A USDC-funded Visa with no FX markup, sold on self-custody — and short on published detail
The Avici card is a Visa you load with crypto rather than with a salary. You deposit USDC into a smart contract, that deposit becomes a dollar balance, and you spend the balance like a prepaid card — in shops, online, or by tapping a phone. There is no conversion percentage, no transaction fee, and the pages describe the funding contract as self-custodial: your wallet owns it, and the provider can only draw from it against actual spending.

That sounds like a good fit if you are paid in or hold stablecoins and ordinary banking is awkward where you live. It is a poor fit if you want a full bank account, a credit line, or a long public record of fees and rules, because the Avici site does not publish several of the things you would need to check first. I went through the card’s own pages and documentation, weighed them against what reviewers and users have reported, and compared the result with three alternatives. My score is 6.1 out of 10 — good at the one thing it does, thin on everything it has not told you.
Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.1 out of 10, built for one narrow job
Avici does what it does quite well. Everyday use is the strongest part of the picture: virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access at $1 plus 0.65% on Platinum and $0 on Signature. On the scorecard below, that is a 9. The card is also generous to people who live where a normal bank card is hard to get — 49 listed regions include Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, South Africa, the United Arab Emirates and the USA, while 17 countries are closed outright.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | 49 listed regions, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Japan, UAE and USA; 17 countries closed |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Virtual Platinum $15 for the first card, physical Platinum $50, Signature $30 in year one and $20 a year after; $0 transaction fee, 0% FX markup |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | USDC via a Loan Escrow smart contract officially; no other coin confirmed by the card — unofficial sources mention any token through an auto-swap on EVM L2 or Solana |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Avici Inc. in San Francisco with partner Third National and licences not disclosed; Trustpilot 3.5 from 5 on 5 reviews, one about a blocked EUR 20,000 payment |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM Platinum $1 + 0.65%, Signature $0 |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 | A card that works well day to day and says very little about the edges |
The audience this fits is narrow and worth naming: residents of Latin America and the UAE who already hold USDC. If you have a dollar balance sitting in a self-custody wallet and ordinary banking that gives you a card is slow, blocked or expensive, the economics here are genuinely good — you pay nothing to hold, nothing per transaction and nothing on the currency conversion itself.
Where I would stop short: if you need a credit line, a salary, savings, or dispute handling you can rely on in a bad month. If you are in the EU, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan, it is simply not for you — none of those are on the list of eligible regions. And if you plan to load anything other than USDC, understand that the card itself confirms only USDC.
Will they give you the card?
Two separate lists govern this, and confusing them is the most common mistake I can imagine.
Where you live must be on the list of supported regions — 49 entries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, South Africa and the USA, each of which is subject to its own list of supported states in some cases. Notably absent from that list: no EU countries, and no Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan.
Where you are from is treated separately. Residence is prohibited for nationals or residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. This is a separate matter from the region list, and it applies even if you live somewhere eligible.
Where you spend is narrower again. Spending is prohibited in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.
One more thing the card’s public pages simply do not state: whether citizenship as opposed to residence is checked independently. The docs name restrictions by residence, and treat identity documents through the verification provider, but the citizenship rule is not written down in the pages I read. If your citizenship is on the prohibited list while your address is not, the honest answer is that you will find out at verification rather than at the sign-up form. That is exactly the kind of thing you would want answered before you upload documents.
How to get it
The sign-up path is short and automated. After you register with an email address, verification runs through Sumsub: you submit personal details, identity documents and a liveness check. The card’s marketing says you are “about 2 minutes” or “no more than a few minutes” from that to a usable card, and its marketing line is that the card is ready in 2 minutes via the app. Treat that as the best case. Document types and the specific reasons a check can be rejected are not listed on the pages I read, so the realistic outcome for an unusual document, an expired one or a name that does not match is unknown.
What is clear:
- Verification is single-pass through Sumsub, with your data shared with the card’s partners, and Sumsub runs ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring of users and of on-chain funds.
- Business accounts go through a separate verification.
- The card is Visa, described in secured credit-card wording, offered as virtual cards by category — subscriptions, groceries, travel — plus a physical card that gets delivered.
- The card currency is not stated anywhere I could find.
The one refund path the card does describe: if you pay for the card and then do not complete or pass verification, contact in-app support for a refund. That is the only consumer remedy stated, and it is worth remembering because it tells you a purchase can precede approval.
Delivery of the physical card is slow by default and expensive if you want it faster:
| Shipping option | Cost | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Standard, untracked | free | 3–4 weeks |
| Priority, tracked, international | $50 | 1–2 weeks |
| Priority, tracked, US | $15 | not stated |
Countries shipped to are not stated, and neither is the replacement cost for a lost or damaged card. If you travel often or lose cards often, that gap matters.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here is the honest state of the pricing. The card advertises “No Hidden Fee”, “No Gas Fee, No Interchange Fee” — and then, on the pages I read, publishes no conversion or FX percentages and no ATM fee in that marketing section. The actual numbers live on the tier and fee tables below, which is where I would look before you commit.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual Platinum, first card | $15 |
| Virtual Platinum, each later card | $10 one-time |
| Physical Platinum | $50 one-time |
| Virtual Signature | $30 first year, then $20/year |
| Physical Signature | $75 plus $20/year from year two |
| Transaction fee | $0 |
| Forex markup | 0% |
| Visa cross-border fee on non-USD | 0.4–1% may apply |
| Top-up fee | $0 |
| Withdrawal to wallet | $0 |
| ATM, Platinum | $1 + 0.65% |
| ATM, Signature | $0 |
| Declined transaction, Platinum | $0.60 |
| Balance inquiry, Platinum | $0.60 |
| Declined transaction, Signature | $0 |
| Balance inquiry, Signature | $0 |
| Per transaction limit | $1,000 |
| Daily limit | $3,000 |
| Transactions per day | 3 |
| Minimum top-up | none stated |
The card claims “No transaction limits”, which is confusing next to hard numbers on the same site — and the resolution is probably that those are default per-card limits you can change in settings. The table above is what I would plan around.
Now the part most reviews skip: what a payment actually costs you, fee by fee.
- Paying in dollars in the United States. Transaction fee $0, no FX involved, so the cost is genuinely zero. This is the case the card is built for.
- Paying in euros or any other currency. Avici’s own markup is 0%, but Visa may add a cross-border fee of 0.4–1% on non-USD transactions. So “0% FX” is not the same as free — there may be a network-level charge underneath it, and that percentage range is wide enough to matter.
- Paying online in a subscription you forgot about. The three-daily-transaction ceiling is the real constraint. Three payments a day, no more, unless you change the setting. A day with a coffee, a train ticket and a supermarket is exactly three.
- Taking money out at an ATM. Platinum costs $1 plus 0.65% of the amount. Signature charges nothing, which is the single clearest reason to choose the more expensive tier if you use cash at all.
- A payment that bounces. Platinum charges $0.60 for a declined transaction or a balance inquiry. That is small, but it is charged to you for a bank’s or shop’s decision.
Two more limits on that table deserve a word. The per-transaction cap of $1,000 and the daily cap of $3,000 mean this card cannot buy a used car, a flight or a month’s rent in one go. And the three-transactions-per-day rule is unusually tight — I would set it deliberately the day I sign up, not discover it in a queue at a checkout.
One unofficial reading conflicts with the card here: kkinvesting.io, on 20 October 2026, lists an ATM limit of $250 a day with a maximum of 3 transactions, which contradicts the $1,000 per transaction and $3,000 per day the card publishes. The card’s own figures are the ones I would rely on, but it does not explain the difference, and if ATM use is central to how you would use this card, that gap is worth raising with support before you depend on it.
Top up options
Avici’s funding model is the most interesting thing about it, and it is also the part with the least hand-holding. Officially, you deposit crypto and the card is topped up from it. The coins and networks are not listed in that description. What the documentation does say is that funding works by depositing USDC into a Loan Escrow smart contract, and that this creates the dollar credit balance you spend. Spent USDC is liquidated from the contract every 1–2 days, sometimes weekly.

So the sequence is: USDC in, a dollar balance appears, spending drains it, and the contract is settled periodically rather than per purchase. That settlement cadence is worth noting. If you need to reconcile quickly or move a lot at once, waiting a week for the contract to liquidate is not instant.
No top-up fee and no fee for withdrawing to your wallet, and no minimum top-up is stated. Fiat top-up options are simply not stated — there is no bank transfer route described, no card-to-card funding, nothing about paying by card from your own bank. On the official account, USDC is the whole story.
On self-custody. This is the claim that makes Avici different from most of this category, and it is stated plainly in the docs: your wallet owns the contract, you can withdraw the remaining funds after spends are deducted, and the provider can only withdraw funds tied to spend charges. The card’s security page goes further and says that neither Third National, Avici nor Visa controls the loan contract. If that holds as described, the counterparty risk that sank so many custodial card programmes is structurally reduced — though you now carry the risk of key loss, and transfers on-chain remain irreversible.
Unofficial additions. Two things circulate from third-party sources that the card does not confirm. One is a minimum top-up of $1 arriving in 2–7 minutes (kkinvesting.io, 20 October 2026). The other is that top-ups can be in USDC or any token, via a Relay auto-swap on EVM L2 networks or Solana. I am not treating either as settled fact. If you plan to load something other than USDC, that is the single most important thing to confirm with the card directly — a token sent on an unsupported network, or to an address of the wrong network, can be lost, and blockchain transfers have no built-in recovery.
Paying with it every day
This is the section where the score is highest, and the reason is unglamorous: it just works in the places you actually spend.
- In stores. A physical Visa, or a virtual one for online use. Virtual cards are offered by category — subscriptions, groceries, travel — which is a small convenience if you like a separate card for things that drain money.
- On your phone. Apple Pay and Google Pay tap-to-pay both work. The docs describe self-custody with passkeys and account abstraction; the homepage links to a “Download App” through a short link, though platforms and store ratings are not stated.
- At an ATM. Platinum $1 plus 0.65%; Signature $0. Both subject to the same $1,000-per-transaction, $3,000-per-day and three-per-day limits described earlier.
- Blocked categories. Not stated on the card’s own pages. Unofficial sources (kkinvesting.io, 20 October 2026) say spending is blocked in restricted categories including gambling, illegal drugs, and financial institutions — the last needing additional approval. Take that as a warning rather than a specification.
Rewards. The card lists perks: airline miles, rental car insurance, travel and restaurant perks, trip protection, and mentions an “Avenue to TradeFI rewards”. No cashback rate is stated anywhere. So I would not model any return into your budget — if a rewards rate matters to you, this is a card that does not publish one.
When something goes wrong with a payment. The card’s documentation is close to silent. It states only the verification-refund path described earlier; the chargeback and disputed-payment process is not stated, and the security page does not cover it. That is a real gap. In this category a chargeback is the mechanism that settles a dispute — a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — and prepaid-card coverage varies by scheme and should not be assumed. If a recurring subscription of several hundred dollars matters to you, an undocumented dispute route is a legitimate reason to prefer another card.
What can go wrong
I want to be straight about the weak spots rather than smooth them over.
The licence picture is not published. Avici Inc. is at 300 4th St, San Francisco, CA 94107. The docs name “Third National” as a party to the loan contract structure — not controlling it — but the issuer and BIN sponsor and their licences are not stated. One unofficial source (kkinvesting.io, 20 October 2026) names Rain as the issuing partner, with KYC data shared with it. That is not something the card confirms. In the EU, cards are issued by e-money institutions and payment-service providers under licences, and MiCA covers the crypto side separately — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. When neither is described on the site, you are being asked to trust rather than to check.
The documentation dates are old. The prohibitions page was last updated 19 August 2025; the Terms of Service for the Avici Card on 23 June 2025; the Business Program Terms on 16 October 2025. The docs index also lists Business Cards, Credit Line, Markets and Grow products, and an “Infinite” card is listed as “Coming soon”. That is a young product with a small published footprint — which also means the terms you agree to today may not be the terms that were written most recently.
Complaints are thin but not empty. There are no official incident reports. What exists is one user account: a 31 March 2026 review describing a business-account user whose EUR 20,000 incoming payment was credited and then blocked, whose account was restricted, and where support went silent and no refund came; and a January 2026 review about repeated login errors at email and authenticator verification. That is an unverified, tiny sample, and I would not build a decision on two reviews. But one blocked EUR 20,000 payment is exactly the failure mode that matters, and Trustpilot sits at 3.5 out of 5 on 5 reviews.
Support is undocumented. The docs name no support channel except in-app support for verification refunds. Languages and hours are not stated. For a card whose realistic appeal path runs through an app, that is a thin margin.
Practical limits you will hit. Three transactions a day, $1,000 a transaction, $3,000 a day. Contract liquidation every 1–2 days and sometimes weekly. USDC only, officially. Deposits on the wrong network or to the wrong address are unrecoverable.
What the card does protect. Self-custodial escrow, so your funds are not simply sitting in someone’s balance sheet. Freeze the card temporarily, cancel permanently, per-card spending limits, a PIN, and show/hide card details. Two-factor authentication and passkeys are mentioned in part — the homepage references passkeys — but the security page does not state 2FA, passkeys or insurance. Note also that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, in some cases up to seven.
What to take instead
I compared Avici with three cards from the same category. All three scored higher or equal: MetaMask 7.1, KAST 6.1, Zeal 6.1.
| Card | Score | Card network | Headline cost | Who it suits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avici | 6.1 / 10 | Visa, virtual and physical | $15 first virtual card, $0 transaction fee, 0% FX markup | Latin America and UAE residents who already hold USDC |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard, virtual then Metal at $199/year | Virtual free, “minimal fee for each transaction” (amount not stated) | People who want cashback and a wallet they already use |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Visa, virtual and physical, up to 10 cards | Standard 0 USD/year, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year | People in Europe and Asia who want published cashback rates |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Visa, virtual, spend in 150+ countries | Not published | People who want multi-currency balances and up to 4% back in GNO |
MetaMask opens sign-ups in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them — with other regions on a waitlist; proof of residency is required, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. You get a Mastercard virtual card instantly and can pre-order Metal in the app afterwards; one card per user; issuer Monovate. Spending comes straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named. Cashback is 1% on Virtual, and 3% on Metal up to the first $10,000 spent then 1%, paid in mUSD, plus $FLY bonuses of 5X or 7X through the Blackbird dining app. The trade-off: Metal costs $199 a year, and the per-transaction fee is described only as “minimal” with the amount on a linked table.
KAST publishes more than Avici does, which is the main thing I noticed. It shows a residence-based list at KYC and warns that living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still leave you ineligible — no VPN bypass, only your own ID accepted. Standard is 0 USD a year, Premium $1,000, Private $10,000, all billed annually upfront, with an extra virtual card at $2, Standard physical delivery $40 and a $1/month inactivity fee after 12 months. Fees are itemised: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, a 0.5%–1.75% FX fee on non-USD depending on where you live and which programme, $0.10 on non-USD transactions under $25, and $0.50 for a declined transaction on insufficient balance. Cashback is 1.5% on the first $2,000 a month (Standard), 2% on $10,000 (Premium), 3% on $40,000 (Private). You can hold up to 10 cards, on USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD. One warning: its terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts with the PYUSD and RLUSD listed in the app — the same kind of internal inconsistency Avici has about its top-up coin.
Zeal lets you spend in 150+ countries, with the card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand. You get a Visa virtual card, addable to Apple Pay, with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP. It charges no additional FX fee and converts at Visa’s wholesale rate, though Gnosis Pay fees such as ATM may still apply. Cashback is up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, and you must hold GNO in the card Safe to qualify; the app store also advertises up to 5% variable APY on EUR and USD balances. What it does not publish is any fee schedule at all — no cost figures appear on zeal.app or the app store listing.
The pattern across all four is the same, and it is the thing to hold on to: in this category the card you pick is largely the card whose rules are written down. Avici is the cheapest and simplest of the four on paper, and also the least documented on its limits, licence and dispute handling.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Avici to someone specific: you live in one of the 49 listed regions, your situation there makes a conventional bank card slow, blocked or expensive, you already hold USDC in a wallet you control, and you spend most of your money in dollars or through Apple Pay. You will get a card that costs nothing to hold, nothing per transaction and nothing on Avici’s own currency conversion, with your crypto sitting in a contract your wallet owns rather than on someone’s balance sheet.
I would tell someone else to look elsewhere first. If you are in the EU, Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan, or your citizenship is on the prohibited list, stop — the card will not be issued to you. If you need to load a token other than USDC officially, wait until that is confirmed rather than relying on a third-party summary. If you need a card that can buy things costing more than $1,000, or that you will put through more than three payments a day without adjusting the settings first, adjust or choose otherwise. And if you are spending on the credit of a card rather than from a balance you hold, this is the wrong shape of product entirely: Avici spends a pre-loaded balance, so there is no line to extend and no borrowing to repay.
Two final warnings, both of which I would rather you hear from me than find out later. If a large payment to you goes wrong — the EUR 20,000 report is the example — you are relying on an in-app support channel with no published hours, in a product with no stated chargeback process. And if you are treating crypto as an investment, each card payment funded from crypto is generally a taxable disposal measured at that day’s value; that is a question for a tax professional in your country, not one this review can answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Avici card?
Avici is a Visa payment card you load with crypto instead of a bank transfer. You deposit USDC into a Loan Escrow smart contract, that deposit becomes a dollar balance, and you spend from that balance like a prepaid card. There are two tiers, Platinum and Signature, each available as a virtual or a physical card. A third tier, “Infinite”, is listed as coming soon.
How does the Avici card work day to day?
You fund the card, then use it like any Visa — in shops, online, at an ATM, or tapping with Apple Pay or Google Pay. Spent USDC is liquidated from the contract every one to two days, sometimes weekly, rather than at each purchase. The card sits at $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 a day and three transactions a day, and the card says these defaults are adjustable in settings.
Is Avici a bank?
No — it is a card programme, not a bank account. The company is Avici Inc. at 300 4th St, San Francisco, CA 94107, and its documentation names “Third National” as a party to the loan contract structure without detailing its role. Neither Avici’s own pages nor the docs state the issuer, the BIN sponsor or the licences, so you cannot verify from public material which regulated institution stands behind the card.
Who can get the Avici card?
Residents of 49 listed regions, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Singapore, Thailand, the UAE, South Africa and the USA. No EU countries, and no Georgia, Serbia, Armenia or Kazakhstan. Residence is prohibited in 17 countries including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam.
Is the Avici card free?
Not quite. A virtual Platinum costs $15 for your first card and $10 for each later one; physical Platinum is $50 one-time. Virtual Signature is $30 in year one and $20 a year after, while physical Signature is $75 plus $20 a year from year two. There is no annual maintenance fee and the transaction fee is $0 — the money is in the card price and in ATM charges.
What are Avici’s fees in practice?
Transaction fees are $0, the forex markup is 0%, there is no top-up fee and no wallet withdrawal fee. But Visa may add a cross-border fee of 0.4–1% on non-USD transactions, so spending abroad is rarely free. On Platinum, an ATM withdrawal costs $1 plus 0.65%, and a declined transaction or balance inquiry costs $0.60 — all three of which are $0 on Signature.
What can I load onto the Avici card?
Officially, USDC — deposited into a Loan Escrow smart contract that creates your dollar balance. The card’s own pages do not list other coins or networks, and fiat top-up options are not stated either. Unofficial sources (kkinvesting.io, 20 October 2026) describe a $1 minimum arriving in 2–7 minutes and an auto-swap for other tokens via Relay on EVM L2 or Solana, but the card does not confirm either.
Does Avici require KYC, and what is my money’s custody?
Yes. A single Sumsub verification after email sign-up covers personal details, ID documents and a liveness check, with data shared with the card’s partners and ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring of users and on-chain funds. The escrow contract is described as self-custodial: your wallet owns it and you can withdraw the remainder, though lost keys and wrong-network deposits are entirely your problem.
Is the Avici card safe?
The design is more reassuring than most: funds sit in a contract your wallet owns, and the docs say neither Avici, Third National nor Visa controls it. The card also offers freeze, permanent cancel, per-card limits and a PIN. Against that, licences are undisclosed, documentation dates back to 2025, a user reported a blocked EUR 20,000 payment with no response from support, and the chargeback process is not stated at all.
Is an Avici card worth it?
For someone in a listed region who already holds USDC, spends mostly in dollars or through a phone, and cannot get an ordinary bank card easily: yes, the economics are hard to argue with at $0 transaction fees and 0% markup. For anyone who needs a credit line, larger single payments, more than three purchases a day by default, published dispute handling or confirmed licences, one of the alternatives publishes its terms better and is the safer choice.
Wallet cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
