A Visa credit card that spends from a USD balance backed by your crypto, with no FX or annual fees
The Lava Card is a Visa credit card built for people who hold crypto but struggle to get an ordinary bank card. It spends from a USD balance that you fund with stablecoins or local currency, and you can back that balance with crypto held as collateral. If you are outside the United States, have no relationship with a US bank, and want a card that simply works at the till without the conversion spreads you see on most crypto cards, Lava is worth a serious look. If you live in the US, you are explicitly not the target customer, and the international terms make that clear from the first paragraph.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Lava scores 7.1 out of 10. It is a secured Visa credit card issued by Third National under licence from Visa, with no annual fee, no FX fee, and bitcoin rewards of up to 5%. The model is unusual: the card spends from a USD balance, and that balance can be backed by crypto held in a collateral wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, or Arbitrum. The cardholder is not a US customer, the issuer is regulated, and the no-fee positioning is unusually clean. The marks it loses come from opacity: the issuance fee is not disclosed, KYC documents and processing times are not stated, and the ATM policy in international terms differs from the US-facing page. For non-US holders who want a straightforward way to spend a stablecoin balance or borrow against bitcoin, Lava is one of the more interesting cards on the market right now.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Spend at 150+ million merchants in 150+ countries; card is built for non-US people, no country list published |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No annual fee, no FX fee, no spread; ATM 2% with $1 minimum; issuance fee not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Stablecoins or local currency; collateral wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum; specific coins not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Third National under Visa licence; no complaints found; Lava is not a bank and can liquidate collateral on a “Liquidation Event” |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa, virtual and physical cards mentioned, ATM at 2%; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 7.1 / 10 |
The audience Lava fits best is non-US holders who want bitcoin back on purchases. US residents are asked to attest that they are not US citizens, and a separate US terms document exists, so the card is structured around a non-US customer. The other audience is anyone who has bitcoin sitting in self-custody and wants to spend it without selling it outright: you can borrow USD against that bitcoin through BLOC, and the card spends the borrowed dollars. That is a different use case from a typical crypto debit card, and it explains why the rewards are denominated in bitcoin rather than the card’s own token.
Where Lava is weaker is the parts of the experience that ought to be public and aren’t. The issuance fee is not stated on the public pages, the KYC documents and processing time are not stated, and the collateral wallet supports four networks without naming which stablecoins count. The “up to 5%” headline is also qualified in a comparison article to 5% at partner merchants, 3% on other purchases for US cardholders, and 1% for non-US cardholders, which is a meaningful gap between marketing and reality.
Who Lava will give the card to
Lava’s international terms are unusually direct: you must attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and that you are not on a US sanctions list. The card is built for personal, family, or household use, and a separate US terms document exists for the small set of US-related use cases. The terms do not publish a country list, and the application does not appear to gate by residence, so the practical test is the citizenship attestation and the sanctions check at onboarding.
The card works at merchants in 150+ countries. The card is described as a Visa credit card, and it is “secured”, which means it spends from a USD balance rather than from a credit line, and the terms state that it “does not offer unsecured credit”. Both virtual and physical cards are mentioned in the terms, though the public pages do not explicitly call out a metal or premium tier. For an applicant, the headline rule is simple: if you are a non-US citizen who can complete standard KYC, you can apply. If you are a US citizen, the card is not designed for you.
The fact that there is no published country list cuts both ways. On one hand, it means you do not have to scan an exclusion list before you apply. On the other hand, it also means you cannot be sure your country is supported until you actually try, and the issuer can suspend or cancel the account at any time, which is broader discretion than a typical bank-issued card would carry.
How to sign up for the Lava Card
The signup flow is described in broad strokes rather than step-by-step. The terms require “true and complete information” and exclude anyone on a US sanctions list, but the specific KYC documents, the processing time, the issuance fee, and the difference between virtual and physical issuance are not stated on the public card pages. The card itself is branded “Lava Card”, the network is Visa, and it works at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries. Virtual and physical cards are both mentioned, and replacements are issued through the Lava account, but the delivery country, the delivery time, and the replacement fee are not listed.
In practice, this means an applicant signs up through the Lava app or web interface, completes the citizenship attestation and KYC, and either receives a virtual card immediately or waits for a physical card to arrive. The terms do not say how long either takes, and the page does not promise a specific timeframe, so the onboarding experience is something you have to actually go through to learn. The card can be managed from the Lava app on mobile and web, though the App Store and Google Play links are not on the site; third-party aggregators list an app called “Lava: Secure Bitcoin Loans” at 4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews, with data last updated in February 2026, which is unofficial and not confirmed by Lava.
For someone who is used to cards that publish a checklist of documents, a 24-hour KYC promise, and a flat issuance fee, the silence is uncomfortable. For someone who is comfortable with crypto-native onboarding flows, the level of disclosure is not unusual.
Fees and what a Lava Card really costs
The headline cost story is simple, and it is one of the card’s strongest points. There is no annual fee, no FX fee, no exchange fee, and no FX spread on Bitcoin buy or sell. International transactions carry a 0% FX fee, a 0% cross-border fee, and “zero spread” on the foreign currency. The card spends from a USD balance, so non-USD transactions are converted at a stated zero spread. Multi-currency balances are not stated, which means everything converts to USD before it spends.

The ATM policy is where the public information is inconsistent. The international terms state ATM usage at 2% with a $1 minimum, and a separate Lava page says ATM withdrawals are fee-free in all 50 US states. The free-allowance amount, the daily cash limit, and the monthly cash limit are not stated, so you cannot tell from the public pages what cash really costs in your situation. The most reliable reading is that the 2% with $1 minimum is the international policy, and the fee-free US line is a US-context note.
Spending limits are framed unusually: there is no fixed limit, the spending limit depends on the USD value of the available collateral or balance, and Lava can change or reduce that limit to $0 at any time. There is no minimum spend, so a small account is not penalised for being small.
| Fee or limit | What Lava says |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | None |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| FX fee | 0% |
| FX spread | 0% |
| Conversion fee | None stated on Bitcoin buy/sell |
| ATM fee | 2% with $1 minimum (international terms); fee-free in all 50 US states per a US-context page |
| Daily spending limit | No fixed limit; tied to USD value of collateral/balance; can be reduced to $0 at any time |
| Monthly limit | Not stated; tied to collateral |
| Minimum spend | None |
| Cash advances | Not available |
| Balance transfers | Not available |
The fees you actually feel depend on three everyday patterns. First, an international card payment in a shop abroad: no FX fee, no spread, no conversion fee on the card side, so the cost is whatever your local bank’s funding transfer charges. Second, an ATM withdrawal outside the US: 2% with a $1 minimum, so a 200-euro cash withdrawal costs about 4 euros plus the $1 floor. Third, a small US-domestic purchase: no fee, no minimum, no FX cost, so a 4-dollar coffee costs 4 dollars. The issuance fee, the missing piece, only matters when you first order the card, and the fact that it is not disclosed means you have to check at the application step.
Top up and funding options
The top-up story has two tracks: spending from a balance, and borrowing against bitcoin. The Global Money Movement section says deposits can be made in local currency or stablecoins, but the specific networks and coins are not named on the public page. The international terms name the collateral wallet networks: Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, and Arbitrum, and call them the “Supported Blockchain”.

For a normal top-up, you can deposit by stablecoin transfer (instant, 24/7), by bank transfer from a local bank account, by direct deposit, or by borrowing USD against bitcoin through BLOC under separate terms, with fixed rates of 6.50% to 8.50%. Lava says there are “no hidden fees” on these routes, but the deposit fee and the minimum top-up amount are not stated. The cost of a stablecoin deposit is whatever the underlying blockchain charges in gas, plus whatever your wallet or exchange charges to send, and Lava does not add a layer on top.
Cash advances and balance transfers are not available, and the card is secured by a USD balance or collateral rather than a credit line. The issuer may suspend or cancel the account at any time, and closure does not cancel any repayment obligations. The collateral can be liquidated on what Lava calls a “Liquidation Event”, which the terms tie to a payment being unpaid for one calendar day or to the collateral falling below the charges on the account. The mechanism for withdrawing the USD balance back to crypto or to a bank is not stated.
For someone used to fiat-only top-ups, the on-chain deposit is the part that needs attention. You have to send the right coin to the right address on one of the four supported networks, and a transfer to the wrong network or to a different network’s address is the kind of mistake that is hard to recover from. The international terms name the four networks, but the page that says “deposit by stablecoin transfer” does not, so you have to find the wallet details inside the app rather than on the marketing site.
Paying with the Lava Card every day
The card is a Visa, so it works at any merchant that takes Visa, online and offline, and the spend is from the USD balance. There is a virtual card and a physical card, and the cardholder agreement mentions replacements issued through the Lava account. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated on the public pages, and blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you cannot tell from the public information whether, say, gambling MCC 7995 will be declined, which is the category many issuers block by policy rather than by law.
The rewards are paid in bitcoin. The headline is “Earn up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase with the Lava Card”, and the qualifications matter. A comparison article on Lava’s own site says the 5% is at partner merchants, 3% is on other purchases for US cardholders, and 1% is on other purchases for non-US cardholders, so the “up to” is doing a lot of work. Rewards are issued once a transaction settles, the minimum redemption is 100,000 satoshis, and some merchants and categories are ineligible. The included Visa benefits are concrete: purchase protection up to $20,000, extended warranty up to $25,000, global auto rental insurance, travel accident insurance, and lost luggage insurance.
For disputes, you have 60 days after a charge posts to the statement to report it, and the terms ask you to try the merchant first. A chargeback that resolves in the cardholder’s favour is credited on a current or future statement. Card issues go to the issuer through the cardholder agreement channels, and Lava says it has 24/7 US-based client services reachable at [email protected] or (347) 588-9745, with a promise of being “directly connected to a real human”, plus 24/7 Visa customer service.
The day-to-day picture is that the card behaves like a regular Visa at the point of sale, with a balance-funded model behind it, and the bitcoin rewards arrive after settlement rather than instantly. The absence of Apple Pay and Google Pay support on the public pages is the most visible gap in the everyday story, and it is the gap that a reader who is used to paying with their phone will feel first.
What can go wrong with the Lava Card
The risks sit in three places: the issuer relationship, the collateral mechanic, and the gaps in public information.
On the issuer side, Lava is not a bank, and the issuer is Third National, a small institution at 2100 Southbridge Pkwy STE 650, Birmingham, AL 35209, operating under licence from Visa. The governing law is Puerto Rico, and arbitration is in New York. Third National is the regulated party, and Lava is the programme manager and the brand you interact with, which is the same structure most crypto card programmes use, but it does mean the regulatory backstop is a small regional bank rather than a household name. Lava says it does not rehypothecate customer funds (“We don’t trade, lend out, or otherwise use your funds”) and that the infrastructure “minimizes trust and eliminates single points of failure”, and it offers passkeys, account controls, and an in-app daily spending limit. Insurance on the balance is not stated, so you should not assume the balance is FDIC-insured or covered by an equivalent scheme.
On the collateral side, the terms allow liquidation on a “Liquidation Event”, tied to a payment being unpaid for one calendar day or to the collateral falling below the charges on the account. That is a tight trigger, and a one-day late payment is enough to put the collateral at risk. The issuer can also suspend or cancel the account at any time, and that discretion is broader than what a typical bank-issued card carries. If you are using the card to spend borrowed USD against bitcoin, the interest rate of 6.50% to 8.50% is fixed, but the liquidation mechanic means a sharp drop in the value of the collateral can put the position at risk before the next interest payment is due.
On the information side, the gaps are visible: the issuance fee is not stated, KYC documents and processing time are not stated, the supported stablecoins on each network are not stated, the multi-currency balance support is not stated, Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated, the ATM cash limit is not stated, and no insurance on the balance is stated. None of these is a red flag on its own, but the cumulative effect is that the card is meaningfully less documented than a typical bank-issued product, and that is part of the risk.
The trustpilot page, the Reddit threads, and the card-specific complaints searches turned up nothing, which is worth saying out loud. The news coverage I could find is limited: the launch of the Lava Card as a Visa credit card covered by Bitcoin Magazine, and the addition of Starlink and Discord as partner merchants in an undated announcement. The thin complaint record is partly a function of Lava being a smaller programme and partly a function of the early stage, so it is reassuring rather than conclusive.
What to take instead of the Lava Card
The alternatives below are drawn from the same category, and the trade-offs differ in the directions you would expect.
| Card | Score | Who it suits | Trade-off vs Lava |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini Credit Card | 4.9 / 10 | US residents who want a Mastercard World Elite with crypto rewards paid instantly | Not a prepaid card, so the credit model is different; rewards are paid in any of 50+ cryptos, not just bitcoin |
| Trastra | 4.1 / 10 | EEA residents who want a Visa prepaid euro card topped up from crypto | Available in 31 listed countries and “will be available for all residents of the EEA”, but non-European residents are not supported at the moment; costs and fees not stated |
| RedotPay | 6.9 / 10 | People who want explicit virtual and physical Visa debit in USD or HKD, with stated issuance fees | Two official lists of unsupported countries, including the US, and a paid Pro tier at $12.90 monthly or $129 annually; rewards are a 5 USD welcome credit rather than ongoing cashback |
Gemini Credit Card is a Mastercard World Elite credit card paid off in fiat, with crypto rewards paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ cryptos on Gemini. Gas, EV, and transit earn 4% on the first $300 per month, dining 3%, groceries 2%, and other spend 1%. There is a referral bonus of $50 in crypto per signup, with a $250 cap per 5 referrals and a 50-referral annual cap. For a US-based reader, the Gemini card is the obvious comparison; for a non-US reader, the residency and credit model make it harder to use.
Trastra is a Visa prepaid debit card accepted worldwide, topped up from crypto in a Mover wallet. The page lists 31 supported countries, including Germany, France, and the UK, and says the card “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”, but non-European residents are told “Not at the moment.” Costs and fees are not stated, and rewards are not stated on the page, so the trade-off is residency and transparency rather than price.
RedotPay offers explicit virtual and physical Visa debit cards in USD or HKD, with a clear fee table. Virtual card application is $10, physical is $100, virtual replacement is $5 the first time and $10 after that, account maintenance is waived, and there is a paid Pro tier at $12.90 monthly or $129 annually. The transaction fee is 1% (the crypto conversion fee), the non-default-currency fee is 1.20%, and small-authorisation and declined-transaction fees apply after a small free allowance. Two official lists word the residency rule differently: a KYC list of unsupported countries where identity verification is refused, and a card-issuance list of 47 places where residents cannot get a card. The US, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and Serbia appear on both; India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore, and Turkey are on the card-issuance list; and Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, and the UAE are on neither. For a reader who wants clearer fee disclosure than Lava provides, RedotPay is the more transparent option, at the cost of a clear issuance fee and a US exclusion.
Who I would recommend the Lava Card to
Lava is the right card if you are a non-US holder who wants to spend a stablecoin balance or borrow USD against bitcoin, you are comfortable with on-chain deposits to one of four supported networks, and you do not need Apple Pay or Google Pay. The no-FX-fee, no-spread positioning is genuinely clean, the rewards are paid in bitcoin, and the included Visa benefits (purchase protection, extended warranty, rental insurance, travel accident, lost luggage) are a useful layer. The card is also one of the few that lets you spend against a USD balance backed by crypto collateral, which is a different model from a typical crypto debit card.
Lava is the wrong card if you are a US citizen, if you want a card whose fees and limits are fully disclosed on the marketing page, if you rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay for in-store payments, or if you want a card with no collateral risk on a one-day late payment. For US-based readers, the Gemini Credit Card is the more natural fit. For EEA readers who want a euro prepaid card, Trastra is the closer match. For readers who want explicit issuance fees and a clear fee table, RedotPay is the more transparent option.
The honest summary is that Lava is a thoughtful product with a clean cost story and an unusual collateral mechanic, wrapped in a level of public disclosure that is light for a regulated card. The 7.1 score reflects that mix: high marks for the cost model and the issuer structure, lower marks for the gaps in disclosure and the narrow payment method support. If your situation matches the use case, it is worth the application. If it doesn’t, the alternatives above will fit you better.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Lava Card?
The Lava Card is a Visa credit card issued by Third National under licence from Visa, and managed by Lava. It spends from a USD balance that you can fund with stablecoins or local currency, and you can back that balance with crypto held as collateral. The card is built for non-US residents and works at merchants in 150+ countries.
How does the Lava Card work?
You fund a USD balance on Lava, and the card spends that balance at any Visa merchant. The balance can be backed by crypto held in a collateral wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, or Arbitrum, and you can also borrow USD against bitcoin through BLOC at fixed rates of 6.50% to 8.50%. There is no FX fee, no spread, and no annual fee.
Is Lava a bank?
No. Lava says it is not a bank, and the card is issued by Third National, a US-regulated institution at 2100 Southbridge Pkwy STE 650, Birmingham, AL 35209, under licence from Visa. The governing law is Puerto Rico and arbitration is in New York, so the regulated party is the issuer, not Lava itself.
Who owns Lava?
Lava is the brand on the card, and the issuer is Third National. The legal entity behind Lava and the ownership structure are not named on the homepage, and the issuer relationship is the part that is publicly disclosed. The card programme sits with Third National, and Lava acts as programme manager and front-end.
Is the Lava Card available in my country?
The international terms do not publish a country list, and the test is the citizenship attestation and the sanctions check rather than a residence check. You must attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and that you are not on a US sanctions list. If you are a non-US citizen who can complete KYC, the card is open to you.
Does the Lava Card require KYC?
Yes. The terms require “true and complete information” and a sanctions-list check, but the specific KYC documents, the processing time, and the tier structure are not stated on the public pages. The application screens inside the app are the practical source of the actual document list.
How do I top up the Lava Card?
You can top up by stablecoin transfer (instant, 24/7), by bank transfer from a local bank account, by direct deposit, or by borrowing USD against bitcoin through BLOC under separate terms. The collateral wallet supports Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, and Arbitrum, and Lava says there are “no hidden fees”, though the deposit fee and minimum top-up amount are not stated.
Is the Lava Card free?
There is no annual fee, no FX fee, no exchange fee, and no FX spread. The issuance fee is not stated on the public pages, so the one-time cost of ordering the card is the part you have to check at the application step. ATM withdrawals are 2% with a $1 minimum in the international terms, with a separate fee-free note for US-domestic withdrawals.
Can I add the Lava Card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The public pages do not state Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and the cardholder agreement does not mention either wallet. The most reliable read is that the support is not currently documented, so the card is used as a virtual or physical Visa rather than a tokenised mobile wallet.
Is the Lava Card worth it?
For a non-US holder who wants a clean way to spend a stablecoin balance or borrow against bitcoin, the cost story and the Visa benefits are strong enough to justify trying it. For a US citizen, for someone who needs Apple Pay, or for someone who wants a fully disclosed fee schedule on the marketing page, the gaps in disclosure and the unsupported wallets make it harder to recommend. The 7.1 score reflects that mix, and the alternatives above give a clearer fit for US, EEA, and transparency-first readers.
Credit and cashback cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
