The straightforward Australian crypto card — and the price of using it abroad
CoinJar’s payment card is one of the less noisy crypto cards you can find. There is no tier ladder, no welcome bonus, no annual fee, no interest, and a single Mastercard that works as a prepaid reloadable card in Australian dollars. For an Australian resident who already holds crypto and already trusts the exchange, that simplicity is genuinely attractive. For everyone else — and for anyone who spends outside Australia, or who cares about which coins and networks they can load — the card’s own pages leave a surprising number of blanks, and I want to walk you through both what I found and what simply is not stated.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
I gave it 5.5 / 10. That is not a bad score for a plain, boring card that does one job; it is a middling score because the product is competent where it is documented and silent where you would want documentation most.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | 18+, Australian resident, verified CoinJar account; the card page names no countries at all |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance and replacement free; purchases 1%, foreign transactions “2.99%+”, ATM 1%, dispute $27.50 AUD |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | You pick a crypto as the “Spend” account and it auto-converts at CoinJar rates; the list of coins is not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131), CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative; exchange Trustpilot 3.3/5 across 2,549 reviews, one complaint about the card |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Free physical and digital Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals at 1% |
Who this suits: Australian residents spending from a crypto balance in AUD, who want one card that behaves like a normal Mastercard and who are content to let an exchange decide what a purchase costs. Who it does not suit: anyone outside Australia, anyone who wants to hold their own keys while paying, anyone who travels and spends heavily abroad, and anyone who will be annoyed by a 1% fee on every single shop.
Who they will give you the card to
Short answer: Australian residents only, over 18, with a verified CoinJar account. That is the whole eligibility rule as far as it is publicly stated.
The coin’s own Product Disclosure Statement puts it plainly — you need to be 18 or older, a resident of Australia, and hold a verified CoinJar account. The card page itself, though, does not state eligibility or countries at all. That distinction matters more than it sounds. If you are reading this outside Australia, the card page will not tell you no; it will simply not tell you anything, and the rule you actually have to satisfy is buried in the exchange’s legal terms rather than on the page you probably found this review from.
So if you are in Sydney or Melbourne with an Australian address and an account in good standing, this is a card you can realistically get. If you are in London, Berlin, Dubai or São Paulo, everything else on this page is of academic interest only, unless you happen to be an Australian resident as well. Eligibility requires a verified CoinJar account; the card documents do not state what verification levels exist, how long verification takes, or what the rejection reasons are. If your verification is stuck, you are stuck at the exchange, not at the card.
How to get it
You apply through the exchange you already have an account with, because you cannot have this card without one. The application path is not documented on the card page — verification requirements, processing time and rejection reasons are all not stated — but the sequence is straightforward: get a CoinJar account, get it verified, then request the card from the app.
What you end up with is a prepaid reloadable Mastercard in Australian dollars, issued by EML, available as a free physical card plus a digital card. Both. That combination is genuinely more useful than a virtual-only card, because a physical card is what gets accepted in the places that make a fuss about prepaid and foreign BINs. The digital card is what goes into Apple Pay and Google Pay.
Delivery is where the silence again bites. The physical card is free and the replacement card is free as well — the fee table in the PDS lists Card Issue Fee Free and Replacement Card Fee Free — but the card documents do not state which countries it ships to, or how long it takes. If you are outside Australia and wondering whether it will arrive, you will have to ask support rather than read a page.
Fees: what it really costs you
Here is the honest answer: nothing to open it, 1% to use it, and rather more than 1% to use it away from home.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | No fee |
| Replacement card | Free |
| Monthly or annual account fee | Not stated on the card page; no account keeping fee line charged in the fee table |
| In-store and online purchases | 1% (returned in Rewards points) |
| Foreign transactions | “2.99%+” on top of the Mastercard rate |
| ATM | 1% of the withdrawal plus the ATM operator’s own fee |
| Dispute fee | $27.50 per unsuccessful disputed transaction |
| Maximum point-of-sale transaction | $5,000 |
| Daily point-of-sale limit | $5,000, including ATM withdrawals |
| ATM | $1,000 per day; minimum $20, maximum $1,000 per withdrawal |
All fees in the PDS are in Australian dollars and GST inclusive, which is a small reassurance: there is no second currency layer hiding in the fee schedule.
Now let me take three ordinary payments and run them through, because a percentage fee means something very different depending on what you are buying.
A $30 flat white and a sandwich in Melbourne. This is the card’s home turf. The 1% purchase fee applies. The fee comes back to you as CoinJar Rewards points at one point per $1 spent, and points offset future trades or can be redeemed in the Rewards Store. Whether that round trip is a real discount or a small comfort depends on how you use it. The foreign fee does not apply, the ATM fee does not apply, and you have an ordinary Mastercard that the shop will not look at twice.
A $45 online subscription paid from a card you cancelled a minute too late. Same 1%, charged the same way. Note the phrasing: in-store and online purchases are both 1%, so the fact that it is online buys you nothing here. What may buy you something is the authentication layer — 3-D Secure, branded Identity Check on Mastercard, adding an identity check to online payments so the issuer can either approve silently or challenge you with a one-time code or biometric.
A €28 dinner in Lisbon, then €40 from an ATM. This is where the “2.99%+” stops being a footnote. The foreign transaction is the Mastercard rate plus a 2.99% foreign exchange fee, and the plus sign is doing real work there — it means the total is the network rate and then at least that much on top. The cash withdrawal adds 1% plus whatever the Portuguese ATM charges you, and that operator fee is outside CoinJar’s control entirely. I also cannot tell you what a $27.50 dispute fee does to your evening: it is charged per unsuccessful dispute, which is a design choice that many cardholders find reasonable and many find insulting.
One thing worth knowing even if it never applies to you: refunds go back into the CoinJar Everyday Account in Australian dollars, not in the original crypto. If a shop returns your $30 coffee, you receive AUD, and converting that AUD back into whatever you originally held is your problem, at whatever spread CoinJar is offering that day.
How to Top up the card
The card has no balance of its own. It spends the “Spendable Balance” of your CoinJar Everyday Account, and you fund that by choosing a crypto as your “Spend” account — at which point CoinJar converts it at its own rates, automatically, every time you pay.

That is the whole mechanism, and it is elegant in the way a single moving part is elegant. There is no manual top-up button, no network selection screen, no per-transfer fee to misread. And that is also where the documentation runs out: the coins and networks you can choose are not listed anywhere public, and the card’s top-up fee, minimum and network fees are not stated either. CoinJar’s 2021 launch press release mentioned 30 digital currencies at a flat 1% conversion, but that is a launch announcement from five years ago, not a current commitment.
Be precise about what the 1% purchase fee is and is not. When you pay, CoinJar charges its normal trading fee to sell your crypto for the purchase, and then the card’s 1% applies on top. So a conversion with its own spread plus a one percent card fee is the real cost of a purchase funded from a non-USD coin — the fee table does not hide this, but neither does the card page volunteer it.
There is one more funding-adjacent fact that matters if you leave: on cancellation or revocation, the remaining value on the card is returned to CoinJar and paid into your CoinJar Everyday Account in Australian dollars, once no pending authorisations remain and you instruct them to do it. You can cancel the card yourself at any time. The issuer can cancel it with 14 days’ notice, or immediately where it suspects misuse or false information.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is the strongest part of the offer, and I scored it 9 out of 10 without much hesitation. A free physical Mastercard, a free digital Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, contactless under a $100 limit mentioned in the app, hold and unblock controls, PIN change, transaction history, and a tokenised card in the mobile wallets. In the app you manage the card; there is iOS and Android support.
It is a wallet card more than a travel card. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. That is a real security property, not a marketing line. It is also worth knowing that the issuer can restrict the tokenised number — blocking it for magnetic stripe, for phone, for website — which is a feature when you lose your phone and a puzzle when you have not.
App reviews, and I want to flag these clearly as unofficial: third-party listings put the App Store at 4.1/5 from 123 reviews, with one aggregator noting a listing updated 7 March 2026 and another giving 128 ratings, and Google Play at 3.91 from roughly 2.6 thousand ratings, searched on 20 October 2026. These are not the card’s official figures and I would not lean on them, but they are consistent with each other and neither suggests an app in crisis.
The realistic friction point is declines, and not from fraud. A merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and which country issued your card, and if that country differs from the billing address it may apply extra scrutiny — which is precisely why a card issued in one country looks foreign in a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright for that reason. Address verification is mostly a US, Canada and UK thing and generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, which causes declines of its own. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. When something goes wrong, the route is Mastercard’s chargeback process under the scheme rules: notify EML as soon as possible, the general time limit is 90 days from the transaction, you have 10 days to supply extra information or the chargeback can be lost or reversed, complaints get a resolution attempt within 5 days and otherwise within 30 days, and then it escalates to AFCA.
What can go wrong
I found no card-specific complaint pattern in the official material, and no Reddit or Trustpilot thread where card users had formed a recurring theme. One third-party news-level review names the 1% purchase fee as the main drawback, which matches my own reading.
The complaints that do exist are about the exchange, not the card, and I would rather show you them than pretend they are about something else. Trustpilot for coinjar.com — the exchange, not the card — sits at a TrustScore 3.3 from 2,549 reviews with 17% one-star, read on 20 October 2026. The themes: transfers and withdrawals held “under review” or on Travel Rule holds, June to October 2026, including a BTC transfer paused more than four days in August 2026; identity re-checks and account freezes between May and September 2026; slow support across June to October 2026. Exactly one card complaint surfaced: a virtual Mastercard “constantly having technical issues”, dated 18 October 2026. CoinJar replies to 100% of negative reviews, which is worth something.
Read those themes as what they are. On this card, “account frozen” and “identity re-check” are not abstract — the card draws on the exchange account, so a freeze there is a freeze on your spending. The card is custodial: funds sit in your CoinJar account and EML issues the card against it. That is the standard trade-off. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and the sector has a long record of it — Mt. Gox around US$350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. What I could not find is any statement on safeguarding or insurance for these funds, so I am not going to imply there is protection here.
Then the structural risk that has nothing to do with CoinJar: a card programme can be closed. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically run in an order: notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. CoinJar’s programme is not in that history — it launched in Australia in August 2021 and the UK GBP card in February 2022, and CoinJar’s own blog in February 2026 still describes the card, with no 2026 programme change found. But the mechanism is real and I would rather you know about it than read about it later.
The regulatory layer is worth one paragraph. The card is issued under a PDS dated 2021 by EML Payment Solutions Limited, AFSL 404131, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative. Card money in Australia runs through e-money and payments rules; if you are reading this from Europe, MiCA covers the crypto side (custody, exchange, transfer) while the card itself is regulated separately as a payment service, which is why a crypto card often depends on two licences. E-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but those are not bank deposits and deposit guarantee schemes do not automatically apply. The transition period under MiCA runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider is authorised or refused, whichever comes first, and ESMA keeps an interim public register you can check.
One more category fact that catches people: KYC is not optional for regulated businesses, and it is not only about your sign-up. It requires ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. EU rules require due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end it — which is exactly why accounts close or freeze pending documents. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth as much as your address.
What to take instead
Only one of the alternatives below reaches a similar mark, and none of them is a drop-in replacement if you are an Australian resident who simply wants to pay with crypto. Here is the field.
Bybit Card — 6.0 / 10. The widest reach of the four: the official help center lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and the application asks for your country of residence with unsupported countries registered as interest only. Its own cards page says the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. Virtual and physical, with networks varying by region — Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Mexico, Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru, Visa credit in Asia Pacific — and card currency following the country. Virtual issuance is free “until further notice”; physical costs 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD or USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan, 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, nothing in Brazil and Mexico. Conversion runs 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina, and FX is 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico. Its structure is also prepaid-style: the card draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, selling crypto only when fiat runs short, with USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH and XRP in a priority order you can reorder. Rewards from 5 October 2026 apply only to crypto-funded transactions, in a tier ladder from Base at 2% to Infinite at 10%, with monthly caps from 5 USD to 600 USD. Compare that with CoinJar’s single tier and single 1% fee: more moving parts, more upside if you use them, more to understand.
Coinbase Card — 6.4 / 10. The highest mark in this comparison and the simplest proposition. Available in all US states except Hawaii, US-only, with account opening following USA PATRIOT Act identity rules for name, address, date of birth and ID. A Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. “Zero spending fees and no annual fees” — but a spread applies whenever Coinbase buys, sells or trades your crypto at the moment of payment, so the cost lives in the rate rather than the receipt. Funding is a linked bank account, a paycheck deposit, or crypto sitting on Coinbase. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase, US card users only, with a variable rate shown in the app. If you are American, this is the one to look at before CoinJar; the trade is no card fee in exchange for a conversion spread you cannot see on the receipt.
OKX — 6.2 / 10. The European answer, and the newest of the set. EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded; the rule is that an EEA user is a user of OKX Europe Ltd., the MiCA-licensed entity. A Mastercard, euro-denominated, virtual, linked to OKX Pay — the press release does not mention a physical card. Card fee none, no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee. The conversion spread is the only cost, and here the sources conflict: an explainer says 0.1% as of May 2026 while the launch release says a 0.4% market spread. You should treat the lower figure with caution. Funding is USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay, other coins converted first, no auto top-up, and the payment declines if the balance is short. Cashback applies only to USDG purchases, not USDC, with EUR monthly caps from 10 at 2% up to 1,000 at 5% or above.
A pattern is worth naming. Every one of these cards is custodial — the provider holds the crypto, converts it, and the card spends a fiat balance. That is not a flaw in any single product; it is how the category works. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but then you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return the funds. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend it.
Who I would recommend it to
If you live in Australia, hold crypto you would rather spend than sell in a hurry, and you want one card with no tiers, no annual fee and no interest — this is a fair card, and 9 out of 10 on everyday use is not politeness. The free physical card matters more than it sounds, Apple Pay and Google Pay are both there, the rewards point softens the 1% a little, and cash withdrawals at 1% are cheaper than most crypto cards in this category.
I would look elsewhere if you spend regularly outside Australia. “2.99%+” plus the Mastercard rate, plus 1% on ATM withdrawals plus the operator’s fee, is a lot to pay for the convenience of not converting first. I would also look elsewhere if you want to know which coins or networks you can load — that list is not published — or if you want custody in your own hands, because this card never offers it. And if you are outside Australia entirely, this is not your card; eligibility requires Australian residency regardless of how good the card looks.
Finally, a word about tax that I am not qualified to give and will not try. Digital assets are treated as property by the IRS, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. On a card like this, every purchase funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. Speak to a professional about your own situation.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CoinJar card?
It is a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard issued by EML and denominated in Australian dollars, spending the AUD value of your CoinJar Everyday Account’s “Spendable Balance”. You choose a crypto as your “Spend” account and CoinJar converts it at its own rates when you pay. You get a free physical card plus a free digital one. It is not a credit card: there is no borrowing and no interest.
How does CoinJar card work?
Every purchase converts crypto to AUD and spends that AUD. There is no separate card balance to load — the card simply draws on your Everyday Account, funded by the crypto you designated as Spend, with CoinJar’s normal trading fee charged when it sells. The card fee is then 1% on in-store and online purchases. Points come back at one per $1 spent.
Who can get the CoinJar card?
Per the CoinJar PDS: you must be 18 or older, a resident of Australia, and hold a verified CoinJar account. Notably, the card’s own page states no eligibility or countries at all, so the rule lives in the exchange’s legal terms. Verification levels, processing times and rejection reasons are not stated in the card documents.
Is CoinJar a bank?
No. The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131) under a Product Disclosure Statement, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative. Customer funds held by an e-money institution must be safeguarded by segregation or insurance, but that is not the same as a bank deposit and deposit guarantee schemes do not automatically cover it.
Does the CoinJar card require KYC?
Yes, indirectly — you cannot get the card without a verified CoinJar account, so identity verification is a precondition. KYC rules generally require regulated businesses to verify customers and keep monitoring transactions. Notably, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction and may end the relationship, which is why accounts freeze.
Is the CoinJar card free?
Opening it is free: the card issuance fee is “No fee” and the replacement card fee is free in the PDS fee table. There is no account keeping fee line charged. The card page does not state a monthly or annual figure. Spending it is not free: 1% on purchases, “2.99%+” on foreign transactions, 1% on ATM withdrawals.
Can I use the CoinJar card in my country?
The card page does not list countries. Eligibility requires Australian residency, though the card itself may be used wherever Mastercard is accepted, subject to spending limits: $5,000 maximum per point-of-sale transaction and $5,000 per day including ATM withdrawals. Foreign transactions carry the Mastercard rate plus a 2.99% fee, and I could not find the free ATM allowance stated anywhere.
Is the CoinJar card safe?
The card is custodial: your crypto sits in your CoinJar account and EML issues the card against it, so you are trusting a custodian with counterparty and hack risk. App safeguards exist — freeze and unblock, PIN change, tokenised mobile wallets — but safeguarding or insurance is not stated. The exchange has drawn Trustpilot complaints about holds, freezes and slow support.
Is the CoinJar card worth it?
For an Australian resident spending mostly at home, I think yes: no annual fee, a free physical card, and one predictable 1% fee. For travel, no — “2.99%+” foreign plus 1% ATM plus the operator’s fee stacks up. If you are outside Australia it is not available to you at all. My overall mark is 5.5 out of 10.
Where can I contact CoinJar about the card?
Support goes to [email protected], with a help centre at support.coinjar.com, and official complaints to [email protected]. The issuer has its own address at [email protected] — that is the one to use for a card problem, since EML is the party that issued the card and runs chargebacks under Mastercard scheme rules.
Exchange cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
