The cheapest Gate card tier has no monthly fee, but the issuer is unnamed and the country list is missing

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Gate’s card is the kind of thing people find after they have already made an account on the exchange. That is roughly who it is built for: someone holding USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on Gate who wants to spend it at an ordinary shop rather than sit on a stablecoin. If that is you, the Standard card costs less to hold than almost anything else in this category — no issuance fee for the virtual or the physical card, no monthly fee, no inactivity fee. Conversion is 0.90% and non-USD currency exchange is 1.00%.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Gate works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If that is not you — if you want a bank you can name, a country list you can read before you apply, or a card that has not had its cashback paused mid-year — then this is the wrong card, and I will point you at better options further down.

My score for the card is 6.8 out of 10. Not a low number for something this cheap, and not a high number for something this undocumented. The cost side genuinely scores well. Almost everything else scores badly because the public pages are thin, not because the card is bad.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Score sheet

Here is the whole picture in one table, criterion by criterion, with my reasoning in plain words.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Available only in “non-restricted countries or regions” — and that list is never named. Unofficial trackers say the Classic card covers 24 European countries; US, UK, Germany, France and Canada appear as unavailable.
Cost 8 / 10 Standard card: virtual and physical issuance both free, monthly fee free, inactivity fee free. Crypto conversion 0.90%, non-USD FX 1.00%, ATM 2%, replacement 25 USD.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Instant Spend Mode takes USDT, BTC, ETH and GT. Prepaid mode offers more, but which assets you get varies by card, issuer and region, and the networks are not disclosed.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The issuer is not officially named. Trustpilot for Gate sits at 1.5 out of 5 (the exchange overall), and card-specific reports mention a cashback pause and delayed replacements.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Instant virtual card, physical card, 2% ATM withdrawals, and a help article on adding the card to Google Pay and Apple Pay exists. Unofficial sources say the Classic tier is Google Pay only.
Total 6.8 / 10 Cheap to hold, well-featured to use, and unusually vague about who is eligible and who issues it.

The split is clear. Cost and everyday use carry this card. Reliability drags it down. Nobody should read 6.8 as “avoid” — plenty of people will have a good time with it. Read it as “good product, incomplete documentation”.

Who will they actually give the card to

The official line is that “Gate Card is only available to users in non-restricted countries or regions”. That is the entire eligibility statement on the card page. The list of restricted countries or regions is not published there, and neither is the rule on whether the test is citizenship or residence. Both of those are not stated by the card’s public pages, and I have looked for them.

What is published elsewhere is unofficial. A third-party directory (CryptoCardHub, dated 11 Aug 2026) lists the Classic card as available in 24 countries: Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden — with the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada shown as missing. The same source’s own verdict contradicts itself elsewhere: another directory listing adds Austria and Spain and drops Italy and Lithuania.

So the honest position is: the countries you can be reasonably confident about are a European block of 24, and you should confirm your own country in the app before you send documents. If you are in one of the five countries listed as missing, this is not your card and no amount of effort changes that.

One thing worth understanding about why country rules are written this way on cards like this. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number, and any shop can look it up to see which institution and country issued the card. A merchant may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address — which is exactly why a card issued in one country can look foreign in another. Gate’s own card page does not say what country the BIN sits in, so you cannot check that yourself.

How to get the card

The route is short and the requirements are firm.

  1. Open a Gate account. You need a linked email address and a phone number.
  2. Complete Level 2 identity verification. The rule as written is that “users must complete Level 2 identity verification and provide the required identification documents”. Some card types also require proof of address from the past three months. The minimum age is not stated.
  3. Apply inside the app for a virtual or a physical card. In the app you enter your ID, facial information and address. The card application must use the same ID you used for your Gate KYC — a mismatch here is the kind of thing that quietly fails review.
  4. Wait for review. A virtual card is typically reviewed within 3–5 minutes.

For the physical card, the official help pages say it “usually takes around 7 to 45 days” depending on your country of residence. If it has not arrived after 45 days, there is a “Resend” option after you confirm your address with support. An unofficial tracker estimates 15–45 days where it is supported at all; I would plan around the official upper bound.

Two cards exist: the “Instant Virtual Card” and the physical one. The card “primarily supports the Visa or Mastercard network” — which one you get is not stated. The card currency is not stated either, though prepaid mode converts funds into the corresponding fiat currency. Whether any tier is metal is not stated.

If your application is rejected, the card’s public pages give no reasons. That is worth weighing before you start: you find out by being told no, not by being told why.

What it really costs, day to day: Fees and limits

The card page for the general product does not list issuance or monthly fees at all — those are not stated — and it only says conversion runs “according to the card rules and applicable exchange rates”. The concrete numbers exist on the Standard card’s fee pages, which is where the following table comes from. Other variants differ, and I flag that at the end.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gate payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Standard card
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance Free
Monthly fee Free
Inactivity fee Free
Crypto conversion 0.90% (2 USD or more); 0.05 USD below 2 USD
Foreign exchange, non-USD 1.00%
ATM withdrawal 2%
Replacement card 25 USD
Chargeback 30 USD
Spending limit, all tiers T0–T4 50,000 USD daily; 990,000 USD monthly
ATM limits 5,000 USD per transaction; 5,000 daily (up to 10 withdrawals); 15,000 monthly (100); 50,000 yearly (1,000)

Higher spending limits are available on request via [email protected]. The spending limit is identical across tiers T0 to T4, so a bigger tier does not by itself let you spend more per day.

Now the part people actually care about: what three ordinary payments cost you. Take a Saturday.

A 30 USD supermarket shop, in dollars. The crypto conversion is 0.90%, so 0.27 USD. Nothing else applies — no monthly fee, no FX line because you paid in USD. Total: about 0.27 USD.

A 45 EUR dinner in Paris. Conversion 0.90% is 0.405 EUR, plus the 1.00% non-USD foreign exchange fee is 0.45 EUR. Total: about 0.86 EUR, call it 0.9 EUR on a 45 EUR meal. This is the case where the FX fee bites, and it is the one to watch.

80 USD in cash from an ATM. The 2% ATM fee is 1.60 USD, on top of whatever exchange-rate difference applies when the machine is not giving you the card currency. No daily limit will bite you; the 5,000 USD per-transaction ceiling is far away. Total: about 1.60 USD plus the rate.

Those are the three that decide whether this card is cheap for you. If most of your spending is domestic and in USD, it is among the cheapest cards in the category. If most of your spending is abroad, the 1.00% FX fee stacks on top of the network rate, which is where the comparison against other cards starts to matter.

A caveat I cannot leave out: variants differ. Unofficial figures for the prepaid variant include a 0.9% top-up charge, a 10 USDT first-load minimum, a 2% refund charge, a 1 USD reversal fee, a 35 USD chargeback fee, a 0.10 USD Apple Pay authorisation charge, and a 2 USDT virtual-card fee below VIP 5 unless waived. None of that is confirmed by Gate’s pages. If you are not on the Standard card, treat those numbers as unverified.

Top up options and where your coins live

There are two modes and they are genuinely different.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gate starts with a transfer to the right network

Instant Spend Mode takes USDT, BTC, ETH and GT. That is the short list, and it covers most people’s actual holdings.

Prepaid mode supports a wider range of assets, but availability varies by card, issuer and region — so the wider list is not a promise you get all of it. Which networks you can send on is not stated. That is the single most important gap on this page, and I will explain why in a moment.

Top-up fee: not listed. Minimum top-up: not stated. Standard card conversion on the way in is 0.90% for amounts of 2 USD or more, and 0.05 USD below 2 USD. Prepaid Mode converts funds from Gate Pay or Spot into fiat.

There is also a “Card Balance Withdrawal” headline on the card page pointing to an announcement I did not read, and the card balance is linked to your Gate Pay payment account. Whether the balance can be closed out or withdrawn cleanly is not stated.

Why the undisclosed network matters so much. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can simply be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Two more traps in the same area: on Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it at all; on Tron, fees work differently, often burning TRX; and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a live option. Get the network right before you send, because there is no undo button and no chargeback.

One more thing about stablecoins, since they are what most people will hold here. They aim to hold a stable value, but they are not stable by nature: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. They are also not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. I am telling you this so your expectations are right, not to alarm you.

Paying with it every day

Virtual card. Yours in 3–5 minutes after approval, which makes it genuinely useful for online-only spending.

Apple Pay and Google Pay. The Help Center has an article titled “Add Your Gate Card to Google Pay & Apple Pay” — the article exists, I did not read its body. Whether each tier supports each wallet is not stated officially. Unofficially, the Classic card’s FAQ is reported as Google Pay only, while the Standard and Signature help pages are reported as supporting both. So if a phone-only life is the point, check your own tier in the app rather than trusting the headline.

How it works technically, if you have never done it: Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. Your issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, on phone, or on websites.

Where it works and where it does not. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. What is true of the whole category: gambling (MCC 7995) is blocked by many issuers as policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals exactly that. Address verification — the check that compares the street number and postcode you type against issuer records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7.

None of that is a Gate problem specifically. It is what happens when a card is issued through an arrangement whose issuer you cannot name.

Cashback. Up to 8% on eligible purchases depending on your card tier. The FAQ says rewards are issued as points, redeemable for USDT or GT; a banner says cashback in BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC. The page contradicts itself, and caps and conditions are not stated. Unofficial tier detail for Classic, by monthly spend: T0 at 0 USDT earns 1% capped at 5 USDT; T1 at 500 earns 1% capped at 50; T2 at 3,000 earns 2% capped at 100; T3 at 6,000 earns 3% capped at 150; T4 at 10,000 earns 5% capped at 250; T5 at 15,000 earns 8% capped at 400. 100 points = 1 USDT and points do not expire — all unofficial, per the same 11 Aug 2026 directory.

One warning from the other direction: cashback on this card was paused from 19 June 2024. Not hypothetical.

Disputes. Contact the merchant first, then start a chargeback through Gate with proof of your communication with them. A 25 USD processing fee “typically applies” regardless of outcome — though the Standard card’s fee table says 30 USD, so treat the real number as the table, not the FAQ. It can take up to 3 months. There is no separate refund timeline; pre-authorisation holds are released once the service ends. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies — do not assume it applies to you.

The app. You apply for and manage the card through Gate Pay and the Gate app. An unofficial App Store rating for the whole exchange app (US) is 4.3 out of 5 from about 5,200 ratings. That is the exchange app, not the card.

What can go wrong

The issuer is not named. This is my single biggest reservation. Gate describes the product as “a digital assets credit card offered by Gate”, and the card page refers to “the issuing institution’s review” without naming anyone. Licences are not named on the card page either. Unofficially, the EEA issuer is reported as Stanhope Financial UAB, a Bank of Lithuania-registered e-money institution (LB002039), and the US issuer as Lead Bank with Bridge as programme manager. That is third-party reporting, not a Gate statement.

Why it matters more here than for an ordinary product: a card needs someone on the other end of the complaints, someone authorised to move your balance, and someone a regulator can act on. The brand you are dealing with is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. They did it before: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. A programme closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Card controls have sharp edges. A lost or stolen card can be frozen — but only “temporarily”. Cards are often frozen after several wrong PIN entries. A PIN can be changed in the Gate Card app. And a negative card balance “will risk having your card getting permanently blocked”, which is a strange way to describe going into debt on a spending card. Custody arrangements, two-factor authentication and insurance are not stated.

User reports. Trustpilot for gate.com sits at roughly 3.5 out of 5 from about 121 reviews — mostly about non-card services, with one card-data complaint resolved by support. Trustpilot for gate.io, the exchange, sits around 1.5 out of 5 from roughly 1,000 to 1,400 reviews, with 77% one-star, covering account restrictions without explanation, deposits and trading suspended. That is the exchange, undated, not the card. Card-specific reports from 2024 mention the cashback pause, a card retained by an ATM with a delayed replacement, card funds inaccessible for six days, merchant refund delays, and five-to-six-week waits for a chargeback response. Card-specific complaints or Reddit threads: none found.

Company track record, unofficial. A 9 Mar 2023 EU Visa debit card launch; a 4 Mar 2026 relaunch with T0–T4 levels; a 22 Jun 2026 proof-of-reserves report at 8.182 billion USD and 115% coverage; a 2 Jul 2026 T0–T5 points model with an 8% top rate; a Jul 2026 Gate US prepaid Visa through Lead Bank. Official news pages: not stated. A proof-of-reserves figure covers assets on the exchange, which is a different question from whether a specific card tier is regulated.

Support. [email protected] and a Help Center. Hours and languages not stated.

One thing you cannot judge from here: your money’s location. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely, and a seed phrase is an unencrypted form of the private key — anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. This is not Gate’s fault; it is how custodial exchanges work. The record of custodians failing is long: Mt. Gox, roughly 350 million USD reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about 400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, 625 million in 2022. If you hold funds on the exchange itself, that is the risk you are accepting, and no card fee schedule changes it.

What to take instead

I looked at the three comparisons that matter, and the honest summary is that Gate’s card is cheap on paper and vague on paper. These are better documented, not necessarily better in every respect.

Gate Bybit Card Coinbase Card OKX
My score 6.8 / 10 6.0 / 10 6.4 / 10 6.2 / 10
Where “Non-restricted countries or regions”, list not named Named regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific. Not for EEA customers US states except Hawaii only EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded
Card cost Free virtual and physical, no monthly fee Virtual free; physical 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT Argentina, 29.99 USDT Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USDT Asia Pacific, none in Brazil and Mexico Zero spending fees, no annual fees No card fee (per explainer, May 2026)
Conversion 0.90% 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate; 0.5% Argentina No Coinbase transaction fee; a spread applies at conversion Spread 0.1% (explainer) vs 0.4% (launch release) — sources conflict
FX 1.00% non-USD 2% on top of network rate; 2% AIFC even in USD; 7% Argentina; 1.5% Brazil; 1% Peru Not stated here No OKX FX fee
Cashback Up to 8% by tier From 2026-10-05 only crypto-funded transactions earn; tiers 2% to 10%, caps 5 to 600 USD Optional crypto rewards, rate shown in app, US users USDG purchases only: 2% cap 10 EUR up to 10% cap 1,000 EUR by VIP

Where each one beats Gate:

If your problem is that you cannot get an ordinary bank card, note that Coinbase is US-only, Bybit is explicitly closed to EEA customers and names its supported countries, and OKX is EEA-based. Gate’s silence on which countries it will serve you is the problem to solve first — check in the app before sending any documents anywhere.

Who I would recommend it to

Yes, if: you already hold crypto on Gate, you mostly spend in dollars or in your own country, you want no monthly fee and no issuance fee, and you can live with reading the fee table yourself because the FAQ and the table disagree. The cashback, if it runs for you, is genuinely good at the upper tiers, and the free virtual card in 3–5 minutes is a real convenience.

No, if: you need to know the name of the institution that holds your balance; you are in one of the countries third-party sources list as unavailable; you spend mostly abroad and a 1% FX fee bothers you; you are relying on cashback as income, given the 2024 pause; or you cannot tolerate a card that blocks itself after a few wrong PIN entries.

Find out first, before you apply: which networks your assets can be sent on for a top-up, whether your tier supports the phone wallet you use, whether the chargeback fee is 25 or 30 USD, and whether your country appears in the app. Those four answers will tell you more than any figure on a fee table.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gate card?

The Gate card is a payment card linked to a Gate exchange account. It draws on crypto or a fiat balance rather than a bank account, and comes as an instant virtual card and a physical one. It “primarily supports the Visa or Mastercard network”. Gate describes it as a digital assets credit card and does not name the issuing institution on its card page.

How does the Gate card work?

You spend from whatever is loaded. In Instant Spend Mode the card uses USDT, BTC, ETH or GT directly, converting at 0.90% on the Standard card. In prepaid mode funds are converted from Gate Pay or Spot into fiat first, and the card then spends only that balance. Daily spending limit is 50,000 USD and monthly 990,000 USD across tiers T0–T4.

Is Gate a bank?

Not on the evidence of its public pages. Gate describes the card as one it offers, and refers to “the issuing institution’s review” without naming it. Third-party sources report an EEA issuer of Stanhope Financial UAB, a Bank of Lithuania e-money institution, and a US issuer of Lead Bank — but Gate itself does not confirm that, and an e-money institution is not a bank anyway.

Who owns Gate?

Gate is a cryptocurrency exchange platform, and the card is its product. Beyond that, ownership is not something I can confirm from the pages I read. Unofficial reporting names the issuers above; the card page names neither issuer nor licences.

In which countries can I use the Gate card?

The official statement is only that it is available in “non-restricted countries or regions”, and that list is not published. Unofficially, the Classic card is reported in 24 European countries, with the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada listed as unavailable. Check your country in the app before you apply.

How do I get the Gate card, and how long does it take?

You need a Gate account with a linked email and phone, completed Level 2 identity verification, and proof of address from the past three months for some card types. You then apply in the app using the same ID as your KYC. A virtual card is typically reviewed in 3–5 minutes; a physical card usually takes 7 to 45 days depending on your country.

Does the Gate card require KYC?

Yes — Level 2 identity verification is required, which is the more detailed tier. You enter your ID, facial information and address in the app. Because due-diligence rules require institutions to stop a relationship when they cannot complete checks, incomplete or mismatched documents are the most likely reason an application stalls.

What does it cost to use the Gate card day to day?

On the Standard card, crypto conversion is 0.90% (0.05 USD below 2 USD) and non-USD foreign exchange is 1.00%. There is no monthly fee, no inactivity fee and no issuance fee for either card. ATM withdrawals cost 2%, replacement is 25 USD, and a chargeback is listed at 30 USD.

Is it safe to use a Gate card?

Judge it in two parts. The card itself has real protections: you can freeze a lost card, change the PIN in the app, and 3-D Secure adds a check to online payments. The bigger question is where the money sits — funds on a custodial exchange depend entirely on that provider, and the category has a long record of custodian failures. I would not treat any crypto card as risk-free.

Is the Gate card worth it?

Worth it if you hold crypto on Gate and spend mostly in dollars or your own country: free to hold, cheap to convert, instant virtual card. Worth thinking twice about if you spend abroad often, if the 1.00% FX fee compounds, if you are counting on the cashback — it was paused from June 2024 — or if you need a named, identifiable issuer, which Gate’s public pages do not give you.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team