A prepaid crypto card for EU residents, priced fairly but narrow on limits
Bitrefill is best understood as two businesses wearing one name. There is a long-running gift-card and mobile-top-up shop with a large catalogue and thousands of customer reviews, and there is a newer crypto card that lets you spend a balance loaded from digital currencies. The card is the part people ask about here, and the two have separate reputations: the card is issued by an Estonian bank and operated by a Swedish company, while the loud complaints on review sites almost all concern gift cards — markup on Apple gift cards, codes that do not work in the buyer’s region, refunds that stall. If you came to read about card declines and ATM fees, you will find very little of that. If you came because an ordinary bank card is hard to get in your situation, the card itself looks solid, with one serious catch: it is only available to residents of a specific list of European countries.

My score for the card is 6.8 out of 10. That is a good card inside a narrow box. The conditions below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10, and the box is the limitation
The single most useful thing I can tell you is that this is not a global card. If you live outside Europe, or inside Europe but outside the list of eligible countries, none of the rest of this review applies to you — there is no application to try, no tier to reach. Residents of these countries can apply; citizens of the United States and Russia are excluded no matter where they live. If you are in that group, my score is the score of a card you cannot get, and you should read the alternatives section instead.
Inside the box, the picture is better. The card is a Visa, virtual and physical, in euros, with no foreign exchange fee of its own and no monthly charge according to the card’s own pages. The issuer is Wallester AS, an Estonian institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS. That is not a shell operation; it is a regulated Estonian issuer, which is the main thing that separates this from the crypto-card category’s worse history. The 2% cashback is real and uncapped as advertised, split between deposits and purchases.
The weak points are the ones you hit on ordinary days. The Starter tier caps crypto deposits at EUR 15,000 for life, which is the kind of number that sounds generous until you notice the word “lifetime” next to it. Spending is capped at EUR 10,000 a day and EUR 10,000 a month on Starter, rising to EUR 15,000 a month on Plus, and contactless at EUR 200 per transaction. There is an inactivity fee after 12 months of no spending or cash-out. And the cashback page does not say in what currency it is paid, which for a euro card is an odd omission.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Residents of 29 EU countries plus Norway and Iceland, 18+; US and Russian citizens excluded regardless of residence |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card free through the app, 1.99% fixed deposit fee, 0% FX; unofficially a simple EUR 10 per month after 12 months and 2.49% at ATMs |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA; USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025, minimum EUR 15 |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, Finantsinspektsioon licence), operator Airfill Prepaid AB; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, complaints mostly about the gift-card shop |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay available, Apple Pay “coming soon”, ATMs on Visa cards |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | Good card, narrow eligibility, and a lifetime deposit cap on the default tier |
Who it suits: EU residents who already hold crypto and, ideally, spend it or receive it in euros — the Lightning support is the quiet differentiator here, because Bitcoin over Lightning settles for fractions of a cent and almost nobody else in this category offers it. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the eligible countries, anyone who needs to move large sums regularly, anyone who needs a card that works reliably at a foreign online merchant, and anyone whose wallet holds USDT and little else, since USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025.
Will they give you the card?
Resident of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway or Iceland, aged 18 or over, with identity verification completed? Then in principle yes.
Everything else is narrower than you would expect. Citizens of the United States and of Russia are excluded regardless of where they live — with one carve-out: a Russian citizen who also holds EU or EEA citizenship is eligible. There is also no Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number accepted at signup. And the terms do something that a lot of card terms do: they say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”. The full country list is not stated in those terms as I read them; the list above comes from the card’s own materials.
One more thing worth knowing, because it will save you a wasted attempt. There is a separate help-centre blocklist used for verification and deposits, and it includes the United States, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE. So if you live in an eligible European country but hold a passport from one of those five, you may pass the country test and still be stopped at the document check. The list I read was truncated, so treat it as indicative rather than exhaustive.
The practical reading: the gate is not simply “where do you live” but “where do you live plus which citizenship do you hold plus whether your identity document looks ordinary to an Estonian issuer”. Nobody tells you in advance which of those three will fail.
How to get it
You apply inside the Bitrefill app, which is on the App Store and Google Play. The sequence matters more than it looks:
- Sign up and complete the identity check — the check is run by the card partner, and it has to pass before you can order a card at all.
- Order a virtual or a physical Visa. You can take both; the card page lists them as a virtual and physical Visa card pair.
- Activate the physical card when it arrives. The virtual card is usable on receipt, with no waiting for plastic.
The identity check on the Starter tier is a photo ID plus a selfie liveness check, and possibly proof of address depending on what the partner asks for. Documents required and the proof-of-address rules are not stated on the card page. If you are activating outside the EU, the card partner wants proof of address. Plus tier adds proof of address and proof of source of funds, where the source-of-funds documents are set by Lightspark.
Tiers and what they unlock:
| Starter | Plus | |
|---|---|---|
| How you get it | Default on sign-up | Invitation after you reach the Starter deposit limit |
| Identity | Photo ID, selfie liveness, possibly proof of address | Adds proof of address and proof of source of funds |
| Crypto deposits | Up to EUR 15,000 lifetime | No deposit limit |
| Spending | EUR 10,000 per month, EUR 10,000 per day | EUR 15,000 per month, EUR 10,000 per day |
| Contactless | EUR 200 per transaction | EUR 200 per transaction |
You have 30 days to move up after being invited. The terms are blunt about the alternative: otherwise “your card will be suspended”.
Delivery of the physical card goes to the address you give, and ordering is free. How long it takes is not stated. A second card can be ordered from the Cards page, and you must order a new card when yours expires. What a replacement costs is not stated.
Fees: what it really costs
The card is free through the app — that is the card’s own wording, and no issuance or monthly amount is published there. No foreign exchange fee: when you pay in another currency, the Visa rate applies. So the everyday cost of this card is concentrated in one place: getting money onto it.

- Deposit: 1.99% fixed Bitrefill fee, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate.
- SEPA pay-in: 1.99%.
- Conversion spread: the card page refers to a deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion, but the percentage is not stated.
- ATM: available at ATMs that accept Visa. The fee and any free allowance are not stated on the card’s own pages.
- Inactivity: a fee applies after 12 months with no spending or cash-out. The amount is not stated.
- On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Bitrefill.
The unofficially reported numbers, which I did not find confirmed by the card: EUR 10 per month inactivity fee, EUR 10 to replace a physical card, physical delivery EUR 0 where offered, and 2.49% per ATM withdrawal on both tiers plus the ATM operator’s own charge, with limits of EUR 350 per day and EUR 3,000 per month. Those come from a third-party site (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) which itself flags that the official pricing page rendered those cells incorrectly, and a separate third-party report says the ATM line was dropped from the pricing page in mid-2026. Treat the ATM figure as a good indication and not as a promise.
| Fee or limit | What it says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free through the app; amount not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated; unofficially EUR 10 per month after 12 months without spending or cash-out |
| Deposit fee | 1.99% fixed, plus variable exchange cost at the partner’s live rate |
| SEPA pay-in | 1.99% |
| Crypto conversion spread | Not stated |
| FX fee | None of its own; Visa rate applies to foreign-currency payments |
| ATM | At ATMs accepting Visa; fee and free allowance not stated; unofficially 2.49% plus operator charge |
| Card currency | EUR; cashback paid in EUR |
| Minimum deposit | EUR 15; smaller deposits are not added |
| Spending limit | EUR 10,000 per day; EUR 10,000 (Starter) or 15,000 (Plus) per month |
| Contactless limit | EUR 200 per transaction |
Three everyday payments, so you can see which of these actually touches you:
Coffee, EUR 4. You load EUR 100 of USDC and the 1.99% plus the variable exchange cost comes off at deposit. The coffee itself costs nothing extra. What you do lose is the cashback on that purchase — 1% of EUR 4, credited back to the card in euros.
A meal out for EUR 60 in a country where you don’t live. No foreign exchange fee is added by the card, but Visa’s rate applies, and a foreign-issued card can simply be refused. This is the case where prepaid card reputation bites, and no fee table will protect you.
EUR 40 out of a cash machine. Here the unofficially reported 2.49% plus the operator’s charge is the only line that matters, and it sits under the EUR 350 daily ATM limit. Above that you are into monthly limits and, on Starter, monthly spending caps that include cash.
Top up: how the money gets in
The card page has a “Buy with” list that reads like a funding menu: Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, BASE, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, MasterCard, and SEPA per the terms. Do not read it as a funding list. The card pages list what the shop sells, and USDT deposits on any network ended on 17 March 2025 — so the presence of USDT there is historical, not an option. Likewise Apple Pay and Google Pay appear there as purchase payment methods rather than as documented ways to fund the card.

What genuinely funds the card, on the facts: Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon, and SEPA bank transfer. That is a wide range of major networks, plus Lightning, which is the feature that separates Bitrefill from most of this category. Bitcoin over Lightning is near-instant and near-free, and it is a real practical advantage if you receive bitcoin that way.
The rules around a top-up:
- Fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee plus the variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate.
- Minimum deposit EUR 15; smaller deposits are simply not added to the balance.
- SEPA pay-in 1.99%.
- Lightning supported.
- USDT deposits on any network ended 17 March 2025.
- Store credit cannot be moved onto the card — worth knowing if you already hold a balance in the Bitrefill shop.
Getting money back out is free to a bank account, or you can take cash at ATMs. The card page lists no limits on withdrawals. The card is deactivated if inactivity fees take the balance down to EUR 0. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account voluntarily, and how closure works, is not stated. Unofficially, cash-out is free via SEPA within limits (not available for Swedish residents) or at ATMs.
One caution that belongs in this section rather than the safety one: blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, the funds can be gone or may need manual recovery with no guarantee. Wrong-network deposits are one of the recurring complaint themes about Bitrefill’s shop. Check the network and token before you confirm, every time.
Paying with it every day
It is a Visa, so it works wherever Visa works, in person and online, virtual or physical. Contactless is capped at EUR 200 per transaction, which covers a supermarket or a taxi and stops short of a big-ticket tap.
Mobile wallets are where the split sits. Google Pay works. Apple Pay is listed as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”, which is as close to a promise as you will get from anyone in this category — treat it as unavailable until your own phone says otherwise. That matters most for iPhone users, because the usual workaround of adding the card number manually to a wallet is exactly the thing Apple Pay integration would have saved you.
The app is on the App Store and Google Play. Unofficially, the store ratings were Apple 4.7 out of 5.0 from 372 ratings and Google Play 4.5 out of 5.0 from 2,468 ratings as of August 2026 — I did not read the stores myself.
Cashback is 2% in total with, the page says, no cap: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The currency of the payout is not stated on the card page, though the terms say the rate is published on the website. Since the card is in euros, treat euro as the likely currency and check before you rely on it.
Merchants that refuse the card, and any blocked merchant categories, are not stated — and that is the honest answer rather than a reassurance. A prepaid or foreign-issued Visa can be declined at an online merchant for reasons that have nothing to do with you; the BIN tells the merchant which institution and country issued the card, and a mismatch with your billing address can trigger extra scrutiny. Address verification services, which compare the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types against issuer records, are mainly available in the US, Canada and the UK and are generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of declines. Gambling merchants carry a merchant category code that many issuers block on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so if you plan to use the card anywhere sensitive to that, ask support first rather than discovering it at the till.
If a payment goes wrong, the help article’s advice is to contact the merchant first, because most refunds are handled that way. Note two stingers: rewards may be debited if a transaction is refunded or charged back, and Bitrefill says it is not liable for merchant refusals. No time frames are stated.
What can go wrong
The honest list, in rough order of how likely it is to affect you.
Eligibility, first and foremost. If your country is not on the list, or your citizenship is excluded, nothing else matters. That is the 5 out of 10 on “who can get it”, and it is the reason my overall score is not higher.
The lifetime deposit cap. EUR 15,000 of crypto deposits, total, on Starter. There is no monthly or annual reset. If you are someone who moves real money, this is the constraint that will actually frustrate you, and the only route past it is Plus, which arrives by invitation after you hit the cap.
EU rules tightening on incoming crypto. From July 2026 the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation means deposits from a wallet that is not yours, or from a VASP not licensed in the EU, above EUR 1,000 are declined. Strong customer authentication rules also changed how deposits work. If you have been sending from an exchange account or a third-party wallet, some deposits that used to clear may now be refused. This is a legal change, not a Bitrefill decision, and it applies across the category.
Custody. The funds are custodial: partners Lightspark and Wallester hold them. You are trusting regulated companies, not holding keys yourself. That is the trade you make for a card that spends in euros. The wider category has a poor record here — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) are the names that make the argument for self-custody. On this card specifically, what you get in return is a freeze button and balance hiding in the app with one tap, 3-D Secure on online payments, and a support address ([email protected]) for lost, stolen or unauthorised transactions. Whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated.
Refunds and chargebacks are weak here. Most disputes go to the merchant, not to the card. If you are used to a credit card’s chargeback protection, this is a downgrade, and the cashback clawback on refunded transactions makes it a double downgrade.
Holds. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. Worth knowing before you conclude money has vanished.
Programme risk. The card depends on an issuer, a licence and a network partner, and that can end. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes were closed. FTX’s US debit card was wound down after Visa said on 13 November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left — one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026, which is a single unconfirmed source and I mention it only to show the shape of the risk.
Gift-card drag on the name. Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 across 2,943 reviews as I read them on 2026-10-20, with 89% five-star and 5% one-star. The negative themes cluster on the gift-card shop: gift-card markup and fees (October 2026), non-working Apple codes with the account blocked (September–October 2026), a lookalike fake site (October 2026), a deposit pending 20+ days with support called “worthless” (September 2026), refunds paused (September 2026). Bitrefill says it replies to all one-to-three-star reviews. One three-star review says the Visa card is sometimes denied. There were no Reddit threads and no official incidents I could find.
Taxes. Not advice, just the mechanic you should know about. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can therefore be a separate disposal. If you are outside the US the details differ, and the rule above is the US one.
What to take instead
If Bitrefill’s eligibility box excludes you, or the lifetime deposit cap is too tight, the honest comparison is not card-to-card but category-to-category. Here is how the alternatives I looked at actually line up.
| Bitrefill | UPay | Kemy | Tevau | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Who | Residents of 29 EU countries plus Norway and Iceland, 18+; US and Russian citizens excluded | Country list not stated; says it does not serve residents of certain countries; claims support in 180+ countries | “190+ countries”, with some restrictions checked at sign-up | Unofficially “200+ countries”, availability varying by region |
| Card | Virtual and physical Visa, in EUR | Virtual and physical, personal and business; network not named; pays in USD, EUR, AED and others | Unlimited virtual cards (Visa on mockups) and one physical Mastercard | Unofficially Visa; virtual, plastic, metal and 24K gold |
| Cost | Card free through the app | Not stated | Virtual $15 issuance valid 3 years plus $2/month; physical $250 issuance with DHL Express, $10/month, one per user | Unofficially virtual $20, plastic $100, metal $199, 24K gold $499 |
| Fees | 1.99% fixed deposit fee, no FX fee; conversion spread not stated | Not stated; conversion may occur at payment depending on network and settlement | Virtual: top-up $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100, transaction 3.5% + $1, failed $0.8; main-account deposit fee shown as 8% in one place and 5% in another | Unofficially 1% to move deposited USDT onto the card balance; FX spread for overseas spending not quantified |
| Funding | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon, SEPA | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC via wallet; networks not named | USDT and USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL via on/off ramp; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts | Unofficially USDT; the app shows which network to use but does not name them |
| Cashback | 2% total, no cap (1% deposits, 1% purchases) | None stated on the card page | Not mentioned | Not mentioned |
Reading that table honestly: none of these is clearly better than Bitrefill where Bitrefill is available. UPay says more countries but publishes nothing about cost or fees. Kemy is dramatically more expensive once you count the monthly fee and the 3.5% plus $1 per transaction, and it contains its own internal contradiction on the deposit fee. Tevau’s figures are all unofficial and come from an independent information site that states it is not Tevau itself, so treat that column as a starting point rather than a price list.
The card that would suit you better is often not another crypto card. If you are outside the EU, a card from an exchange or bank in your own jurisdiction may be available where Bitrefill is not. If your problem is Lightning specifically, Bitrefill is one of the few places in this category that supports it. If your problem is large transaction sizes, a self-custody card where funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment avoids the custodial counterparty risk, at the cost of you handling key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware yourself.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card, without hedging, to an EU resident in one of the 29 eligible countries who spends crypto in euros, holds a meaningful balance, and wants an ordinary-looking Visa that works at normal shops with 2% back and no foreign exchange fee. I would particularly recommend it to anyone whose bitcoin arrives over Lightning, because that is a real, working advantage that most competitors simply do not offer, and to anyone who values the issuer being a licensed Estonian institution rather than an offshore entity.
I would not recommend it to you if you live outside the eligible countries, if you are a US or Russian citizen anywhere, if you need to deposit more than EUR 15,000 in total, if you are an iPhone user who depends on Apple Pay today, or if you want strong chargeback protection. In each of those cases there is a better-shaped option, and in the last case an ordinary bank card with credit is simply better at protecting your money.
And one thing I would tell anyone reading this: judge the card on the card. The score that scares people — around 4.5 out of 5 with 2,943 reviews and a tail of furious one-star complaints — is measuring the gift-card shop. Apple codes that Apple itself disabled, products sold that do not work in the buyer’s region, a fake lookalike site. The card’s own numbers are 9 out of 10 for reliability, and the card is issued by Wallester AS under a Finantsinspektsioon licence and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB (559001-6035) in Stockholm, with crypto and virtual IBAN services from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, licensed by the Estonian FIU. That is a regulated chain, and it deserves to be judged on its own.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
It is a Visa debit-style card, offered as virtual and physical, that spends a euro balance you load from crypto. It is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Stockholm, with crypto and virtual IBAN services from Lightspark Payments Europe AS. It is best known as a gift-card shop that also offers this card.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No. Bitrefill itself is not a bank; the site is owned and operated by Airfill Pre prepaid AB. The card comes from a licensed partner, Wallester AS, an Estonian institution under Finantsinspektsioon supervision, with Lightspark Payments Europe AS providing crypto and virtual IBAN services under the Estonian FIU. So the money sits with regulated partners rather than with Bitrefill as a bank.
Who can get the Bitrefill card?
Residents aged 18 or over of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of residence, though Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible.
Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?
Yes, identity verification is required before you can order a card, and the card partner runs the check. On the Starter tier that means a photo ID and a selfie liveness check, possibly with proof of address; Plus adds proof of address and proof of source of funds, the latter set by Lightspark. What specific documents you will need, and how long checks take, is not stated on the card page.
How much does the Bitrefill card cost?
The card page says the card is free through the app, and no issuance or monthly amount is published there. The real costs are a 1.99% fixed fee per deposit plus a variable exchange cost, 1.99% for SEPA pay-ins, an unstated conversion spread, no foreign exchange fee of its own, and unofficially EUR 10 per month after 12 months of inactivity and 2.49% plus operator charges at ATMs.
How do I top up the Bitrefill card?
With Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon or a SEPA transfer. Each deposit costs a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee plus the card partner’s live exchange rate, and the minimum is EUR 15 — smaller deposits are not added. USDT deposits on any network ended on 17 March 2025, so ignore USDT in the card’s “Buy with” list.
Is Apple Pay supported on the Bitrefill card?
Not yet. Google Pay works, but Apple Pay is listed as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon” — which is a statement of intent, not a feature. Until your own iPhone shows it, assume it is unavailable and plan around it rather than around the marketing line.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
It is custodial: Lightspark and Wallester hold the funds, so you carry counterparty and hack risk rather than key risk. Against that, it gives you a one-tap card freeze and balance hiding in the app, and 3-D Secure on online payments. Whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated, and dispute handling is weak — most problems go to the merchant first.
Can I use the Bitrefill card in another country?
The card is a Visa, so it is accepted wherever Visa is accepted, in person and online. But a foreign-issued prepaid Visa can be declined: merchants can see the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and address verification services are mostly unavailable for foreign-issued cards. There is no foreign exchange fee of its own — Visa’s rate applies — but that does not protect you from a refusal.
What are the Bitrefill card limits?
On Starter: crypto deposits up to EUR 15,000 in total for your lifetime, spending EUR 10,000 per month and EUR 10,000 per day, and contactless EUR 200 per transaction. On Plus, reached by invitation: no deposit limit, EUR 15,000 per month and EUR 10,000 per day of spending, and the same EUR 200 contactless cap. You have 30 days to upgrade when invited, or the card is suspended.
Virtual cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
