Kolo Card: Flexible Crypto Funding, Shaky Reliability

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you’ve struggled to get an ordinary bank card — because of your country, your documents, or a banking history the system doesn’t like — the Kolo card is worth a close look. It turns crypto into a Visa card you can pay with in shops and online, without needing a traditional bank account in the way. The appeal is obvious: fund it with any cryptocurrency you hold, across many networks, and spend it as if it were cash.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Kolo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But after reading the terms, the fee schedules, and the user complaints, my honest verdict is a middling 6.4 out of 10. The card is genuinely good at one thing — accepting crypto from many networks and turning it into spendable balance. Where it falls short is everything around that: the operator has changed three times in a year, the physical card has no shipping date, ATM access is uncertain, and user reviews are full of blocked withdrawals and closed accounts. If your priority is simply “spend crypto anywhere Visa is accepted,” Kolo does that well. If you need a card you can rely on for rent, subscriptions, and weekly shopping, the uncertainty around it gives me pause.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score at a glance

Here’s how I broke down the card across the criteria that actually matter to someone choosing a crypto card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Kolo starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Service in 170+ countries, card works in 60+; only embargoed and sanctioned countries are excluded
Cost 7 / 10 Officially: 1% exchange plus network fees; unofficially: virtual issuance free, $0/month, conversion 1% on payments, ATM $1 + 0.65%
Top-up options 9 / 10 Any crypto, BTC/ETH/LTC/USDT/USDC and more, seven networks on the site logos, in-app swap
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator changed three times in a year, issuer unnamed, complaints about blocked withdrawals and closed accounts (Trustpilot 3.7)
Everyday use 5 / 10 Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; unofficially virtual-only, plastic announced without dates, no ATM on virtual

Total: 6.4 / 10.

The shape of that table tells the story. The card’s strongest suit — how you fund it — is genuinely excellent, which is why it scores 9. Its weakest suit — whether it works reliably without surprises — is its weakest, at 4. Most of my hesitation about recommending it comes from that gap.

Who will they give you the card?

Kolo says its service runs in over 170 countries and that the card works in more than 60, with a country list on Kolo’s website. The official terms set clear limits on who is excluded: anyone in, controlled from, or a national or resident of Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, or any other country under US, UN, EU, or HM Treasury sanctions, plus listed sanctioned persons. That rule covers both your nationality and where you live, not just your address — so a resident of a sanctioned country holding a passport from elsewhere would still be caught.

An older third-party restriction on US users has been removed and no longer appears in the terms text I read. Russia did not appear in the country-list excerpt I saw, but that’s an excerpt, not the whole list, so if you’re in Russia you should check the current list yourself.

The short version: the geographic gate is broad and the exclusions are the ones you’d expect for a regulated product. This is a card built for people who can’t easily open a normal bank card, not one that avoids sanctioned jurisdictions.

How do you get it?

Getting started is straightforward. Kolo runs full identity verification through Sumsub — the flow takes about a minute — plus two-factor authentication. For higher limits you may be asked for extra documents. The card’s terms don’t state what proof of address or age checks are required, and that’s worth noting if you’re in a hurry.

A few practical points from the terms and third-party sources:

So the honest picture: the signup is quick and low-friction, but the physical card is still vapourware with no firm date, and the exact network and currency you’re signing up for are only confirmed by third parties, not the terms.

What it really costs: Fees

This is where a lot of crypto cards get vague, so I want to be precise about what Kolo actually publishes versus what only reviewers report. The official terms and site give a base fee of 1% on exchange orders — that is, buying, selling, or swapping digital assets — plus network and bank costs, shown to you before you confirm. The site adds that there are “0% mark-ups on USDT, USDC, EURC” and that crypto top-ups are converted “for no extra fee.”

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Kolo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Card payment fees and FX are murkier. The site and terms don’t fully reconcile them, and neither states a card issuance fee, monthly fee, or minimum balance. Here’s what I could piece together, with the unofficial figures clearly marked:

Fee or limit Amount Source
Exchange (buy/sell/swap) 1% of the order + network/bank costs Official
Mark-up on USDT, USDC, EURC 0% Official (site)
Virtual card issuance Free Unofficial
Monthly fee $0 Unofficial
Activation balance $10 / EUR 10, stays on balance Unofficial
Card conversion fee 1% on all card payments Unofficial
USD card, non-USD spend Visa rate + 1% Unofficial
USD purchase at non-US merchant Extra 1% issuer fee Unofficial
EUR card, non-EUR purchase Visa rate + 0.55% / 0.65% / 1.35% by currency Unofficial
ATM withdrawal $1 + 0.65%, $500 limit, 3 per 24h Unofficial
ATM balance inquiry / declined attempt $0.60 Unofficial

Two everyday payments show why the unofficial numbers matter. First, paying for something in a shop with a stablecoin balance: the site promises no extra conversion fee on stablecoins, but the unofficial reports describe a flat 1% conversion charge on all card payments, including stablecoin-funded ones. Second, spending abroad: if your card is denominated in one currency and you pay in another, the Visa rate applies plus a markup. One reviewer measured all-in FX at about 1.40% versus the mid-market rate. The discrepancy between the “0% mark-up” marketing and the reported conversion charge is exactly the kind of thing to test yourself with a small payment before committing.

A few things the card genuinely does not state anywhere I could find: the FX spread, multi-currency balances, ATM fees officially, blocked merchant categories, and any tier or metal-card pricing. There’s only a single cashback programme, no card tiers.

How to top it up

Topping up is Kolo’s strongest feature, and the reason it scores 9. The site says “any crypto” works. BTC, ETH, LTC, USDT and USDC are named explicitly, you can swap inside the app, and seven networks appear as logos on the site — among them BNB Chain, Ethereum, Sui, Tron, Base and Solana, with one unlabelled. The site says crypto, including BTC, ETH, LTC and USDT, is converted during payment “for no extra fee,” and reiterates the 0% mark-up on USDT, USDC and EURC. There’s also cashback: 2% in BTC for your first 30 days then 1%, capped at $2 then $1 per purchase, and $100 per month.

A few things to know. There’s an unofficial minimum activation balance of $10 / EUR 10 (not confirmed by the card) that stays on the card balance. No official top-up fee is published, and on-chain gas may apply. If you’re withdrawing rather than topping up, crypto can be sent to Revolut, Wise, N26, or any SEPA bank account, with no fees or limits given. On the security side, the terms state that from 1 July 2026 the wallet is non-custodial using MPC key shares — you hold one share required for every transaction, Kolo holds another and may decline to co-sign for legal or risk reasons, and the recovery process is preserved. Kolo says it doesn’t charge storage fees.

One practical warning worth internalising: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending on a network Kolo doesn’t support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can mean lost funds or a manual support recovery with no guarantee. Check the network before you send anything.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day, the card behaves like a prepaid Visa. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the card runs through them, so it’s the normal tap-to-pay experience. The app is available on iOS, Android, and as a Telegram Mini App, with the download at get.kolo.xyz. The site says payments are converted to local currency at the point of sale.

Some cautions for regular use:

There’s a broader point about why a crypto card can occasionally get declined at a shop. Merchants can look at the card’s issuer country and, if it differs from your billing address, apply extra scrutiny — this is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for the same reason. It’s not a Kolo problem specifically, but it’s the kind of friction that comes with this category.

What can go wrong

This is the section where Kolo scores worst, and it deserves the most weight in your decision.

The operator has changed three times in a year. Since 1 July 2026, all services are provided by Hardline Holding Limited, Kazakhstan, company number 221240900259. Before that it was BURVIX SP. Z O.O. (January–June 2026), and earlier still Cryppo UAB (to 2025). Around the same 1 July 2026 date, the service moved to the non-custodial MPC wallet model. Card services are in collaboration with Signify Holdings Inc (the Rain cards). The actual card issuer/BIN sponsor and its licences aren’t named. The site claims MiCA compliance and 10 million users, but that’s self-reported; specific licences and any fines aren’t stated.

User complaints are real and specific. On Trustpilot, one reading showed 3.7/5 from 54 reviews (16 in the last 12 months), with 79% five-star and 17% one-star, and Kolo not replying to negative reviews. Recurring themes: withdrawals blocked or not completed with support silent (across late 2025 and 2026), accounts or wallets closed without explanation (including one report from Zimbabwe), verification problems lasting weeks or repeated, and a card that wouldn’t add to a phone wallet. On the positive side, some reviewers praise fast Telegram support. Some reviewers allege fake positive reviews, though that’s unverified. Another reading of the same source gave 3.9/5 from 52 reviews, with the same themes plus duplicate or disputed charges and held refunds. The exact numbers move a little between reads, but the pattern is consistent.

The specific risks to watch:

None of this means the card is a scam, and the non-custodial shift and the 1% cashback are genuine positives. But a history of three operator changes and unresolved withdrawals is exactly the kind of track record that should give you pause before you depend on it for anything critical.

What to take instead

If Kolo’s uncertainty bothers you, a few alternatives score better on my criteria. Here they are side by side.

Card Score Network Key fees Notable strengths Notable caveats
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard Virtual free; Metal $199/yr; minimal per-transaction fee, no FX fee Sign-up in 45 countries, virtual card instant, spend directly from wallet; cashback 1% (Virtual) / up to 3% (Metal) Waitlist in other regions; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed; one card per user
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa (Standard, Infinite metal, Infinite gold) Standard $0/yr, Premium $1,000/yr, Private $10,000/yr; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% Stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, Apple/Google Pay 0%; cashback 1.5%–3% by tier Membership costs money above Standard; residence-gated; only USDT/USDC per terms
Zeal 6.1 / 10 Visa No additional FX fee (Visa wholesale rate); Gnosis Pay fees may apply Spend in 150+ countries; up to 4% cashback in GNO; EUR/USD/GBP balances Availability depends on region; physical card and fee schedule not stated

A few notes on how these compare. MetaMask is the strongest of the three: free virtual card, no FX fee, and the widest country sign-up list, though it’s gated to 45 countries and the US/UK are temporarily closed. KAST is generous on transaction fees but its paid tiers are steep and its terms are residence-gated. Zeal is free of added FX markup and widely spendable, but publishes less about fees and availability.

Whichever you pick, remember the category-level point: crypto cards are generally prepaid-style, funded from a stored balance, so the card can’t overdraw but you’re always spending from what’s loaded.

Who I would recommend it to

I’d point Kolo at a specific person: someone who already holds crypto across several networks — BTC, ETH, USDT on Tron or Solana or Base — and wants a simple Visa to spend it, mostly in Apple Pay or Google Pay, mainly online and in everyday shops, without a traditional bank card. For that person, Kolo’s flexibility of funding and the in-app swap are a real advantage, and the non-custodial wallet is a genuine improvement over custodial competitors.

I’d steer away from recommending it to someone who needs a plastic card for reliable cash access, who depends on the card for critical bills, or who is uneasy about a provider that changed operator three times in a year and has unresolved withdrawal complaints. If ATM withdrawals or a guaranteed monthly statement matter to you, this isn’t the card.

My honest summary: strong on funding, middling on cost, and shaky on reliability. If reliability is your top concern and you have the option, one of the alternatives above is the safer bet. If flexible crypto funding is your top concern, Kolo is a reasonable choice — just fund it thoughtfully, keep your own backups of anything important, and read the terms on cashback and disputes before you lean on them.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Kolo card?

The Kolo card is a Visa payment card, likely virtual, that you fund with cryptocurrency instead of a traditional bank balance. You load crypto like BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, and the app converts it into a spendable balance for use with Apple Pay, Google Pay, or online where Visa is accepted.

How does the Kolo card work day-to-day?

You top up with crypto, and the card draws on that stored balance like a prepaid card. At the point of sale, your payment is converted to local currency. You can pay in shops or online wherever Visa, Apple Pay, or Google Pay are accepted. The card cannot overdraw your balance.

Is Kolo a bank?

No, Kolo is a crypto card service, not a bank. It is run by Hardline Holding Limited in Kazakhstan, with card services provided in collaboration with Signify Holdings Inc. The actual card issuer and its banking licences aren’t named, so do not treat it as a bank account or expect any deposit-guarantee protection.

Who can get the Kolo card?

The service covers 170+ countries and the card works in 60+, with exclusions for anyone in, from, or resident in sanctioned countries like Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan or Syria, plus listed sanctioned persons. You need to pass full identity verification (Sumsub) and two-factor authentication to use the service securely.

Does Kolo require KYC?

Yes. Kolo runs full identity verification through Sumsub along with two-factor authentication. Your limits depend on the verification steps you’ve completed, and Kolo may require enhanced due diligence or extra records, especially if fraud is suspected. It can also refuse or later lower your limits, and tier details aren’t published.

Is the Kolo card safe and worth it?

It’s worth it if you want to spend crypto flexibly. Kolo moved to a non-custodial wallet in July 2026, which reduces custodian risk but leaves you responsible for key safety. Trustpilot reviews around 3.7/5 show complaints of blocked withdrawals and account closures. Treat it as a spending tool, not a bank.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team