A dollar card you refill with stablecoins — good top-up, thin on trust

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Meru is a card you fill with stablecoins and then spend like an ordinary dollar Visa — in shops, online and at some cash machines. On paper it is built for exactly one job: getting a working payment card when your own bank will not give you one. That job it does unapologetically, and the top-up side of it is the strongest part of the offer. But the same thinness that makes the card useful to people without banking access makes it hard for me to recommend without reservations: the issuer bank is not named, the support story is patchy, and the number of public complaints is small but sharp.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Meru works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 7.3 out of 10. That is not a low score for a product with real limitations; it is a decent score that reflects genuine strengths sitting next to genuine gaps. If you are a dollar saver holding USDC or USDT who needs a card, the strengths probably outweigh the gaps for you. If you want a bank you can call, or you spend mostly in euros and pounds, or you need cash machines in several countries, this is not the card for you.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who the card suits, and who it does not

Meru suits people who earn or save in dollars, hold stablecoins, and need a payment card that does not depend on a local bank approving them. The card is designed around stablecoin top-ups — the fee table scores a perfect 10 out of 10 on top-up options — and it works in countries where a conventional application would be declined or ignored.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Meru starts with a transfer to the right network

It does not suit people who want a bank account with deposit protection, a customer service team on the phone, or a card that works identically in every country. Meru’s own help centre is in Spanish, its support runs through in-app chat, and its card is a single USD product rather than a multi-currency one. If you are paid in euros and buy mostly in Europe, you will pay conversion costs on almost everything and get little in return.

The score breakdown below is the whole picture in one place. Each mark is out of 10, and the reasons are mine, drawn from what the card’s own pages state and what users report.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 The card says an account can be opened “from anywhere in the world”, with a footnote that is not explained and no country list published
Cost 7 Virtual card free, physical card 5 USD, no maintenance fee; 1% on USD purchases outside the US, 1.2% in other currencies; 1% + 1 USD to top up with crypto; 0 USD at the ATM as far as Meru is concerned
Top-up options 10 USDC and USDT across Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum
Reliability and complaints 5 Operator R3MIT Solutions Inc. (Florida, registered with FinCEN), issuing bank not named; Trustpilot around 3.0 out of 5 on a handful of reviews; App Store 4.7 out of 5
Everyday use 7 Physical and virtual Visa; ATM with no Meru charge up to 250 USD per withdrawal; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed

Total: 7.3 / 10

Notice where the strength and the weakness sit. The top-up line is genuinely excellent — a stablecoin deposit on almost any major network, with a flat fee. The reliability line is the drag: no named bank behind the card, a support channel that is chat-only, and a small public complaint record that includes locked accounts and unresolved withdrawals.

Will they give you the card?

Yes for a great many people, but the honest answer includes a caveat the card itself does not resolve. Meru’s page says an account can be opened “from anywhere in the world”, followed by an asterisk. The asterisk is never explained. There is no published list of supported countries, and the site does not say whether the rule runs on citizenship or on residence. That matters more than it sounds: a card will accept one and refuse the other, and only you know which you hold.

So the practical answer is: you need a valid national identity document and you need to be an adult, and whether your particular country is welcome is something the card does not tell you in advance. If your country has a strict capital or payment regime, that absence of information will not be a comfort. Ask support before you send any document.

How to get it

The application path is short and simple: a national identity document is what Meru asks for (“con tu documento nacional de identidad”). The verification itself is one described step — a photo of a valid ID, accepted as a passport, DNI or cédula, plus a facial check if they ask for one. Adults only. Beyond that, the card’s public pages do not say how the steps are arranged in detail, how long processing takes, why an application might be refused, whether proof of address is needed, or what age rules apply beyond adulthood. Those gaps are normal for a product this size, but they are gaps.

You can choose between a physical card and a virtual one. The card is described as an international Visa, issued in the United States, and it holds a US dollar account. The material is not stated. The virtual card is free; the physical one costs 5 USD, and shipping is charged according to the destination country, with the amount not published.

Fees and what a payment really costs

Meru’s marketing says there are no additional charges and links to a fees page that, on the version I checked, shows no amounts. The published schedule elsewhere is short and readable, and it is the schedule to plan around.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Meru payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Fee or limit
Virtual card Free
Physical card 5 USD
Shipping Depends on the country of delivery; amount not stated
Account opening and maintenance Free, no monthly fee, no tiers or plans
Purchase in the US in USD 0%
Purchase outside the US in USD 1%
Purchase outside the US in another currency 1.2%
ATM withdrawal, Meru’s charge 0 USD; the ATM operator or Visa conversion may charge
ATM per transaction Up to 250 USD
ATM per day 3 withdrawals
Card purchases per day 10,000 USD

There is only one tier. The site describes no plans, no paid membership, no monthly charge. That simplicity is worth something in a category where subscriptions are normal.

Now three ordinary payments, to make the percentages real.

Coffee in a US city, dollars. You tap, the shop sees a US Visa, you pay nothing extra. This is the case Meru is good at.

Coffee in a European city, euros. The shop charges you in euros, Visa converts to dollars at the day’s rate, and Meru adds 1.2%. Your one-and-a-bit euro coffee now costs meaningfully more than the sign says. If you travel and buy in local currency most of the time, this is the number that decides the card for you.

A subscription billed in dollars from outside the US. The merchant bills dollars, you are outside the US, and Meru takes 1%. Add it to whatever the merchant itself charges for handling a foreign card.

Two things about the conversion are worth understanding rather than resenting. The card holds a single USD balance. A purchase in another currency is charged locally, sent to Visa, and converted at the current rate before Meru’s fee applies. There are separate US, IBAN and MX accounts, but the balance behind the card itself is dollars. So every non-dollar purchase is a conversion, and the fee tiers above tell you exactly how expensive that conversion is.

The zero-fee ATM line needs the caveat it comes with. Meru charges 0 USD, but the ATM’s own operator or Visa’s conversion can still charge you, and withdrawals must be switched on in the app first (Tarjetas, then Habilitar retiros en ATM). MoneyGram cash pickup in local currency across 200+ countries is also mentioned. Neither the ATM network’s reach nor the pickup terms are described in detail.

How to top it up

This is the best part of the card, and it is why I scored it 10 out of 10 on top-up options. Meru’s own words are that you can deposit with “tus criptomonedas favoritas” — your favourite cryptocurrencies — with the specific coins and networks listed on the fees page rather than in the marketing copy. The published schedule covers a lot of ground: USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad at 1% + 1 USD; USDT on Tron at 1% + 5 USDT; BSC at 1% + 3 USDC; Ethereum at 1% + 10 USDC; and transfers straight from an exchange at 1% + 1 USDC.

Those figures make the differences obvious. Sending on Ethereum can cost more in flat fee than on Polygon, and Tron has its own pricing. The network you already use, and the stablecoin you already hold, decide your top-up cost more than anything else. There is no minimum top-up stated, and the exact fee is shown in the app before you confirm.

The deposit routes go wider than crypto. Bank transfer, PIX and cash are also mentioned, and the personal deposit fees are laid out by rail and country. ACH is 2 USD globally, in Mexico and Colombia, and 3 USD in Spain; SEPA is 2 USD globally and in Colombia, 3 USD in Spain; SPEI is 2 USD; PSE is 0.30% + 0.3 USD; PIX is 0; credit card through Stripe is 5.40% + 1 USD; and MoneyGram is 0.5 USD. A wire costs 15 USD globally and 25 USD in Spain. The credit-card number, 5.40% + 1 USD, is the one to look away from — you are paying more than five percent to borrow from your own card issuer to fund this one.

Getting money back out is where I would slow down and read. ACH and SEPA withdrawals cost 0.75% + 1.5 USD; a wire 0.75% + 25 USD; Swift 0.4% + 15 USD. Crypto withdrawals are 1% + 1 USD for USDC and USDT on Polygon or Stellar, and 1.50% + 5 USDC on Tron. PIX is 0 and MoneyGram is 0.5 USD. If you plan to move money out often, the crypto routes on Polygon or Stellar are the cheapest on paper.

Closing an account is described in the terms as: withdraw the balance, notify Meru, uninstall the app. That is worth reading before you ever fund it — the balance has to come off the card first.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, Meru behaves like a prepaid dollar card, which has one large advantage: it cannot overdraw, because there is nothing behind the balance but the balance. Your spending limits are yours to set in the app, and the card can be frozen and unfrozen there too, with real-time notifications.

The physical and virtual Visa cards work in the places a Visa works — that is the whole promise. What I could not find disclosed is almost as important as what I found. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere on the public pages. So whether you can add this card to your phone’s wallet, and whether you then have tap-to-pay on a device that has become your main one, is genuinely unknown. If paying by tapping your phone is how you shop, that is a question to ask support before you commit.

On the virtual card there is a specific and useful restriction list: betting platforms, adult sites and dating apps, virtual wallets, and streaming and video-game platforms blocked by geolocation. Named merchants blocked include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. Limits come from the issuing bank and the merchants, and the card does not say what those limits are. If a large part of your spending is on any of those categories, the virtual card will refuse it by design.

There is no cashback. The site lists “descuentos y promociones especiales en comercios seleccionados” — discounts and special promotions at selected shops — which is a different thing from a rate you can count on.

The app itself is a reasonable sign. The iOS listing (iPhone and iPad, iOS 15.5 and later) sat at 4.7 out of 5 from about 1.7 thousand ratings when I read it in October 2026. A Google Play listing exists, but I did not read its rating.

One more practical note that catches people out. A declined payment can leave a hold on your money that takes days to clear — typically up to a week. If you rely on the full balance, a failed online payment can quietly freeze a chunk of it.

What can go wrong

Nothing dramatic has surfaced: I found no official incident involving Meru. But the small picture of user reports is consistent enough to take seriously, and none of it is reassuring in the same direction.

On Trustpilot, the meru.app page showed around 3.0 out of 5 from 5 reviews; the company has not invited reviews, so the number is small and self-selected. A Spanish-language review reports a third-party transfer through Hotmart that was not credited, and then Meru stopped accepting third-party payments at all. Another says a rejected withdrawal was still debited and that support is close to nonexistent. One user could not open the app for about a day and reached the company through Instagram. Two more are one-star fraud accusations with no detail, undated. A second Trustpilot page, getmeru.com, lists 39 reviews — I did not see the overall score — including a one-star review from 20 June 2025 about being locked out for more than a week with roughly 20 support tickets closed unresolved. In the App Store reviews, the recurring themes are slow support, an unresolved withdrawal, and difficulty closing an account.

Read that list as a pattern rather than a verdict. Five reviews prove nothing about a company. What they suggest is where the weak points are: third-party payments, withdrawals, and support responsiveness. Those are exactly the three things you cannot do without.

The bigger unknown is the plumbing behind the card. The operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida company registered as a money services business with FinCEN. The issuing bank is not named on the page I checked, and the legal entity and licences are not named either. In this category that matters more than it might look. The card network routes the payment, but the issuer holds the programme and the money — and you are being asked to trust a name you cannot find.

The terms add one reassuring sentence and one silence. Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf”: the app only displays a balance, meaning it is not holding your crypto for you. That is good. What is not addressed is deposit or insurance protection for the fiat balance itself, and the app’s store text claiming funds are “100 % protegido” is not backed up anywhere in the terms. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned. Treat the balance as cash in someone else’s hands, because that is what it is.

Support is in-app chat — the icon at the top right — with a support email listed but not given, and social channels on X, Facebook, Instagram, Discord and LinkedIn. The help centre is in Spanish. Hours are not stated. If your Spanish is thin, you are relying on a translator.

On disputes, you have 30 calendar days from the transaction, by email to [email protected] or in-app chat. The review takes up to 15 business days. There is a 30 USD fee per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds — read that twice, because you pay to lose as well as to win. A reversal is not guaranteed, and chargebacks are not addressed at all.

Finally, the rules you did not ask about but should know. The fee page was last updated in August 2026. No licence changes or fines came up in my search. That is neutral, not positive.

What to take instead

Three cards I looked at, so you can compare rather than choose blind.

Alternative Score Card Where it fits
RedotPay 6.9 Virtual and physical, USD and HKD Best if you want an explicit country list and will pay for the card
Wirex 6.7 Virtual plus physical Visa or Mastercard Best if you want cash-back in a token and a broader region list
Bitpanda 6.5 Physical Visa debit, EUR only Best if you are in the euro area and want to spend straight from crypto

RedotPay is the one to look at if Meru’s open-ended “anywhere in the world” bothers you. RedotPay publishes two lists, and they word the rule differently — which is itself informative. Its KYC list says citizens of the listed countries cannot complete verification or use the service, naming Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bouvet Island, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo (DR), Croatia, Cuba, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kosovo, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Mainland China, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, North Korea, North Macedonia, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, United States, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe. Its card-issuance list, dated 28 August 2026 and covering 47 places, adds India, Indonesia, Morocco, Nepal, Singapore and Turkey, and says residents of those areas cannot get either a virtual or a physical card and cannot use those addresses for billing. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine and Serbia appear on both; Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither. RedotPay’s costs are heavier than Meru’s: 10 USD for a virtual card application, 100 USD for a physical one, non-refundable once paid, plus a paid tier at 12.90 USD monthly or 129 USD a year. Transaction fee 1%, 1.2% in a non-default currency, and some merchants add 1.5%. Account maintenance is waived. It offers a 5 USD welcome reward usable only on spending and valid 30 days.

Wirex spreads across more regions and pays cryptoback in its own token: Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8%. Card issuance is free in the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”, and it markets no annual or foreign-exchange fee. It also carries a one-off administrative fee of 30 GBP for accounts that breach its terms, and its fees are subject to change. Availability of physical and virtual cards depends on your region; Singapore terms say cash withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore and bar transactions with prohibited countries including Iran, Cuba and Syria. Fiat deposits by SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX are free.

Bitpanda is the euro-area option, and the most conventional: a physical Visa debit card, EUR only, one active card at a time, account opening and monthly costs free, first shipment free, reissue EUR 5.90 (EUR 9.90 for lost or stolen), EUR 10 per additional card. It needs a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country, and users verified through “Bankident” cannot order one. Spending comes from a chosen main asset — cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR — converted at the moment of payment, with a minimum payment of EUR 1. Its cashback figures do not reconcile: the body says 1% on crypto spending, the summary says “up to 2%”, and fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins are excluded.

Where Meru wins: top-up cost and network choice, and a free virtual card. Where it loses: an undisclosed country policy, an unnamed issuing bank, and a fee on disputes. If any of those last three decides you, take the alternative.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Meru to someone who already holds USDC or USDT, spends mainly in dollars, and cannot get a conventional card — a freelancer paid in stablecoins, a person in a country where a bank application goes nowhere, a user who wants a second virtual card for subscriptions. The 1% top-up and 10 USD daily purchase limit make it a working everyday card for that person, and the eleven-network stablecoin support means it fits the coins they actually have.

I would not recommend it to someone who expects a bank. There is no deposit-protection scheme named, no published insurer, no named issuer to complain to above the operator, and a 30 USD fee on every dispute whether it succeeds or fails. I would also be cautious for anyone whose spending is on betting, adult, dating, virtual-wallet, streaming or gaming platforms — the virtual card blocks those by design. And if you shop mainly by tapping your phone, ask first, because Apple Pay and Google Pay are simply not described.

If you are still unsure, the cheapest test is small: fund the minimum, buy something ordinary, then withdraw something small and see how long the money takes to come back. That exercises the three parts users complain about — top-up, spending, withdrawal — before you commit anything meaningful.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Meru card?

It is a US-issued Visa debit card that draws on a dollar balance you refill yourself, most often with USDC or USDT. Meru describes it as a physical and virtual international Visa tied to a USD account. It behaves like a prepaid card: crypto is converted and loaded as balance, and the card spends only that balance. The operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc. of Florida, registered as a money services business with FinCEN.

Is Meru a bank?

No, not as far as its public pages show. Meru is a card programme front-end; the issuer bank behind the Visa is not named on the page I checked. In this category the brand is often only a programme manager while a licensed bank or e-money institution holds the money, so “who is my bank” is the wrong question — “who holds my balance” is the right one.

Who can get a Meru card?

The card says an account can be opened from anywhere in the world, with an unexplained footnote and no country list published, and it does not say whether the rule follows citizenship or residence. You need a valid national ID — passport, DNI or cédula — a facial check if asked, and you must be an adult. Ask support about your own country before sending documents.

How much does the Meru card cost?

The virtual card is free. The physical card is 5 USD, plus shipping that depends on the destination country. There is no monthly or maintenance fee and no tiers. On spending you pay 0% on US purchases in dollars, 1% outside the US in dollars, and 1.2% outside the US in another currency. Meru’s ATM charge is 0 USD.

How do I top up the Meru card?

With crypto, mostly. USDC and USDT are accepted on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad at 1% + 1 USD; USDT on Tron at 1% + 5 USDT; BSC at 1% + 3 USDC; Ethereum at 1% + 10 USDC; and from exchanges at 1% + 1 USDC. Bank rails also work: PIX is free, ACH and SEPA are 2 USD in most places, and a wire is 15 USD.

Can I use Meru at an ATM?

Yes, with three conditions. Meru charges 0 USD, though the ATM operator or Visa conversion may charge, withdrawals are capped at 250 USD per transaction and 3 per day, and you must switch ATM withdrawals on in the app under Tarjetas before trying. Whether the ATM accepts your card is a separate matter from whether Meru permits the withdrawal.

Is the Meru card safe?

There is no reported incident, and the terms say Meru does not administer digital assets for you — the app only displays a balance. But the terms do not describe deposit or insurance protection for the fiat balance, two-factor authentication is not mentioned, and the issuing bank is not named. Card freeze, spending limits and real-time notifications are in the app. Treat the balance as cash held elsewhere, not as a bank deposit.

Why was my Meru payment declined?

The usual reasons are an empty or low balance, a category the virtual card blocks — betting, adult, dating, virtual wallets, streaming and gaming, plus named merchants like Binance and PayPal — or a merchant unwilling to take a prepaid or foreign card. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your balance for days, typically up to a week, so keep an eye on the available amount after a failed online payment.

What are the fees for disputing a transaction?

Thirty US dollars per disputed transaction, and it is deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds. You have 30 calendar days from the transaction to raise it, by email to [email protected] or in-app chat, and the review can take up to 15 business days. A reversal is not guaranteed and chargebacks are not addressed in the terms.

How do I close my Meru account?

The terms describe three steps: withdraw your balance, notify Meru, and uninstall the app. Some users report difficulty closing an account, so start the withdrawal well before you intend to leave — the crypto withdrawal routes carry their own fees, such as 1% + 1 USD on Polygon or Stellar.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team