CL card review: a self-custody debit card that quietly takes 1.75% on every swipe

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

CL is the payment card that sits on top of a Ledger hardware wallet. You hold the keys, the card spends the converted balance, and the fees depend on which document you read. After two weeks of pulling apart the official fee sheets, the unofficial aggregator pages, and a stack of Trustpilot reviews, here is what I found and who I think this card actually serves.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
CL works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

CL earns 6.9 out of 10 in my scoring. That is a respectable middle-of-the-pack result for a crypto card, and the breakdown explains why it does not climb higher.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil. The excluded-country list is not published, and citizenship versus residence is not stated.
Cost 7 / 10 The virtual card is free and maintenance is zero. Official FX is 0% on foreign-currency payments, but unofficial sources put conversion at 1.75% and FX at 1.75% to 2%. Card replacement costs EUR 5.
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more from a Ledger signing device. The supported networks are not named anywhere I could find.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operated by the Baanx programme, branded by Ledger SAS, with three named issuers (UAB Monavate in the EU, Monavate Ltd in the UK, and Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, in the US). Trustpilot sits at 3.0 out of 5 across 263 reviews, with 35% one-star ratings, and account restrictions without warning are a recurring theme.
Everyday use 9 / 10 A free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, ATM withdrawals worldwide. The physical card is described as available upon request.

The audience this card fits best is the Ledger owner who already keeps crypto on a hardware device and wants a clean way to spend from that balance without moving funds to a centralised exchange first. If you do not own a Ledger, the self-custody pitch collapses, and you are paying a 1.75% conversion fee for a card that works much like several cheaper alternatives. If you do own a Ledger and you live in one of the eight supported countries, CL becomes a reasonable choice, with the usual caveats about support responsiveness and account holds.

Will they give you the card

The card is described as “currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil.” That is a reasonably broad list, and it covers most of the markets where crypto cards are usually sold. The catch is what the card pages do not say. The excluded countries are not published anywhere I could find, and there is no public statement distinguishing citizenship from residence. If you are a US citizen living in Portugal, or a Brazilian living in Germany, the rule that applies to you is not spelled out.

The issuer behind the card changes by region. EU cards run through UAB Monavate, UK cards through Monavate Ltd, and the US card is a Visa debit card issued with Cross River Bank, which is a Member FDIC institution. That is worth noting because a US customer has a fundamentally different legal relationship (a bank-issued debit card) than an EEA customer (an e-money institution product). The card is branded by Ledger SAS, a French company based in Paris, but the operational programme is run by Baanx.

KYC, meaning the identity checks that banks and e-money firms are required to run, is not described on the card page itself. An unofficial reading, drawn from a company-side reply on Trustpilot and a one-star reviewer, says identity verification is handled by Veriff. The same reviewer mentioned requests for utility bills and tax returns after an account had already been restricted, which I will come back to in the risk section. Beyond an ID document, what the card programme actually demands at sign-up is not stated on the official pages I read.

The upshot: you can self-check whether your country is on the eight-country list, but the finer rules, including the citizenship question, the documents beyond an ID, and the excluded-country list, are not in the public material. If your situation is in any way unusual, the only way to find out is to start the sign-up and see what Veriff asks for.

How to get it

The card page lists a free virtual card. It does not list a physical card. A third-party site (spendnode.io, dated 3 August 2026) describes a physical Visa-branded card as “Available upon request” and says the virtual card is issued instantly through Ledger Live. The card page does not contradict that, because the card page only mentions the virtual product, but neither does it confirm the physical one, so I would treat the physical card as an unofficial confirmation rather than a guarantee.

The process, in broad strokes, is this. You need a Ledger signing device and the Ledger Wallet app. The card is provisioned inside the app, the virtual card arrives immediately, and you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay from there. In the US, the product is described as a Visa debit card; in other regions the card page does not say whether the network is Visa or Mastercard.

The fee information document (FID) lists a few costs that you do not see at sign-up but that show up later. Issuing the debit card costs EUR 0.00. Replacing a debit card costs EUR 5.00. Cancelling a card costs EUR 3.50 if you cancel within the first 14 days of ordering it. Delivery countries and delivery time are not stated.

What this means in practice: the sign-up itself looks cheap and frictionless, but the only product you can be sure you will receive is the virtual card, and the moment you ask for a physical one the picture gets murkier. The FID is dated November 2023, so its numbers are getting old, and several Trustpilot reviewers from September and October 2026 say they could not get a replacement physical card in the UK at all.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section where CL gets awkward, because the official fee document and the third-party aggregators disagree on the most expensive line item: conversion and FX. I will lay out both.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CL payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount Source
Virtual card issuance EUR 0.00 Official FID (UAB Monavate, 03/11/2023)
Replacement card EUR 5.00 Official FID
Card cancellation (within 14 days of order) EUR 3.50 Official FID
Monthly maintenance EUR 0.00 Official FID
Foreign-currency card payment EUR 0.00 plus 0% Official FID
Card payment in pounds EUR 0.00 Official FID (document mixes EUR and GBP wording)
UK ATM cash withdrawal (in pounds) EUR 2.50 per withdrawal Official FID
Non-UK ATM cash withdrawal EUR 3.00 plus 1.5% of the transaction value Official FID
ATM balance enquiry EUR 0.35 Official FID
Crypto-to-fiat conversion (manual) 1.75% UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io (3 Aug 2026)
Crypto-funded card spend 2% UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io (3 Aug 2026)
FX on non-base-currency transactions 1.75% UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io (3 Aug 2026)
Domestic UK ATM EUR 2.50 flat UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io (3 Aug 2026)
Foreign-currency ATM EUR 3.00 plus 1.5% UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io (3 Aug 2026)
Flat ATM fee (single aggregator overview) 1.5% UNOFFICIAL, conflicts with above
Daily POS spend limit (one review site) EUR 15,000 UNOFFICIAL
Daily ATM limit (one review site) EUR 2,000 UNOFFICIAL
Initial spending cap EUR / USD 1,000 until extra proof of funds approved UNOFFICIAL
Manual review threshold EUR 10,000 single top-up or withdrawal UNOFFICIAL
Monthly spending limit USD 15,000 UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io
ATM daily limit USD 500 UNOFFICIAL, spendnode.io

The two unofficial sources disagree on the daily and monthly limits, and the FID predates the unofficial fee pages, so the 0% FX line in the official document is in tension with the 1.75% FX line in the third-party page. I am not going to guess which one is right today. Treat the official FID as the legal position and the unofficial page as what you may actually be charged.

A few everyday examples, using only the numbers from the table above.

You are in Spain, you have a EUR-denominated virtual card, and you spend EUR 50 in a Madrid café. Under the official FID, foreign-currency card payment does not apply because the transaction is in EUR, the conversion is done at the point of sale, and the unofficial conversion fee is 1.75%. That makes the coffee cost EUR 0.88 in fees before you account for any blockchain gas the top-up involved.

You are in the UK, you withdraw GBP 200 from a London ATM. The official FID charges EUR 2.50 per UK withdrawal in pounds. The unofficial page agrees on a flat EUR 2.50 for domestic UK. On a GBP 200 withdrawal, the EUR 2.50 fee is clearly stated in the official document, so a small ATM habit will eat into your balance quickly.

You are in Brazil, you spend BRL 100 on a physical-store card terminal. The official document says foreign-currency card payment costs 0%, but the unofficial aggregator puts FX on non-base-currency transactions at 1.75%. If the card’s base currency is EUR or USD and the merchant settles in BRL, the unofficial fee is the one that bites. That is BRL 1.75 in fees on a BRL 100 purchase, on top of any conversion the card does from your crypto balance.

The pattern is straightforward. The headline fees (no monthly fee, free virtual card, 0% FX) are accurate, but the moment crypto enters the picture there is a conversion step that the official document does not price and the unofficial pages price at 1.75%. If you top up with stablecoins and spend in the same currency, the unofficial FX layer does not apply; if you top up with BTC and spend in EUR, you pay both the conversion and any FX.

Top up

The card accepts “BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more,” funded from a Ledger signer through the Ledger Wallet app. That is the full official description, and it is thinner than I would like.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CL starts with a transfer to the right network

The networks are not stated. If you hold USDC on Ethereum, USDC on Solana, and USDT on Tron, the card page does not tell you which one the top-up flow accepts. For a self-custody product, the network matters a great deal, because sending USDT to a USDC-on-Ethereum address, or sending ERC-20 USDT to a TRC-20 address, is one of the most common ways to lose money in crypto. The card page does not protect you from that mistake.

The FID’s “Receiving money” row says “Not applicable” for crypto, and the minimum top-up amount is not stated. There is no published loading fee. What I can say is that the only wallets from which the top-up flow is documented to work are Ledger signers, which is consistent with the self-custody pitch but limiting if you do not own a Ledger device.

In practice, what I would do before topping up: open the Ledger Wallet app, initiate the top-up, and read the deposit address and network the app actually shows. Do not send a transaction based on what the card page says is supported, because the page does not name a network. Send a small test amount first. The FID’s silence on this is the kind of detail that only shows up when something goes wrong.

Paying with it every day

On a normal day, the card behaves like a Visa or Mastercard debit card. The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, the card is accepted at any merchant that takes the network, and ATM withdrawals are advertised as worldwide. Cashback runs at 1% in BTC or USDC in the US and 1% in BTC or USDT in other countries, calculated monthly on total card transactions, which is honest and modest.

The card page does not publish a list of blocked merchant categories. Some crypto cards block gambling (MCC 7995), adult content, or specific high-risk categories, but CL does not say so publicly, so you will not know whether a given merchant is supported until you try.

The card is managed inside the Ledger Wallet app, and the app’s platform availability and store ratings are not stated on the card page. I would not assume Ledger Live is available on every phone you might use; the standard expectation is iOS and Android, but the card page does not confirm it.

The cashback is paid in the crypto you choose, which is a small but real bonus. 1% on a EUR 1,000 month of spending is EUR 10 in BTC or USDT, which does not pay for the dinner but does cover the bank statement’s worth of small fees. The calculation is monthly on total card transactions, which means there is no per-transaction minimum to worry about.

What can go wrong

CL is operated by Baanx and branded by Ledger SAS. The three issuers (UAB Monavate in Lithuania, Monavate Ltd in the UK, and Cross River Bank in the US) are real, regulated institutions. Cross River Bank is a Member FDIC bank, which matters for US customers because the card is a bank-issued Visa debit. The EEA and UK products are e-money institution products, which are not deposit-protected in the same way.

The customer-feedback picture is the part that made me cautious. The Trustpilot page for CL Card, as of 20 October 2026, sits at 3.0 out of 5 across 263 reviews, with 35% of all reviews rated one star. The themes that repeat are:

On the company side, the Ledger Help Center has a “CL Card FAQs” article, and general Ledger support is reachable at support.ledger.com. Languages and hours are not stated. There is no published cardholder-terms PDF that I could read, and the dispute process is not described on the card page, which is a gap for a payment product.

A single third-party Chinese-language aggregator (cryptocards.so) has claimed that Baanx and Monavate entered insolvency proceedings in April-May 2026. I could not corroborate that from any other source, and the English-language aggregator spendnode.io (3 August 2026) does not mention any insolvency or enforcement action. Treat the insolvency claim as unverified.

The security framing of the card is that crypto is “protected by the industry’s leading hardware and software” when used with a Ledger signer. Self-custody is not stated as a feature in those words, but it is implied: the keys stay on the Ledger. Card freeze and two-factor authentication are not stated as features. If you lose your phone, the card is on the phone; the funds are on the Ledger; the threat model depends on which side you worry about more.

What to take instead

I am going to walk through three alternatives that come up in the same conversation, and I will score them the way I scored CL so the comparison is fair.

MetaMask Card — 7.1 / 10. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with other regions on a waitlist; proof of residency is required. The card is a Mastercard, virtual first and instant, with a Metal version that can be pre-ordered in the app for $199 a year. Spends draw directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, and the named tokens include mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT (the page says nine). Cashback runs at 1% on the Virtual card in mUSD, and the Metal headline is 3% in mUSD, with a footnote limiting 3% to the first $10,000 spent and then 1% afterwards, plus a $FLY dining bonus through Blackbird. The US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ, which is a real limitation.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. KAST is residence-based, and the supported-country list is only shown during KYC, with a “Restricted Locations” list referenced but not published. A supported-country resident with an ID from a restricted region can still be declined. Virtual and physical cards are available, up to 10 per user, in three tiers: Standard (USD 0/year), Premium (USD 1,000/year) and Private (USD 10,000/year), with Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal and Visa Infinite gold-plated cards respectively, plus a few themed designs. Account balance is in USD, stablecoin deposits are converted 1:1 with 0% spread, stablecoin top-up is 0%, card spend in USD is 0%, and non-USD FX is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence, transaction country and card programme. Cashback is tiered: 1.5% on Standard for the first USD 2,000 a month, 2% on Premium for the first USD 10,000, 3% on Private for the first USD 40,000, plus KAST Points on the two paid tiers.

Zeal — 6.1 / 10. Zeal’s card programme is live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand, with spend accepted in 150+ countries. The card is a Visa, virtual-first and addable to Apple Pay, with accounts in EUR, USD and GBP. Zeal charges no additional FX fee and converts at the Visa wholesale rate, but the underlying Gnosis Pay fees (for example, ATM) still apply. Cashback runs up to 4% in GNO on Gnosis Chain, paid only on GNO held in the card Safe, and rates can change.

The honest comparison: MetaMask Card edges CL because the fee table is published and the cashback is paid in a stablecoin, and it has a Metal tier that competes with KAST Private and Zeal’s GNO programme. KAST beats CL on stablecoin-on-ramp (0% spread, 0% spend in USD) but charges a real annual fee for the better tiers. Zeal is the cleanest on FX (Visa wholesale, no markup) and the weakest on cashback, unless you already hold GNO. CL’s edge is the self-custody story for existing Ledger owners; outside that audience, the comparison gets harder.

Who I would recommend it to

CL is for the Ledger owner who lives in one of the eight supported countries, who already thinks in terms of self-custody, and who values holding their own keys over earning the highest possible cashback. If that is you, the card is a clean way to convert and spend from the device, the virtual card is free, and the 1% cashback in BTC or a stablecoin is a small honest return on a card you would have wanted anyway.

I would not recommend CL if you are not already a Ledger customer, if you live in a country outside the published list, if you plan to lean on physical-card support (because replacement physical cards are not consistently available, and the FID is dated 2023), or if the Trustpilot pattern of account holds and slow support is the kind of thing that would keep you up at night. In those cases, MetaMask Card is the better comparison point if you are happy with a connected software wallet, and KAST or Zeal is the better comparison point if you want a published fee table and a more traditional programme structure.

The single most important thing to verify before you apply is whether your country of residence and your ID document are both acceptable, because the card page does not state the rule. The second is to read the unofficial fee pages, decide whether the 1.75% conversion and FX numbers reflect the experience you are willing to pay for, and treat the official FID’s 0% FX line as the legal position rather than the operational one.

Frequently asked questions

What is CL card?

CL is a payment card that spends from a crypto balance held on a Ledger hardware wallet. The card programme is operated by Baanx and branded by Ledger SAS; the EU and UK cards are issued by Monavate entities, and the US card is a Visa debit card issued with Cross River Bank, Member FDIC. The virtual card is free; a physical card is described by third-party sources as available upon request.

How does CL card work?

You connect a Ledger signing device, the card converts your crypto to fiat at the point of purchase, and the merchant is paid in fiat through the Visa (and in some regions possibly Mastercard) network. The card behaves like a prepaid or debit card at the till, while the underlying crypto stays in self-custody until the moment of conversion.

Is CL a bank?

No. CL is a card programme, not a bank. The US card is issued with Cross River Bank, which is a Member FDIC bank, but CL itself is a product run by Baanx and branded by Ledger SAS. EEA and UK cards are issued by Monavate e-money institutions, not banks, and customer funds are not deposit-protected.

Who owns CL?

The brand is owned by Ledger SAS, a French company in Paris. The card programme is operated by Baanx, and the cards are issued by UAB Monavate in the EU, Monavate Ltd in the UK, and Cross River Bank in the US.

Is CL card available in my country?

The card is listed as available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil. The excluded-country list is not published, and the rule on citizenship versus residence is not stated. If your country is not on the list, the application flow will tell you, and Veriff handles the identity check.

Does CL card require KYC?

Yes, the card programme runs KYC through Veriff according to unofficial sources. The exact document set beyond an ID is not published; reviewers in late 2026 report being asked for utility bills and tax returns after an account had already been restricted, which suggests the KYC bar can rise after sign-up.

Is CL card free?

The virtual card is free, monthly maintenance is EUR 0.00, and the official fee document lists 0% on foreign-currency card payments. Unofficial third-party sources put crypto-to-fiat conversion at 1.75% and FX on non-base-currency transactions at 1.75%, which is the cost to watch.

How do I add CL card to Apple Wallet?

Once the virtual card is provisioned inside the Ledger Wallet app, you can add it to Apple Pay (or Google Pay) from the app. The card uses a tokenised Device Account Number rather than your real card number, and the issuer can restrict the token if needed.

Is CL card safe?

The self-custody design keeps the private keys on the Ledger device, which removes the exchange-hack risk on the crypto side. The risks that remain are the operational ones: account restrictions without warning, slow support, and the unresolved official fee versus unofficial fee picture. Two-factor authentication and a card-freeze feature are not stated as features on the card page.

Is CL card worth it?

For a Ledger owner in one of the eight supported countries who wants to spend from self-custody without moving funds to an exchange, yes, the card earns its keep. For anyone else, the 1.75% conversion and FX cost, the dated fee document, and the Trustpilot pattern of account holds and slow support make it harder to recommend over MetaMask Card, KAST or Zeal.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team