A free virtual Visa with no monthly fee, but only in the app and only from a prepaid balance
KeyOne is a virtual Visa card you hold inside an app, with crypto and bank transfers behind it and no monthly fee on the free plan. That sounds like an obvious win if ordinary bank cards have been hard for you to get where you live. It also has sharp edges that a free fee does not advertise: there is no physical card, cash-point withdrawals are not described, and the balance works like a prepaid account rather than a current account.

I gave it 6.8 out of 10. That is a mid-table score, and the reason is not the fees — it is the shape of the product. The cheap part is genuinely cheap. The usefulness part is narrow.
The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Cards for residents of 70 listed countries across Europe, Asia, the UAE, Africa, Latin America and Australia |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Free plan costs EUR 0 to issue and nothing monthly; balance-currency payments 0%, conversion up to 1%, crypto top-up 0.8% plus network fee |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDC and USDT, network not named; also SEPA, ACH, and top-up from Visa/Mastercard; crypto withdrawal only on Base |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Card is issued by Wirex (Visa); KeyOne Solution Ltd is the technology interface, not a bank; no complaints found, no App Store rating yet |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay yes, Google Pay not disclosed; cash-point withdrawals not disclosed |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 |
The audience the card seems built for is people in Georgia, Serbia and Kazakhstan who want a free card and can live inside an app. If that is you, the picture is more positive than the average suggests. If you need cash from a machine, a plastic card in the post, or Google Pay, the 4 out of 10 on everyday use is the number that matters.
Who they will give you the card
Eligibility is based on where you live, not on what you hold. KeyOne says the card is available to residents of 70 listed countries, and the list stretches wider than most crypto cards go: Europe, including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia and Azerbaijan; Asia, including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan and Thailand; the UAE and Bahrain; Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda; Mexico, Brazil and Argentina; and Australia.
Two things about that list are worth being explicit about. Russia and Belarus are not on it. And for any country not listed, the page says plainly that you cannot apply for a KeyOne card yet. So the question “is KeyOne available in my country” has a real answer for residents, and if yours is missing, the answer is no for now.
What the page does not say is anything about citizenship. There is no excluded list of nationalities, and no statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens holding residence in one of the 70 countries. I am not going to fill that gap with an assumption. If your situation involves citizenship in a sanctioned country and residence elsewhere, the only reliable answer comes from KeyOne’s own support before you upload documents.
There is no tiers-of-access scheme here in the usual sense. You are eligible or you are not, based on residence.
How to get it
The route is ordinary identity verification. KeyOne accepts government-issued ID: a passport, ID card, driving licence or residence permit, with the acceptable types varying by the country that issued the document. The applicant must be 18 or over. After the ID check, proof of address may be requested. Additional checks may be required beyond that.
The sequence, as the card lays it out: confirm your country is supported, submit your ID with a selfie, provide proof of address if asked, and the card appears in the app.
The verification detail matters more than it sounds. Your name and date of birth have to appear on the document and match the application. The photo has to match your selfie. The validity date must be visible and still in the future. Then proof of address, when requested, decides eligibility, because the residence shown on that document is what the card is judged against. Processing time is not stated — the page says it may vary, and points you to support to check a status. If your document is damaged, cropped at the edges, or older than you think, that is where applications stall.
One thing to set expectations on early: the card is virtual only. No physical version is mentioned anywhere on the public pages. After approval, the card number, expiry date and CVV appear inside the app. That is the whole card.
What it really costs: Fees, and the payments that add up
The free plan is genuinely free to hold. Card issuance is EUR 0 and monthly service is EUR 0. Premium costs EUR 149 for 12 months, paid in one payment from your balance, valid for 12 months from purchase, non-refundable except where the law requires it; renewing early adds another 12 months. Extra cards are EUR 10 each and are a Premium feature only, not available on Free.

| Fee or limit | Free | Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | EUR 0 | EUR 0 |
| Monthly fee | EUR 0 | — |
| Extra cards | not available on Free | EUR 10 each (3 cards included) |
| Card payment in balance currency | 0% | 0% |
| Currency conversion | up to 1% | up to 1% |
| Crypto top-up (USDC/USDT) | 0.8% + network fee | 0.33% |
| SEPA / ACH top-up | 0.8% | 0.3% |
| Top-up from Visa/Mastercard | about 4.5% | about 4.5% |
| In-app exchange | 0.3% on first EUR 1,000/month, then 1.25% | 0.3% on first EUR 2,000/month, then 1.25% |
| Card spending per card per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| Single transaction | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| SEPA in/out per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 |
| Cash-point (ATM) fees | not stated | not stated |
Now the part that actually decides whether this is cheap for you: the balance currency is EUR. The cardholder agreement, section 5, says payments in the balance currency carry no fee and payments in other currencies carry a conversion fee of up to 1%. The agreement does not name the card currency itself; the home page describes a EUR balance.
Let me walk three ordinary payments and tell you which lines apply.
- A coffee in euro inside the euro area. You pay 0%. That is the clean case, and it is why “0% fees” is true.
- A coffee in dollars, or a US website priced in USD. The 1% conversion applies, on top of whatever the merchant or the network adds on a foreign-currency transaction. You also carry the risk that the euro moves against the dollar between the top-up and the purchase.
- A monthly subscription bought in another currency. Same 1%, but it repeats every month. This is the one that quietly becomes the largest fee on the card, because the conversion is charged on the transaction, not on the balance.
Two more traps live in the table above. The in-app exchange is 0.3% only on the first EUR 1,000 a month on Free, and drops to 1.25% beyond that, so converting more than that each month costs more than the headline suggests. And top-up from another Visa or Mastercard runs about 4.5%, which makes it an expensive way in — worth comparing against a bank transfer before you use it.
Individual limits may be lower than the table shows, because of partner compliance checks. Cash-point withdrawal fees are not stated at all, which I would treat as “unknown”, not “free”.
How to Top up
There are four routes in, and they are not close in price.

- Crypto. USDC and USDT. The network is not specified on the page, and that is not a detail to skip. A stablecoin sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. Ask support which network to use before you send anything.
- Bank transfer. SEPA and ACH. SEPA is available for many EU countries and the UK; Faster Payments in GBP and ACH in USD are for the UK only. Fee 0.8% on Free, 0.3% on Premium, with a EUR 20,000 monthly limit in and out.
- From another card. Top-up from Visa or Mastercard at about 4.5%.
- Minimums. The minimum top-up is not stated.
Getting money back out works differently. Crypto withdrawal is on the Base network only, with no KeyOne fee. Bank transfers out by SEPA or ACH may carry a partner fee, which is shown before you confirm. Merchant refunds land back in your KeyOne balance, and section 7 of the cardholder agreement warns they may arrive in a different currency from the original charge.
You can close the card in the app at any time without touching the balance. If you want the account gone rather than just the card: request deletion in the app under Profile > Support or by email, withdraw remaining balances first, and the card and accounts are closed with Wirex within 30 days. Identity verification records and transaction records are kept for five years. The terms also say you may stop using the services and withdraw your funds at any time.
That last line matters more than it sounds. It is the difference between a prepaid product you can walk away from and a balance you are locked into.
Paying with it every day
Here is where the card is thinnest, and it is the lowest sub-score in the table above.
The card is virtual only. You add it to Apple Pay in one tap. Google Pay is not stated — not confirmed, just not mentioned, which I would read as an open question rather than a no. Cash-point withdrawals are not described anywhere on the public pages. And the page warns that “some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted”, without listing which ones. That last line is the one I would want in writing before I relied on the card for anything important.
Two further things you will not find mentioned: there is no cashback, and there is no rewards programme of any kind on the public pages. If a cashback card is part of why you are comparing, this is not one.
The app itself is young. On iOS it is “KeyOne: Crypto Card & Wallet”, version 1.0.10, requiring iPhone iOS 17 or later, in English, Russian and Serbian. The App Store listing in Ireland shows no rating, because it has not received enough ratings. The Android listing exists under com.keyonesolution.keyone; its rating was not retrieved. There is also a web app at app.keyonepay.com.
Three practical consequences. An app in its 1.0.x stage will have rough edges. A support interface with no independent reviews yet means you have no track record to lean on. And if you switch phones, your only card is the one living inside the app.
What happens when a payment goes wrong is also not spelled out in a reassuring way. Under section 7 of the cardholder agreement, if a transaction is not recognised or looks wrong, you contact support and they help you file a dispute with the issuer. No time frames are given, the word chargeback is never used, the terms set no refund deadlines, and blockchain transactions are irreversible. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven.
None of that makes the card unsafe. It makes it one where you should keep a working card in reserve rather than emptying your last one into it.
What can go wrong
Start with the corporate picture, because it shapes everything else.
KeyOne Solution Ltd is incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, company number C 63589, and states it is not a bank. The card itself is issued by Wirex: the cardholder agreement and terms, both last updated 12 October 2026, say that Wirex issues the KeyOne Visa card under its own regulatory permissions, while KeyOne Solution Ltd provides the technology interface. The governing law of the terms is Saint Christopher and Nevis. For context on the issuer: Wirex became a Visa principal member in Europe in December 2020, according to The Block.
This is a normal structure for a crypto card — the brand is the interface, the licensed partner is the issuer — but it means your contractual counterparty for the card is an entity in Saint Christopher and Nevis whose licences are not named on the page. The home page FAQ says it directly: KeyOne is not a bank, and crypto balances are not covered by any deposit guarantee or investor compensation scheme. Money you hold here is not money in a bank deposit.
Then the wallet side, which is the opposite design decision. KeyOne describes a self-custody wallet: private keys are created and stored on your own device through an embedded wallet provider, and KeyOne cannot move your crypto without your signature. That is a genuine advantage — nobody can move your funds, including KeyOne. The cost is that nobody can recover them either. Losing your device or your PIN can mean permanent loss of funds, with no seed-phrase reset and no help desk that can reverse a blockchain transfer.
The card side has more moving parts. 3-D Secure payments are approved or declined in the app. You can block a compromised card in the app. The issuer may suspend or close a card for fraud or for use in an unsupported country. The crypto is yours; the card belongs to the issuer.
On the record, there is very little either way. I found no official incidents and no user reports about KeyOne specifically — searches on Trustpilot and Reddit returned nothing about this company, only unrelated names. There is no Trustpilot or Reddit page for KeyOne, and the App Store listing has too few ratings to show a score. That is genuinely two-sided: no scandal, and no reputation.
Finally, what happens when a programme ends. Crypto card programmes have been shut down before, and the pattern is consistent: notice, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022. In both cases the technology company left and the users were left holding a balance with a smaller number of options.
Regulatory change can do the same thing more slowly. In the EU, MiCA is the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation and ESMA says it took legal effect in June 2023. Its rules on e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, the rest from 30 December 2024. E-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they are authorised or refused authorisation under MiCA, whichever comes first. A card is a payment service regulated separately, so a crypto card often depends on two licences at once. If KeyOne’s position changes, that is the kind of change that reshapes the product without anyone announcing it.
What you can check yourself: ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, and you can look a provider up there before you trust it with money.
And if you are in the United States: FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying goods or services are not. That distinction matters if you ever wanted to run this kind of card as a business.
One last risk that is about you, not the card. If you fund payments from crypto, tax treatment can bite. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — meaning each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal, short-term if held a year or less. How that applies to you depends entirely on your jurisdiction and situation, which is a question for a qualified adviser, not for me.
What to take instead
If KeyOne does not fit, these are the same broad category of product. The comparison is fair to make side by side, so here they are with the differences that actually matter.
| KeyOne | Bitrefill | UPay | Kemy | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 6.8 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa only | Virtual and physical Visa | Virtual and physical, personal and business, network not named | Unlimited virtual cards, one physical Mastercard (contactless) |
| Price | EUR 0 issue, EUR 0 monthly | Free through the app; amounts not stated; inactivity fee after 12 months without spending or cash-out | not stated | Virtual $15 issue (valid 3 years), $2/month; physical $250 issue with DHL, $10/month |
| Funding | USDC, USDT, SEPA, ACH, Visa/Mastercard | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, Base, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa, Mastercard; SEPA | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not stated | USDT, USDC on the main networks, plus BTC, ETH, SOL; fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts |
| Rewards | none stated | 2% total cashback, no cap: 1% per crypto deposit and 1% per purchase | no cashback stated on the card page | not mentioned |
A few honest observations on that table.
Bitrefill scores the same as KeyOne and differs where it counts for some people: it offers a physical card, more networks to pay in, and 2% cashback with no cap. But its country list is not stated, its terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” with “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners”, so you cannot check from a page whether you qualify. There is also an inactivity fee after 12 months without spending or cash-out, amount not stated, which is a trap for anyone who does not use the card every month. Its SEPA pay-in fee is 1.99%, higher than KeyOne’s 0.8%.
UPay claims support in 180+ countries and virtual and physical options, but says it does not serve residents of certain countries, with the list changing as regulators and issuers move. Its KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the same country as yours — a real friction point if you hold a passport from one country and live in another, which is exactly KeyOne’s situation. Neither its fees nor its card currency costs are stated; the card page only says conversion may occur during payment depending on network and settlement.
Kemy is the one to look at if you want cash in hand, because it offers a physical Mastercard with contactless, plus unlimited virtual cards. The price is honest and expensive: $250 for the physical card with DHL Express included, valid three years, one per user, plus $10 a month. Virtual is $15 for three years plus $2 a month. Its transaction fee is 3.5% + $1 on virtual, which is heavy for everyday spend, and its own pages contradict each other on the main-account deposit fee — 8% in one place, 5% in another. Cashback is not mentioned.
The honest summary: there is no obvious winner here, only different shapes of compromise. KeyOne’s compromise is the lowest ongoing cost in the group. Bitrefill’s is rewards and reach. Kemy’s is a card you can hold. None of these fixes the fact that crypto card programmes have a habit of ending.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend KeyOne to you if all four of these are true: you live in one of the 70 listed countries, your spending is mostly online or in Apple Pay, you are comfortable keeping a balance in the app rather than holding a card connected to a current account, and you want a card that costs nothing to hold. In that situation it is hard to beat on price, and the fee table is unusually transparent for a young product.
I would point you elsewhere if any of these apply:
- You need cash from an ATM. Cash-point withdrawals are not described on KeyOne’s public pages. Not disclosed is not the same as free.
- You need a plastic card. There is no physical version, full stop. Kemy and Bitrefill both offer one.
- You want rewards. There is no cashback stated anywhere on KeyOne.
- You depend on Google Pay. Not stated.
- You want the card’s balance inside the EU banking system. KeyOne is not a bank, and the balance is not covered by a deposit guarantee.
- You are very sensitive to counterparty risk. You hold crypto in self-custody, which is genuinely good, but the card and its issuer are not, and the partner’s licences are not named.
The single most useful thing to do before depositing anything is to send support one message and ask three questions: which network to use for USDC and USDT, which merchant categories are restricted, and what the cash-point withdrawal terms are. All three are gaps in the public pages, all three are things you would rather know now than after. Support runs a Telegram bot at @keyone_supportbot, an in-app chat under Profile > Support, an X account at @keyoneapp for status, and email; the stated response time is usually within a few hours and always within 24 hours, though office hours are not stated.
Frequently asked questions
What is KeyOne card?
KeyOne is a virtual Visa card issued inside a mobile app, with a euro balance behind it that you can fund from USDC, USDT, SEPA, ACH or another Visa/Mastercard. It has no physical version: after approval the card number, expiry and CVV appear in the app. The card is issued by Wirex under its own regulatory permissions, while KeyOne Solution Ltd provides the technology interface and states it is not a bank.
Is KeyOne a bank?
No. KeyOne Solution Ltd says plainly that it is not a bank, and the cardholder agreement confirms the balance is not covered by any deposit guarantee or investor compensation scheme. The company is incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis under number C 63589, and the governing law of its terms is the same. Crypto held in the embedded self-custody wallet is yours, with keys on your device.
Who can get a KeyOne card?
Residents of 70 listed countries, spanning Europe, Asia, the Gulf, Africa, Latin America and Australia. Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan, Thailand, the UAE, Bahrain, Nigeria, Kenya, South Africa, Brazil, Mexico and Australia are among them. Russia and Belarus are not on the list, and for any unlisted country the page says you cannot apply yet. Citizenship is not discussed at all.
What does a KeyOne card cost?
On the Free plan, EUR 0 to issue and EUR 0 a month. Payments in the balance currency are 0% and currency conversion is up to 1%. Crypto top-up is 0.8% plus the network fee on Free, 0.33% on Premium. SEPA and ACH top-up is 0.8% on Free and 0.3% on Premium. Topping up from another Visa or Mastercard costs about 4.5%. Premium itself is EUR 149 for 12 months.
Is the KeyOne card really free?
Free to hold, yes, and free to pay in euros. But “free” stops at the edges. Converting a currency costs up to 1%, converting more than EUR 1,000 in-app in a month jumps to 1.25%, and every euro conversion or foreign-currency payment is a separate charge. Card funding from another card at about 4.5% is the expensive door. Cash-point withdrawal fees are not stated, so treat them as unknown rather than free.
How do I top up a KeyOne card?
Four ways: USDC or USDT crypto, SEPA or ACH bank transfer, and top-up from another Visa or Mastercard. SEPA covers many EU countries and the UK; Faster Payments and ACH are UK-only. Crypto withdrawal out works on the Base network only, with no KeyOne fee. The network for crypto deposits is not named on the page, and sending on the wrong one can lose the funds, so confirm with support first.
Can I add the KeyOne card to Apple Wallet?
Yes, Apple Pay is supported and described as adding the card in one tap. Google Pay is not stated either way. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the device stores its own account number in the Secure Element rather than your actual card number, and each payment uses a single-use code — so the tokenised number is worth less to a thief than the card details themselves.
Where can I use the KeyOne card?
Anywhere a Visa card is accepted and virtual card details are accepted, in practice online shops and in-person contactless via your phone. Spending is capped at EUR 20,000 per card per month on Free and EUR 30,000 on Premium, with the same figure per single transaction, though individual limits may come out lower after partner compliance checks. Some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted, but the list is not published.
Is a KeyOne card safe?
There are real safeguards: self-custody keys on your own device, 3-D Secure approval in the app, and the ability to freeze a compromised card instantly. The trade-offs are equally real. Losing your device or PIN can mean permanent loss of crypto, with no recovery. The balance is not bank-guaranteed. And no independent reviews exist yet — no Trustpilot or Reddit page, and too few App Store ratings to show a score.
Should I delete my KeyOne account?
Deletion is straightforward: request it in the app under Profile > Support or by email, and the card and accounts are closed with Wirex within 30 days. Withdraw your balances first, because KYC and transaction records are kept for five years regardless. If you only want the card gone and not the account, you can close the card in the app at any time without affecting the balance.
Virtual cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
