Pay shut its card programme down: what that means for you now

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you are weighing a crypto payment card and Pay has come up in your search, the single most useful thing you can learn in the first thirty seconds is that there is nothing left to sign up for. Pay was a DeFi payments wallet that listed “Manage your prepaid cards” and bought those cards through a partner called Wyre. On 5 December 2022 the app’s version 1.1.12 disabled prepaid card purchases with Wyre “until further notice”. The notice never came. The last version of the app is 1.2.0, dated 18 February 2023, and there has been nothing since. Card buying was never switched back on.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
The Pay card programme no longer issues new cards

That is the review in one line. Everything below is the detail behind it: what the card was, what happened to the programme, what it means if you are one of the people who still has an old Card Pay wallet, and which of the live alternatives actually replaces the thing you were probably looking for.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 1.8 out of 10

Pay scores 1.8 / 10. That is not a low score attached to a card with rough edges; it is a near-zero score attached to a product that has been switched off. Two of the six criteria score zero outright, because the feature they measure no longer exists.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 The programme is closed: prepaid card purchases through Wyre were disabled on 2022-12-05, and the last app version is 1.2.0 from 2023-02-18
Cost 5 / 10 Not disclosed: no card fees are named, and the only paid item is the in-app purchase “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99
Top-up options 2 / 10 The programme is closed and the top-up methods were never disclosed; Polygon was removed in version 1.1.13
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Card purchases through Wyre were disabled, Wyre announced its wind-down in 2023, the issuer is not named, and the App Store rating is 5.0 from 5, based on 3 ratings
Everyday use 0 / 10 Cards are no longer issued through the app, and physical delivery is not mentioned anywhere
Total 1.8 / 10 —

Who does this suit? Honestly, almost nobody in the position most people searching for “Pay card” are in. The 5 out of 10 for cost is not a compliment either — it is an absence of information rather than an absence of charges. A free card with no disclosed fees is not worth anything if you cannot obtain the card.

The one group this page is written for is the holders of the old Card Pay wallet. If you downloaded Cardstack’s wallet, claimed a card you can see in the app, or parked crypto in it expecting to spend it, you are not a prospective customer — you are a person with an open question about money. That is a different job, and I have given it its own section below.

Before you go further, check the following summary. The card’s public pages do not state who was eligible, what identity verification involved, what fees were, which currencies were supported, what limits applied, how ATM withdrawals worked, or how disputes were handled. Not “these were zero” — not stated. Where a fact is missing I will say so at the point where it matters to you. That matters because a missing fact and a good fact look identical on an app store listing, and you cannot tell them apart without being told.

What happened to the programme

The timeline is short, and it is worth walking through it because the failure was not sudden.

What is left standing is the shell. The app still exists in the App Store, supports iOS 13.0+, macOS 11.0+ on Apple M1+ and visionOS 1.0+, and still carries a 5.0 rating — from 3 ratings. A rating that high, from a sample that small, tells you almost nothing; it should not be mistaken for evidence that the service works.

The company behind it is named in the app store listing as CARDSTACK SERVICES PTE. LTD., and the homepage footer refers to a Cardstack Foundation. The issuer of the cards — the bank or licensed institution actually behind the plastic — is not stated anywhere on the pages I read. For a card product that absence is more than a gap in a FAQ. You cannot assess a card without knowing who is liable for it.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would read twice if the wallet is already on your phone.

The honest summary is that the public pages do not tell you what happens to a balance. What they do tell you is a sequence of small signals that the product was left unfinished: version notes for 1.0.11 mention “Reward withdrawal” bug fixes, and 1.1.13 says each reward is claimed individually. Neither says anything about withdrawing a card balance, and nothing anywhere describes the balance after closure.

So let me list what is simply not stated, because the list is the advice:

If you have crypto sitting in that wallet, my judgement is that the question you need answered is not “how do I use the card” but “can I get the value out, and who do I ask”. Nobody at Card Pay will answer that for you through the app store listing. The realistic starting points are the developer site named on the listing, and — if your funds are stablecoins or coins you recognise — a general stablecoin and network background you should check before you move anything.

Which brings me to the one piece of general background that matters more here than anything else on this page.

A crypto card is usually not one thing but several: a card network (Visa or Mastercard) that routes the payment and writes the rules, an issuer — a bank or licensed electronic money institution that actually holds the card programme — and a crypto brand that is often only the programme manager or the interface you look at. Pay’s listing shows you the last layer. The layer that moved your money was Wyre, and the layer that would have been legally responsible for your balance is the issuer, and that issuer is not named. When a programme dies, the layer that disappears is usually the visible one.

A few things that make this harder rather than easier, in case you are deciding how urgently to act:

I am not going to tell you to send funds anywhere, or which chain to use, or how to route around anything. The point is only that time and a clear destination matter more than clever moves.

What can go wrong

Beyond the closure itself, which is the largest risk and is already a fact rather than a possibility, there are risks that apply to this card as a category. I am listing them because they are the things that went wrong for other people, and because the Pay case shows how quickly a card programme can become unusable.

What is reassuring, in fairness: Pay’s own app said transactions are confirmed with Touch ID or Face ID, and the usual category safeguards are two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets. Note the absence in that list of anything about custody: whether the app was self-custody is not stated.

What to take instead

If you were looking at Pay because you want to spend crypto without a traditional bank card, the alternatives below are live, priced and structured. I am not telling you which one to pick — that depends on where you live and what you need — but I am telling you what each one commits to, because the differences are large.

MetaMask — 7.1 / 10

The most recognisable name here, and the strongest of the three. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with examples including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain and Uruguay; other regions join a waitlist. Proof of residence is required. The citizenship rule is not stated, and US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed per the FAQ — worth checking, because those two are exactly where people most often assume access.

The card is Mastercard. You get a virtual card issued instantly, and after Virtual approval a Metal card can be pre-ordered in the app. One card per user. Issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life. Card currency is not stated.

Item MetaMask
Virtual card Free, no annual or maintenance fee
Metal card $199/year
Per-transaction fee “Minimal fee for each transaction” — amount not stated on the pages read; a fee table is linked
MetaMask fees None additional
Foreign transaction fee None; the Mastercard rate is used
Cashback Virtual 1%; Metal headline 3%, footnote limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%
Bonus $FLY bonus 5X (Virtual) / 7X (Metal) via the Blackbird dining app

It spends directly from the connected wallet, on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Tokens named include mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Cashback arrives in mUSD into the Money Account. Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit.

KAST — 6.1 / 10

The most transparent on fees and the most demanding on identity. Eligibility is residence-based, checked at KYC: if your country is not listed, KAST is not available there. The country list is not published, and a Restricted Locations list is referenced without naming countries. Identity document nationality matters too — you may live in a supported country and still be ineligible on the basis of your ID, while dual citizens holding an ID from a supported country may pass. Only your own ID is accepted and a VPN does not bypass this. An account can be created in an unsupported country, but KYC stays locked.

Three tiers, billed annually upfront with no monthly option:

Item Standard Premium Private
Annual membership 0 USD 1,000 USD/year 10,000 USD/year
Cashback 1.5% on first 2,000 USD/month 2% on first 10,000 USD/month 3% on first 40,000 USD/month
KAST Points None +1% of eligible spend +2% of eligible spend
Included physical card Visa Platinum (Standard) Visa Infinite metal Visa Infinite gold plated

Also: up to 10 cards per user, extra designs in Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin, USD account balance with stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Cost details to keep in view — a Standard physical card carries 0 USD card fee plus 40 USD delivery, Premium and Private physical cards are included; an extra virtual card is 2 USD (“in some regions” 2 USD also applies to included Standard virtual cards); there is a 1 USD/month inactivity fee after 12 months; and renewal and reactivation fees exist, amounts not stated.

Its fee list is the clearest of the three: stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%. Then the ones that cost: non-USD FX fee 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme; non-USD transactions under 25 USD cost 0.10 USD; a declined transaction for insufficient balance costs 0.50 USD; and non-stablecoin tokens may be auto-converted at a fee shown in the app.

Funding is stablecoins — USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD, with USDT/USDC on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON per the app’s current network list. No bank account needed. One inconsistency to be aware of: the Terms say acceptable tokens are “currently USDT and USDC”, which conflicts with PYUSD and RLUSD appearing in the app. Spending is from your own balance, deducted per purchase, not credit.

Zeal — 6.1 / 10

The one where the fine print is thinnest. Zeal says you can spend in 150+ countries, with issuance depending on eligibility and regional availability; the Gnosis Pay docs list the card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia and Thailand, and Zeal’s update notes also mention Mexico, Colombia and Bolivia.

The card is Visa, with a virtual card for online use that can be added to Apple Pay. Accounts are held in EUR, USD and GBP. A physical card is not stated. You spend from balances in the card Safe — EUR/USD/GBP stablecoin accounts on Gnosis Chain and Celo per the docs — with the exact coins not stated for Zeal.

Item Zeal
Fees schedule Not stated — no fee schedule published on zeal.app or the App Store
Additional FX fee None; conversion at the Visa wholesale rate
Gnosis Pay fees May still apply, for example ATM
Cashback Up to 4%, paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain
Cashback condition GNO must be held in the card Safe; rates can change
Advertised also Up to 5% variable APY on EUR/USD balances

At a glance

MetaMask KAST Zeal
Score 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Network Mastercard Visa Visa
Physical card Metal, $199/year, pre-order Included on Premium and Private Not stated
Virtual card Free, instant Included; extra 2 USD For online use, Apple Pay
Eligibility 45 countries/territories; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed Residence-based, list not published 150+ countries, regional availability
Identity Proof of residence; citizenship rule not stated Strict on ID nationality; own ID only Depends on eligibility
Reward 1% virtual / 3% Metal capped, in mUSD 1.5%–3% monthly-capped, in USD Up to 4% in GNO, needs GNO held

One comparison worth making explicitly: the differences that will actually cost you are not the headline cashback rates. They are the eligibility rules and the non-USD fees. A 4% reward that you cannot claim because you live outside the supported countries, or a 3% reward eaten by a 1.75% FX fee, is worth less than a flat 1% you can bank. Check where you live against the eligibility rules before you check the reward table.

Who I would recommend it to

I would not recommend Pay to anyone looking for a card to spend with, because there is no way to get one — card purchases were disabled on 5 December 2022 and the app has not been updated since 18 February 2023. That is not a judgement about quality; it is a statement about availability.

I would recommend this page to three groups instead:

If you are choosing between the three, my order of checking is: your country first, then the identity-document rules, then the non-USD fee, and only then the cashback rate.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Pay card?

Pay was a DeFi payments wallet from Cardstack whose app listing read “Manage your prepaid cards”. Users could obtain prepaid cards through the app and spend a balance loaded from crypto. Neither the network nor the currency was stated publicly. The app is free to download; its only in-app purchase is “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99.

Who owns Pay?

Two names appear. The developer is CARDSTACK SERVICES PTE. LTD. according to the App Store listing, and the homepage footer refers to a Cardstack Foundation. Cards were bought through Wyre, a separate partner. The issuer — the institution actually responsible for the card programme — is not stated anywhere on the public pages.

Why can I not get a card anymore?

Prepaid card purchases with Wyre were disabled “until further notice” in version 1.1.12, dated 5 December 2022, and were never restored. The notice did not come. The last app version is 1.2.0 from 18 February 2023, and buying a card is no longer part of what the app does.

Is Pay a bank?

Nothing on the public pages says it is. There is no stated issuer, no stated fees and no stated regulatory status. That is not the same as saying it was not regulated — it means the pages do not tell you, and a card with no named issuer behind it is one you cannot properly assess.

Does Pay require KYC?

Not stated. The card’s public pages say nothing about identity verification, who was eligible, or what documentation was needed. This is a gap in the record, not a confirmation that no checks existed. If you are still inside the wallet, assume that your standing with the service matters more than any feature it once offered.

Can I still use a Pay virtual card?

Nobody can say from the public record, and that is the honest answer. Card purchases being disabled describes acquiring a card, not using one already held. The pages describe prepaid cards inside the wallet and never mention physical delivery at all. If you have one, its status is an open question for the operator, not something documented anywhere I could read.

What happened to my money if I still hold a wallet?

Nobody has published an answer. Withdrawing a card balance is not described anywhere. The version notes mention “Reward withdrawal” bug fixes in 1.0.11 and say each reward is claimed individually as of 1.1.13, which is not the same thing. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, so a mistake while moving funds cannot simply be undone.

How do I withdraw money from a closed card wallet?

There is no documented route, and I am not going to invent one for you. Start with the developer site named on the app store listing, since the listing links no support page. Before transferring anything, confirm the network and the destination, because sending funds on an unsupported network can be lost with no guarantee of recovery.

What can I use instead of Pay?

The three live options here are MetaMask (7.1 / 10, Mastercard, virtual free, Metal $199/year), KAST (6.1 / 10, Visa, membership from 0 to 10,000 USD a year, transparent fee list) and Zeal (6.1 / 10, Visa, spend in 150+ countries, no published fee schedule). Check eligibility for your country before comparing rewards.

Is Pay card worth it?

The question no longer applies in the form people usually mean it, because there is nothing to sign up for. What remains worth knowing is why: a card programme that depends on a partner like Wyre can stop working in a single release note, and that is exactly what happened on 5 December 2022.

Where can I use a crypto card, and why is it sometimes declined?

Card numbers start with a 6- or 8-digit issuer code that merchants can look up, revealing the issuer and its country. Shops may apply extra scrutiny when that country differs from your billing address, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, which is why foreign-issued cards can be declined at checkout.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team