Onboard card, reviewed from the outside: what it does, what it costs, and who it fits
Onboard pitches itself to “professionals who spend across borders,” and the product you end up with is a virtual Visa card funded from crypto. There is no physical card, no bank behind it in the usual sense, and a long list of countries where you cannot sign up at all. So the question is not whether the idea is appealing, but whether the practical version of it, the one you can actually open and use, matches what you need. This review walks through eligibility, sign-up, the real fee picture, how you fund it, what everyday spending looks like, the risks, and the alternatives I would weigh before committing.

The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Onboard earns a 6.5 out of 10. That is a middling score for a reason: the parts that work, free first card, USD payments without a fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, are genuinely useful, but the gaps are real. Verification is closed across a long official list of countries including the United States, the help pages do not publish an issuing bank, there is no physical card, and user feedback is thin and so far lukewarm. If you sit inside the supported geography and your spending is mostly in USD, the value is clear. If you need a physical card, an ATM line, or a published bank issuer, you will want to look elsewhere.

| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Verification is closed in a long list of countries, including the United States; elsewhere the world is open, and in a smaller set only the Classic card is offered. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | First Flex card is free, next ones $2; USD payments are free, non-USD payments cost $0.30 + 1.5%, and funding costs 1.25%. |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT and USDC on a chosen network, with Tron and Ethereum named, plus bank transfer in NGN, IDR and KES; an article mentions BTC and SOL too. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Onboard is a platform, not a bank, with partners Gopay Financial Services (FINTRAC) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN); the issuing bank is not named, and Trustpilot shows 2.6 out of 5 from only 4 reviews. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM access is not disclosed, and there is no physical card. |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | A clean virtual card experience for the right geography, held back by thin public information about the issuer and limited everyday form factors. |
The audience that gets the most out of Onboard is a professional who pays abroad in USD and is comfortable with stablecoins. The audience that will be disappointed is anyone who needs a physical card, an ATM, or a clearly named bank on the back of the product.
Will they give you the card
The headline positioning is broad: Onboard describes itself as “built for professionals who spend across borders” and promises to let you “spend globally.” The actual gate is much narrower than that wording suggests, because verification is the door to every Onboard feature, and verification is closed in a long, official list of countries.
The public list of places where verification, and therefore any Onboard product including cards, is not available reads like a sanctions- and risk-policy blocklist: Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zimbabwe. The United States is on that list.
A second, smaller set of countries is partly closed: in Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, and Vietnam, only the Classic Card is available; the Flex card that the rest of the world gets first is not on offer there. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are not on either list, so they sit in the open category.
So the practical answer to “will they give me the card” depends on where you are, where you hold citizenship, and which document you can present. The public pages do not state whether citizenship alone, regardless of residence, can disqualify you, so if you are an American citizen living in London or an Iranian citizen living in Istanbul, you should expect to be asked, and you should not be surprised if the answer is no.
How to get it
The sign-up flow is described as fast: “verify your account in minutes — free and instant.” A help article titled “How do I verify my identity (KYC) on Onboard?” exists but was not read for this review, so the exact list of accepted documents and edge cases is not stated on the pages I worked from. What is published is the sequence: download the app, verify, then create a virtual Flex card. Card currency is USD, so every fee that exists on top of that is a conversion or cross-border fee.
Verification is triggered when you do anything that touches money: fund the account, withdraw, trade, or create a card. The information Onboard asks for at that point, again based on the published pages, is a phone number confirmed by an SMS or WhatsApp code, your address, a photo of an ID (passport, national ID card, or driver’s licence) and a live selfie. The accepted documents depend on the country you chose at sign-up, which is why picking the right country up front matters. The platform says this “usually finishes within seconds,” with some applications going to manual review, and KYC tiers (basic versus enhanced limits) are not stated, nor are the rejection reasons. There is an article called “Why was my account restricted?” which I did not read, and which would presumably cover the failure modes.
Two things are worth flagging before you start. First, the country you pick at sign-up sets the document set the system will accept, so changing it later is not a casual change. Second, if your country is on either of the lists in the previous section, you will not get to the card stage, and no amount of document quality will change that.
What it really costs: fees, then three everyday payments
The first Flex card is free. Every Flex card after that costs $2 to issue. There is no monthly or annual fee stated on the pages I read. The Classic card is a separate product with its own fee schedule.

| Fee or limit | Flex card | Classic card |
|---|---|---|
| First card issuance | Free | Not stated on pages read |
| Subsequent card issuance | $2 | Not stated |
| Monthly / annual fee | None stated | None stated |
| USD payment | Free | Free |
| Non-USD or cross-border USD payment | $0.30 + 1.5% | $0.50 + 2.5% |
| Decline charge | None | $0.32 international / $0.02 domestic |
| Funding fee per transaction | 1.25% | 1.5% |
| Daily spending limit | $5,000 | $5,000 |
| Monthly spending limit | $20,000 | $20,000 |
| ATM access | Not stated | Not stated |
| Crypto conversion rate | Not stated | Not stated |
Funding works out to a small markup on stablecoins: the system quotes about 1.0125 USDT per $1 on Flex, which is the 1.25% funding fee expressed in token terms. Some networks add a base fee on top: $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum, paid by the user.
It helps to see how those numbers land on three everyday payments.
A $100 dinner in a US restaurant paid in USD: the payment is free, no fee at all. The only cost you eat is the funding markup you already paid when you loaded the card, which on Flex is 1.25%, so $1.25 baked in.
A €90 hotel night in Berlin paid in euros: this is a non-USD payment, so you pay the $0.30 flat fee plus 1.5%, which on €90 is roughly $1.65 in percentage plus 30 cents in flat fee, around $1.95 on top of the spot rate. Add the 1.25% funding cost on the underlying stablecoins, and the total cost of this transaction increases once everything is included.
A $40 subscription to a US streaming service paid in USD: free at the point of payment, but recurring. Over a year that is $480 of spending, all free at the merchant, and again the only cost is the upfront funding markup on whatever stablecoins you loaded. The card currency is USD, and you cannot withdraw USD or EUR directly from a card; you have to move the balance to the Cash Balance first.
One important “not stated”: the crypto-to-fiat conversion rate inside the app is not published as a number. The help text refers to “fees for certain actions like funding, currency conversion” without giving the spread, so the only verifiable number is the 1.25% funding fee on Flex, and the implied stablecoin rate that comes with it.
How to top it up
The product page says you can “fund from local currency or stablecoins,” and the help center adds a few more specifics. The headline numbers are: minimum $1, maximum $5,000 per transaction, and a 1.25% funding fee on Flex (1.5% on Classic).
The stablecoin options are USDT and USDC, sent on a network you choose. The two networks the help center names by example are Tron and Ethereum, and a separate article (which I did not read in full) covers BTC, SOL and other crypto, so the practical surface is wider than the help page’s first paragraph. The marketing language says funding “takes about 5 minutes,” which is realistic for Tron and occasionally optimistic for Ethereum during a busy gas window.
There is also a fiat rail: bank transfer in Nigerian naira (NGN), Indonesian rupiah (IDR) and Kenyan shilling (KES). That rail is the on-ramp for users in those currencies who do not want to touch crypto at all, and it is the only direct fiat-to-card path the help center describes.
Inside the app, you can Move money between three buckets without paying an extra fee: the Cash Balance (a USD balance), the Trading Wallet, and the cards. So if you keep your working balance in the Cash Balance and only load a card when you need to spend, you can park funds safely and pull them back when the card is no longer needed, subject to the rule that at least $1 must remain on an active card.
What is not stated is just as important. The pages do not list every supported coin, every supported network, or a published conversion spread. If your only entry point is, say, Polygon USDC or Base USDC, you should test with a tiny amount first, because stablecoins sent on a network the platform does not support can be lost or stuck in support with no guaranteed recovery.
Paying with it every day
The card is virtual, runs on the Visa rails, and is compatible with Apple Pay and Google Pay for in-store payments. That last point is what makes a cardless card usable at a physical checkout: you tokenise the virtual card into your phone’s wallet and tap to pay. Online, you type in the card details the way you would for any Visa.
There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, so I worked from the platform’s general prohibited-use list: money transfer services, cryptocurrency platforms, securities brokers, dating services, massage parlors, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies are blocked automatically. The general prohibited list, which is a separate set, includes unlicensed controlled substances, weapons, gambling, counterfeit goods, Ponzi schemes, and pirated media. In practice that means the card is fine for normal retail, travel and subscription spending, and you should not expect it to work at a crypto exchange or at a betting site.
There is no cashback programme. The platform runs a “Refer & earn” referral scheme, but that is not a spending reward, it is a sign-up incentive. If you specifically want a percentage back on every swipe, Onboard does not currently offer one.
App Store and Google Play ratings were not read for this review, so I cannot tell you what other users say about day-to-day reliability of the app. The complaints side of that is covered in the next section.
On disputes, the published position is: merchant refunds return to the same card and “can take up to 30 days to process after the merchant initiates it.” If 30 days have passed and you have heard nothing, you contact support with the transaction ID, the merchant name, and proof of payment. A refund that arrives after the card is terminated is sent to the Cash Balance. The full chargeback procedure, the form a chargeback takes, and your rights as a cardholder, are not stated on the pages I read.
What can go wrong
The risk picture is the section that most changes the score. The product works, but the public record of the company is thin, and that matters when you are trusting a platform with money.
Onboard says outright that it is “a technology platform, not a bank.” The services run through licensed partners: Gopay Financial Services Inc., doing business as Onboard Pay, registered with FINTRAC as a money services business in Canada (registration C100000565), and Onboard Digital, registered with FinCEN in the United States as a money services business (registration 31000293152346). Onboard is a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited, which is incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The card’s issuing bank, the licensed institution that actually puts the Visa number on the product, is not named on the pages I read. That is not unusual for a programme-manager-led card, but it does mean the regulated entity behind the plastic is one click away from “not stated” on the public site.
Security on the user side is conventional: passkeys (recommended) to log in and to authorise withdrawals, a six-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID on supported devices, and phone OTP for sensitive actions. You can freeze a card in the app (Cards, swipe to the card, more, Freeze), with the caveat that pending transactions may still settle while the card is frozen, and freezing is not the same as cancelling a subscription. What the platform does not say is what happens to funds in its custody, whether they are segregated, insured or held in bankruptcy-remote accounts, which is exactly the kind of language a regulated e-money institution would publish.
On the user-feedback side, the signal is small but not flattering. Trustpilot lists TrustScore 2.6 out of 5 from 4 reviews for onboard.xyz, all one star, with the company profile unclaimed. The themes that come up: unpaid promo or referral rewards, generic support replies, slow or difficult verification, restricted services, and unclear fees. Four reviews is not a survey, and an unclaimed profile means the company has not chosen to respond, but the pattern is consistent enough to take seriously: the support and verification experiences are uneven, and the promotional terms do not always pay out as users expected.
There is also the wider category risk that comes with any platform-led card: Visa can suspend a programme, and a programme closure typically means new loads stop, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw whatever is left. Onboard has not had a public closure event, but the structural risk is the same as for any other programme manager.
What to take instead
The honest comparison is with three other crypto-funded cards that sit in a similar range, all of which trade off slightly different things. None of these is a recommendation, and the differences matter for your specific case.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cashback | Best for | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Onboard | 6.5 / 10 | Virtual Visa, USD | None | Professionals paying abroad in USD | Long closed-country list, no physical card, no named issuer |
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, EUR | 2% total (1% on deposits, 1% on purchases, no stated cap) | Users who want a physical card and recurring cashback | Country eligibility “subject to eligibility criteria,” inactivity fee after 12 months, amount not stated |
| UPay | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual and physical, network not named, payments convert to USD/EUR/AED | None stated | Wide country support, business card option | Fees and limits not stated, KYC document must match country of residence |
| Kemy | 6.0 / 10 | Unlimited virtual Visa, one physical Mastercard | None mentioned | High-volume virtual card users, contact spending on the physical card | $15 issuance and $2/month for virtual, $250 issuance and $10/month for physical, 3.5% + $1 transaction fee on virtual |
The pattern across all four is the same: the value is in how the fees match your actual spending, and the risk is in how much of the company you can see before you sign up. If you specifically want a physical card, Bitrefill is the most concrete option; if you specifically want the lowest USD-payment friction, Onboard is hard to beat on the Flex card; if you need a business card, UPay publishes that option; if you want unlimited virtual cards, Kemy sells that, at a price.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Onboard to a professional who lives outside the closed-country list, who is comfortable holding USDT or USDC, and whose spending is mostly in USD or in currencies where the 1.5% plus $0.30 fee is acceptable. The product gets out of the way for that user: free card, free USD payments, Apple Pay and Google Pay on day one, Move between Cash Balance and card without an extra fee, and a published daily limit of $5,000 and monthly limit of $20,000 that you can ask support to raise.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, who needs ATM access, who lives in or holds citizenship in one of the closed countries, who is looking for cashback, or who wants a clearly named bank on the back of the product. The gaps in published information, around the issuing bank, around the conversion spread, and around the dispute and chargeback procedure, are real and they matter when something goes wrong.
If you are on the fence, the most useful test is small: load $1 in USDT on Tron, spend it through Apple Pay at a US merchant, and see whether the experience, the fees, and the support reply time all match what you need. That is a small test of a system that, in the right circumstances, will save you a meaningful percentage on every foreign-currency transaction you make.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Onboard card?
The Onboard card is a virtual Visa card you create inside the Onboard app after you have passed identity verification. It is funded from a USD balance or from stablecoins like USDT or USDC, and it is meant for spending globally rather than for holding funds long-term.
How does the Onboard card work?
You sign up, verify your identity, fund the account with stablecoins or a supported local bank transfer, create a virtual Flex card, and spend. The card settles in USD, and any payment not denominated in USD goes through a conversion that carries a $0.30 flat fee plus 1.5% on the Flex card.
Is Onboard a bank?
No. Onboard describes itself as a technology platform, not a bank. The regulated services are run through licensed partners: Gopay Financial Services (FINTRAC-registered in Canada) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN-registered in the US). The card-issuing bank is not named on the public pages.
Who owns Onboard?
Onboard is a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited, which is incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The operating partners are Gopay Financial Services Inc. (Canada) and Onboard Digital (US).
Is the Onboard card available in my country?
It depends. Verification is closed in a long list that includes the United States, Russia, China, Iran, Ukraine, Belarus, Serbia, and many others. In Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, and Vietnam, only the Classic card is offered. The pages do not list every supported country by name, so the cleanest check is to start the sign-up flow and see which country appears in the drop-down.
How do I get the Onboard card?
Download the Onboard app, complete identity verification with a phone number, an address, a photo of an accepted ID, and a live selfie, then create a virtual Flex card from inside the app. The help article “How do I verify my identity (KYC) on Onboard?” has the step-by-step.
Does the Onboard card require KYC?
Yes. Verification is triggered by any money action: funding, withdrawing, trading, or creating a card. Without it you cannot reach the card stage.
How do I top up the Onboard card?
Send USDT or USDC on a network you choose (Tron and Ethereum are named in the help center), or use a bank transfer in Nigerian naira, Indonesian rupiah, or Kenyan shilling. Funding takes about 5 minutes on a healthy network, costs 1.25% on Flex, and has a $1 minimum and a $5,000 maximum per transaction.
Where can I use the Onboard card?
Anywhere Visa is accepted online, and in physical stores through Apple Pay or Google Pay. Money transfer services, crypto platforms, securities brokers, dating services, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies are blocked automatically.
Is the Onboard card safe?
The user-side security is conventional: passkeys, six-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, and a freeze switch inside the app. What is not published is what happens to custody funds in a platform failure, what insurance covers balances, or which bank actually issues the card. Those gaps, plus a thin Trustpilot record of 2.6 out of 5 from 4 reviews, mean the safety case rests on the platform’s continued operation rather than on a published segregation or insurance regime.
Virtual cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
