issued in one market and used in another looks like.

Spending limits and ATM economics are a blank. Two Oppi pages give contradictory figures, USD 100,000 a day in a blog post and USD 10,000 a day elsewhere, and I would not rely on either. Unofficial reporting says no card limit table has ever been published, with a December guide suggesting “several thousand dollars per day” depending on verification level. If you are planning to carry a full month’s expenses on this card, establish the real ceiling before you rely on it.

And the general one, which belongs to the category: stablecoins are not stable by name alone. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether also states it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — so a “self-custody, censorship-resistant” balance is still subject to a token issuer’s compliance decisions.

What to take instead

The comparison below is not a ranking. It is three other ways to solve the same problem, each with a different bet about geography, cost and custody.

Oppi MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 7.2 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Where Claimed 210+ countries Sign-up open in 45 listed countries/territories; others waitlisted Residence-based list shown at KYC, not published Spend in 150+ countries; card live in EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand
Card Virtual Mastercard, optional physical Mastercard: virtual instantly, metal pre-orderable Virtual and physical, Visa, up to 10 cards Visa, virtual, Apple Pay; physical not stated
Entry cost USD 10 activation, USD 5 back Virtual free Standard 0 USD Not stated
Top cost Physical USD 100 Metal USD 199/year Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year Not stated
FX 2%–2.5% No foreign transaction fee; Mastercard rate 0.5%–1.75% by residence, country and programme No additional FX fee; Visa wholesale rate
Assets 9 coins on 5 chains mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD Stablecoin balances in EUR/USD/GBPs; coins not stated

MetaMask is the closest alternative and the one to look at first if you are in a listed country. Its virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee, and it charges no foreign transaction fee — spend in euros and you pay the Mastercard rate and nothing else. The catch is geography: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with examples including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay, while other regions join a waitlist. Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending, and proof of residency is required. The issuer is named — Monovate, with Crypto Life as card provider — and the card currency is not stated. Rewards are cashback into mUSD: 1% on Virtual, and 3% headline on Metal with a footnote limiting 3% to the first USD 10,000 spent. One card per user.

KAST is the most structured and the most expensive at the top, and its geography is the least transparent: the country list is not published, only shown at KYC, and living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible — though dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass, and a VPN does not bypass the check. The tiers are annual and steep — Standard 0 USD, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year, billed annually upfront — with an inactivity fee of 1 USD a month after twelve months. In exchange, its fee structure is the most transparent of the group: stablecoin top-up 0%, spending in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, mobile wallets 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%, a fixed 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a decline on insufficient balance. Cashback is 1.5%, 2% or 3% monthly up to stated spend caps.

Zeal is the quietest of the four. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, which makes it the cheapest to use abroad of anything here, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. Up to 4% cashback paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, provided you hold GNO in the card Safe; the app also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances. The catch is that the physical card is not stated, the exact coins are not stated for Zeal, and issuance depends on regional eligibility.

My read: if your country is on MetaMask’s list and cost is the priority, the free virtual card with no FX fee beats Oppi outright. If you want published limits and published fees more than you want a low headline price, KAST is the more legible product despite its tiering. If you are in one of the places where the card programme is genuinely live and you spend abroad heavily, Zeal’s wholesale-rate conversion is hard to argue with.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Oppi to you if all four of these are true. You already hold crypto in a wallet you control, because the card’s main advantage — your keys never leave your phone — is worth nothing to someone who is about to buy their first token. You mostly spend in dollars or in countries where foreign-issued cards are unremarkable. You are comfortable with a card company that has not published its issuer, its limits or its ATM economics, and you would rather keep custody than have a support desk answer the phone. And you would rather pay 2%–2.5% on foreign purchases than carry a card with an annual fee.

I would not recommend it as your only card. Not because I think it is unsafe — the self-custody design is sound and I found no complaints — but because of what the gaps mean in practice. A named issuer is what you need when a shop charges you twice and the help centre has no published answers. Stated limits are what you need when you are abroad and the balance is finite. A published FX rule is what you need when you are comparing four prices on a hotel site and one of them is quietly 5% more expensive. With Oppi, you are trusting the design and the early-stage evidence, and getting very little else.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Oppi card?

Oppi is a crypto payment card that draws on a balance funded from your own cryptocurrency wallet. Your private keys stay on your device and Oppi says it does not hold your funds at any point. You get a virtual Mastercard you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and a physical card is optional on top. Spending behaves like a prepaid balance, so it cannot overdraw.

Is Oppi a bank?

No — not as far as its public pages describe. The App Store developer is Encoin Limited, the site says the service is operated by Oppiwallet and is “VASP-certified”. The card issuer and BIN sponsor behind the card programme are not named, and no licence number or jurisdiction is published. So it is better understood as a crypto wallet with a card attached than as a bank account.

How do I get an Oppi card?

You install the iPhone app, sign up, and complete identity verification with a government ID and a selfie, taking two minutes. Verification is required to enable the card; the wallet itself works without it. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the public pages. Eligibility is checked at sign-up, not promised in advance.

Does Oppi require KYC?

Yes for the card, no for the wallet. The card’s own pages describe a single verification level: government ID plus selfie, which enables card features. Unofficial sources say proof of address is required under the anti-money-laundering policy, and that above USD 10,000 daily or USD 100,000 monthly in withdrawals, the company may request proof of funds, a source-of-wealth questionnaire and a video call.

Which countries is Oppi available in?

Oppi claims “210+ countries”, while other pages on the same site say 100+ and 200+. Third-party research lists 221 countries with Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria restricted, and the anti-money-laundering policy also barring Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk. The same source suggests “210+” describes Mastercard acceptance rather than Oppi’s own reach. Availability varies and regulatory limits apply.

How much does Oppi cost?

Activating the virtual card costs USD 10 once, with USD 5 credited back, so the real entry cost is USD 5. The physical card is USD 100 including shipping. There is no monthly or annual fee. Purchases not made in dollars carry a 2%–2.5% foreign-exchange charge. Crypto top-up converts at the real-time rate, and swap fees are described as low but not quantified.

Which cryptocurrencies and networks can I use to top up?

BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX and USDC, on Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana. One balance serves the pre-funded wallet, the virtual card and the physical card. Take the network choice seriously: transfers are irreversible, and sending on a network Oppi does not support can mean losing the funds outright.

Is Oppi safe?

The design is the safest part. Self-custody means no third party can freeze your balance, and the risk of key loss or a swapped transfer address moves onto you. The issuer is not named, spending limits are not published, ATM fees and allowances are not stated, and dispute handling is not stated either. No Trustpilot or Reddit complaints surfaced, but the user base is small.

Can I use Oppi at a cash machine?

Oppi says ATM withdrawals are supported and you can withdraw cash worldwide. What it does not publish is the fee, the daily allowance, or whether the FX charge applies on top. Two of the company’s own pages give contradictory daily limits, and a third-party guide suggests “several thousand dollars per day” depending on verification level, so treat cash as something to test rather than plan around.

Is Oppi card free?

Not quite. The virtual card activation is USD 10 with USD 5 returned, which third-party listings contradict, describing it as free in some markets and USD 15 in India. The physical card is USD 100 including delivery, though unofficial listings quote USD 10. No monthly or annual fee exists, so if you keep one virtual card and never add plastic, the running cost is the 2%–2.5% on foreign purchases.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team