Tonhub card review: a self-custody Visa debit that spends from your own wallet
The Tonhub card is a Visa debit that pulls from a crypto balance sitting in your own non-custodial wallet rather than from an account the card provider holds for you. That model sets it apart from most crypto cards on the market, but it also means the card ships with thin public information about its issuer, its fee schedule, and even its everyday limits. After spending time with the product page, the public documents, and the limited user feedback available, the card lands at a middling score: strong on the self-custody idea and weak on the basics a buyer needs to plan around. If you want a card that lets you keep your own keys and spend TON and USDC at a regular Visa terminal, the mechanic is here. If you need to know in advance what a coffee will cost, or how long a disputed charge will take, the answers are not.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Tonhub’s card is the right shape for a specific kind of user: someone already living in the European Union, already comfortable holding their own seed phrase, and already planning to spend TON or USDC rather than chase cashback. For that reader, the model is appealing, because the funds never leave your wallet until the moment of payment. For anyone else, the gaps are large. The card has no published fee schedule, no named issuer, no stated ATM terms, and the only public customer review on Trustpilot describes a dispute that took time to submit and still had not returned the money at the time of writing. The score below reflects what the product does well and what it does not.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it lands there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Age 18+ and EU residence are required; the “25+” countries figure is presented as usage stat, not as an eligibility list. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Official fees are not disclosed; third-party sources cite a 1.5% transaction fee. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | TON and USDC are shown on the page, USDT appears in a user review, and bank transfers via SEPA and SWIFT are offered, but specifics are thin. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | The card operator and issuer are not named; smart contracts are audited by Trail of Bits; the only Trustpilot review describes a drawn-out dispute that was won, but was not refunded by mid-February 2026. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | A virtual Visa Debit is issued after verification; Apple Pay and Google Pay support is reported unofficially; ATM terms are not stated. |
| Total | 5.3 / 10 | A self-custody card with a sensible model and a thin public paper trail. |
In plain terms, this is a card I would consider only if self-custody is the feature that matters most and I already have my wallet set up. If you want a card with a published fee table, named issuer, and a track record of resolved disputes, look at the alternatives in the section below.
Who will they give you the card
The eligibility rule on Tonhub’s public page is narrow: you must be at least 18 years old and a resident of the European Union. Citizenship is not separately discussed, so the rule is residence-based. Tonhub also describes the card as used in “25+” countries, but that figure is presented as a usage statistic, not as a list of places where you can sign up. The distinction matters because a card can be used at merchants in many countries while the issuer only takes applications from a smaller set.
The card is positioned as a Visa Debit, and it is virtual: a card number you can add to a wallet or type into a checkout form. The “physical” wording does not appear in the public materials I read. If you need a piece of plastic in your pocket, the public information does not promise one.
Identity verification is required before the card is issued, and the application’s “Verify Your identity” step is the gate. The specific documents and address proofs the process asks for are not stated on the public page, nor are the processing time, the different verification levels, or the reasons an application can be turned down. If you want to know in advance whether your documents will be accepted, you will not find that answer on the site; the only public commitments are the two conditions already named.
What does this mean for you in practice? If you are an EU resident over 18 with a clean identity document, the door is open. If you are a UK or US resident, the public pages do not show sign-up for your country, even if you already use other Visa merchants there. If you are an EU resident without standard documents, the verification step is the point where you will find out whether your paperwork meets the bar, and that bar is not described anywhere I could read.
How to get it
The flow described on Tonhub’s pages is short: install the Tonhub app, add a wallet, tap the Tonhub Card banner, and complete identity verification. Once verification clears, a virtual Visa Debit is issued. There is no mention of a waiting period, a delivery address to enter, or a card to mail. The card lives in the app.
Two parts of the flow are deliberately thin in the public materials. The first is what “verify your identity” actually means in practice: the types of documents accepted, whether a proof of address is required, and how long the review takes are not stated. The second is what happens if verification fails: rejection reasons, appeal options, and the timeline for a re-application are not stated either. This is not unusual for crypto card products, but it is worth knowing before you start.
A few small things the public page does tell you: the card is virtual, it is a Visa Debit, and it is issued after verification, not before. There is no public mention of a physical card, a metal tier, or multiple card designs. The setup is one app, one wallet, one virtual card.
If you are the kind of person who likes to read the manual before opening the box, this is not that product. The clearest description of the sign-up process is the in-app flow itself, and the only sure way to learn what verification requires is to start it.
What it really costs: the Fee picture
This is the section where the public information thins out the most. Tonhub has a “Fees & Conditions” section on its product page, but the specific amounts I could read are not stated. Issuance fees, monthly maintenance fees, conversion fees, foreign-exchange (FX) fees, ATM fees, daily and monthly spending caps: none of these are spelled out in the public materials I could verify. The card’s own pages point to on-chain, user-set spending limits (“Set custom spending limits directly on-chain”) rather than to a fixed table of caps, so the only spending ceiling you control from the app is the one you set yourself.
A third-party report (Forklog, November 2024) and a company profile on dealroom both cite a 1.5% transaction fee. This figure is unofficial and not confirmed by the card’s own published fee table, but it is the only transaction-cost figure I could find that is attributed to Tonhub from outside the company.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion | not stated |
| Foreign-exchange (FX) | not stated |
| ATM | not stated |
| Daily limit | not stated (user-set on-chain) |
| Monthly limit | not stated (user-set on-chain) |
| Reported transaction fee (unofficial) | 1.5% (per Forklog, Nov 2024) |
What does this mean for a real-world payment? Take three small examples.
Coffee at a local café, paid in the currency of the country you are in. If you hold USDC and the merchant settles in euros, your USDC has to convert to euros. The conversion cost (whether charged by the card or embedded in the exchange rate) is the figure that will decide whether the coffee is fair value, but that figure is not stated on the card’s own pages. The unofficial 1.5% transaction fee, if accurate, would be the headline number to plan around.
A subscription paid online, billed in US dollars, on a card whose account currency is not stated. The 1.5% figure (if it applies) and any FX margin would both be in play. The public materials do not separate them, so you cannot tell in advance which part of the cost is the card’s fee and which part is the FX spread.
An ATM withdrawal, amount not stated in advance. ATM terms are not stated, so neither the per-transaction fee nor the percentage is knowable before you try.
A second, related blank space is the ATM section: the daily and monthly caps that the card applies by default. Tonhub emphasises that you can set your own on-chain spending limits, but it does not say whether those limits are the only caps or whether the issuer also applies fixed caps underneath. If you need a hard ceiling for budgeting, the absence of a published number is a real gap.
The honest read is this: if precise, published costs matter to you, the public information is not enough. You either accept the unofficial 1.5% as a working estimate, or you set your own on-chain limit low and watch what the first few transactions actually cost.
How to Top up the card
The funding model is the most distinctive part of the Tonhub card and the part most worth understanding before you sign up. The card does not hold a balance with the issuer; it draws on the balance in your own self-custody wallet. The flow, as described on the product page, is: Tonhub pre-funds the payment to the merchant, then debits the equivalent amount from your wallet after the network and merchant confirm the transaction. If your balance is insufficient, the payment is declined. There is no overdraft, no credit line, and no “we’ll cover you for a few days while the transfer settles” cushion.

For what you can fund with, the public page shows TON and USDC. A user review also mentions paying with USDT, although that is a single user report and not a published list. Bank transfers via SEPA and SWIFT are offered as top-up options, which is useful for moving fiat in from a regular bank account. The fiat top-up fees, minimums, and processing times are not stated.
Two practical consequences follow from this model. The first is on-chain, not in the card app: every top-up is a real blockchain transfer from your wallet to the card contract, and the network fee is paid to the chain, not to Tonhub. If you are topping up a small amount on Ethereum, the gas fee can easily be larger than the top-up itself, so the network you choose is part of the cost. The second is timing: a transfer has to confirm before the balance is spendable, and during a busy period on the network that can take longer than a card swipe.
The card is non-custodial, which means the funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment. Tonhub also describes an “Emergency Withdrawal” feature that lets designated heirs retrieve card-linked funds on-chain. The wording is short, the operational detail is not stated, and it is worth treating as a feature to read carefully in the in-app documentation if it matters for your situation.
If you already keep a self-custody wallet funded with TON or USDC, the funding flow is familiar. If you are coming from a normal bank account, the SEPA and SWIFT routes exist, but the fees, the minimums, and the speed of credit are not stated, so the first top-up is a learning experience rather than a published one.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is in your app, the day-to-day experience is closer to a standard Visa Debit than to anything crypto-specific at the point of sale. You add the card to a wallet, or type the number into an online checkout, and the merchant sees a Visa. The card currency is not stated on the public page, and the BIN (the first six or eight digits of the card number) is not public, so a merchant’s automatic BIN checks could treat the card as foreign even if you are paying in your home currency.
A user review quoted on the product page mentions Apple Pay; a third-party article (Forklog, November 2024) says both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Neither of these is confirmed by the card’s own published pages, so I would treat both as unofficial. The full list of merchant categories that the card declines is not stated; gambling, adult content, and other common blocked categories are typical for cards in this category, but the specific block list for Tonhub is not published.
There is no published rewards or cashback scheme. If earning on your spend matters, the Tonhub card has no stated programme to compare against. The official documents simply do not address what, if anything, you earn back per transaction.
The card is managed through the Tonhub app: setup, top-up, spending limits, and (per the product page) freeze. The platforms the app runs on, and the store ratings, are not stated. The in-app experience is the experience; the website is light on operational detail.
Refunds are addressed briefly: “Refunds are issued only for legitimate, verified transactions.” Tonhub pre-funds purchases and debits the balance after the network and merchant confirm; a failed or declined payment leaves your funds untouched. The specific chargeback time frames, the evidence the dispute team asks for, and the way a refund reaches your wallet are not stated. As the section on complaints below makes clear, the gap between “refund issued” and “money back in your wallet” is exactly where one user has run into trouble.
What can go wrong
Three classes of risk stand out for this card: information risk, complaint risk, and operational risk.
Information risk is the simplest. The card’s own pages do not name the operator entity or the card issuer; they do not publish a fee table, an ATM policy, or a fixed daily or monthly cap. The smart contracts are audited by Trail of Bits, which is a serious name in the space, but the issuer behind the BIN is not stated, and that is the entity whose licence, regulator, and dispute process you would normally turn to. If the cards stop working, the “Emergency Withdrawal” feature is the documented way to recover your balance; the operator you would contact for help is help.holders.io, and the help center linked from the product page is the only public support channel named.
Complaint risk comes from the public feedback that exists. The only customer review on Trustpilot at the time of reading (read 2026-10-20) is a one-star report from February 2026. The user describes filing card chargeback disputes that took time to submit, disputes that were eventually won in the user’s favour, and money that had still not been returned as of mid-February. The same report mentions slow, copy-paste answers from support and an extra video-call identity check despite prior verification. The Trustpilot average is 3.2 out of 5, but that score is from a single review, so it is a data point, not a trend. There was no Reddit thread on the same complaint that I could find.
A note on the other side of the same risk: chargeback rules in this category vary, and a self-custody card has no “your bank’s customer service” fallback in the way a regular debit card does. If something goes wrong, you are dealing with the card brand and the support team the brand provides. The complaint above is the only public record I could find of how that process actually feels.
Operational risk is the standard self-custody risk, plus a few specifics. The funds live in your wallet until the moment of payment, which is excellent for custody but means a lost seed phrase is a lost balance. Tonhub supports Ledger hardware wallets, which is a real safeguard. Every transaction is monitored by an anti-fraud and anti-money-laundering system, and suspicious activity is blocked automatically. There is no mention of in-app card freeze, transaction insurance, or recovery procedures beyond the “Emergency Withdrawal” feature.
A few smaller risks are worth keeping in mind. A card BIN issued in one country can look foreign to a merchant in another, and merchants can decline foreign-issued prepaid or BINs. A failed authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days. And because the top-up is a real on-chain transfer, sending the wrong network, or sending to the wrong address, can mean a lost deposit with no automatic recovery.
What to take instead
If Tonhub’s self-custody model is appealing but the gaps in its public information give you pause, three other cards in the same general category are worth looking at. None of them is a perfect substitute; each is a different trade-off.
| Card | Score | Best for | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask Card | 7.1 / 10 | Readers who want a published fee structure, a named issuer, and cashback in mUSD | Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries; US/UK sign-ups are temporarily closed; Metal tier is $199/year; one card per user. |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Readers who want zero stablecoin top-up and zero card-spend transaction fees, with a published tier structure | Eligibility is residence-based with a country list shown only at KYC; Premium is $1,000/year, Private is $10,000/year. |
| Zeal | 6.1 / 10 | Readers who want to spend from a self-custody Safe in EUR, USD, or GBP, with no extra FX fee from Zeal itself | Zeal’s own fee schedule is not stated on the site; ATM terms are governed by the underlying Gnosis Pay programme. |
The MetaMask Card is a Mastercard issued by Monovate, with Crypto Life as card provider. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, including Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, and Uruguay, with other regions on a waitlist. The Virtual card is free; Metal is $199 a year. The card advertises “minimal fee for each transaction” and “no additional MetaMask fees,” and says it uses the Mastercard rate for foreign exchange. Cashback is paid in mUSD into a Money Account: 1% on Virtual, headline 3% on Metal (footnote: 3% applies to the first $10,000 spent, then 1% afterwards), plus a $FLY bonus through the Blackbird dining app. The card spends directly from the connected wallet, and the supported networks are Linea, Base, Monad, and Solana; the listed tokens are mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, and USDT (the page says nine in total). Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit.
KAST is a Visa programme with up to ten cards per user, three tiers (Standard, Premium, Private), and a published annual fee structure: Standard is free, Premium is $1,000 a year, Private is $10,000 a year, billed annually upfront. The card supports USDC, USDT, PYUSD, and RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, and Tron, although the terms say “currently USDT and USDC,” which is a conflict worth checking in the app. Stablecoin top-up and card spend in USD are 0%, and FX is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on residence, transaction country, and card programme. Cashback in USD is 1.5% on Standard up to $2,000 a month, 2% on Premium up to $10,000, and 3% on Private up to $40,000, with extra KAST Points for the higher tiers. KAST’s eligibility list is shown only at KYC, not in advance.
Zeal is the closest in spirit to Tonhub: a Visa card that spends from balances in a self-custody Safe in EUR, USD, or GBP, on Gnosis Chain and Celo. The card is virtual and can be added to Apple Pay. Zeal does not charge an additional FX fee; conversion uses the Visa wholesale rate, and any other fees come from the underlying Gnosis Pay programme. Cashback is up to 4% paid in GNO on Gnosis Chain, with GNO required to be held in the card Safe to qualify. Spend is supported in 150+ countries, with the card programme live in the EU, UK, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Japan, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia, and Thailand.
None of these alternatives gives you the exact combination that Tonhub offers (TON-and-USDC spending, non-custodial at the wallet level, with a self-set on-chain spending limit), and none of them requires you to set your own spending cap on-chain. The trade-off is the same one that runs through this whole review: the more control the design gives you over your keys and your limits, the less the provider spells out for you in advance.
Who I would recommend it to
The honest answer is a narrow one. The Tonhub card is for an EU resident over 18 who already keeps a self-custody wallet in TON and USDC, who is comfortable signing a blockchain transaction to top up the card, who does not need a physical card, and who is not optimising on cashback. If that is you, the model is appealing: your funds stay in your wallet, you set your own on-chain spending limits, the smart contracts are audited by Trail of Bits, and you can keep a hardware wallet like Ledger as the signer.
It is not for a reader who needs a published fee table before the first transaction, who plans to rely on cashback to make the card worthwhile, who needs an ATM policy written down, or who wants a clear, named issuer and a clear dispute path. The Trustpilot complaint is one data point, but it is the only data point, and the gap between “dispute won” and “money returned” is exactly the gap a published dispute process is supposed to close.
If you are somewhere in between, the KAST and MetaMask Card entries above give you a published fee schedule and a named issuer, at the cost of giving up the non-custodial model. The Zeal entry keeps a self-custody Safe but on a different chain and with a published FX stance. Tonhub’s particular trade-off, custody on your side, paperwork on theirs, is the one to decide whether you actually want.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Tonhub card?
The Tonhub card is a virtual Visa Debit that draws on a crypto balance held in your own self-custody wallet rather than on an account the card provider holds for you. Tonhub pre-funds the payment to the merchant and then debits your wallet after the network and merchant confirm.
Is Tonhub a bank?
The public materials do not name the card’s operator entity or card issuer, so it is not possible to say from the public pages whether Tonhub itself, or a related entity, holds a banking or e-money licence. The card brand is Tonhub, and the help center linked from the product page is help.holders.io.
How does the Tonhub card work?
You install the Tonhub app, add a wallet, complete identity verification, and receive a virtual Visa Debit. When you pay, Tonhub pre-funds the merchant and then debits the equivalent amount from your wallet. If your on-chain balance is insufficient, the payment is declined.
Who can get a Tonhub card?
The eligibility conditions are age 18 or older and residence in the European Union. The “25+” countries figure cited on the product page is described as a usage statistic, not as an eligibility list. The full set of accepted identity documents is not stated on the public page.
How do I top up the Tonhub card?
The product page shows TON and USDC; a user review also mentions USDT, although that is not an official list. Bank transfers via SEPA and SWIFT are offered as top-up options. The fees, minimums, and processing times for fiat top-ups are not stated.
Is the Tonhub card free?
The card’s own published fee schedule is not stated on the public page. A third-party report (Forklog, November 2024) and a dealroom company profile cite a 1.5% transaction fee, but this figure is unofficial and has not been confirmed by the card.
Can I add the Tonhub card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Apple Pay is mentioned in a user review on the product page; a third-party article (Forklog, November 2024) says both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Neither is confirmed in the card’s own published materials, so treat both as unofficial.
Is the Tonhub card safe?
The card is non-custodial, with the user’s keys held by the user, and the smart contracts are audited by Trail of Bits. Ledger hardware wallets are supported, and every transaction is monitored by an anti-fraud and anti-money-laundering system. The only public customer review on Trustpilot describes a chargeback dispute that was won but had not been refunded as of mid-February 2026.
How do I withdraw money from Tonhub?
The card is non-custodial, so funds remain in your wallet. The product page also describes an “Emergency Withdrawal” feature that lets designated heirs retrieve card-linked funds on-chain. SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers are offered as top-up and, by the same logic, withdrawal options, although withdrawal fees and closure handling are not stated.
Where can I use the Tonhub card?
The card is a Visa Debit and should be accepted at any merchant that takes Visa, subject to the merchant category blocks the issuer applies. The list of blocked merchant categories is not stated on the public page, and the card currency is not stated either, so foreign-issuer BINs and FX handling will vary by merchant and by country.
Wallet cards – cryptocardsearch.com
Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team
