An AUD prepaid Mastercard for crypto already sitting in your CoinSpot wallet

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Coinspot Mastercard is a prepaid debit card that lets you spend the crypto sitting in your CoinSpot wallet at the point of sale, with the conversion to Australian dollars happening in the background. The product is built for a narrow audience: people who already keep funds on the Australian CoinSpot exchange and want a way to turn that balance into everyday purchases without first withdrawing to a bank. If that is not your situation, the card is unlikely to be the right tool, because the same limitations that make it simple for an Australian CoinSpot customer also close it off for almost everyone else.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Coinspot works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The card’s score is 6.2 out of 10 in my review. It earns that mark because the cost structure is clean and the brand is established, but the eligibility rules are tight, the card page leaves several important figures unstated, and the everyday experience is constrained to a digital-only Mastercard denominated in Australian dollars. Conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Coinspot is, first and foremost, a cryptocurrency exchange, and the card is a convenience built on top of that exchange. I score it 6.2 out of 10 because the costs on the official page are clear and there is no annual or activation fee, but the card is single-currency, single-tier, digital-only, and tied to a verified Australian CoinSpot account. The reward section is empty, the physical card is not on offer, and several basic facts (ATM access, daily limits, blocked merchant categories) are not stated on the card page itself.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Coinspot payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The score table below breaks the figure down by criterion, reflecting the card’s official features and available public data.

Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 3 / 10 The page refers to AUD and Australian licensing; a fully verified CoinSpot account with two-factor authentication is required. Third-party sources say the card is for Australian customers.
Cost 8 / 10 No startup or annual fees, no lock-in periods. Unofficial sources point to a 1% conversion fee, but the page itself does not publish one.
Top-up options 7 / 10 Any cryptocurrency listed on CoinSpot, up to five linked wallets drawn in a chosen order, with 470-plus coins on offer. The supported networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131) and distributed by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd. The exchange has a Trustpilot score of 4.3 out of 5 from 2,823 reviews, with complaints about account restrictions.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Prepaid Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported. The physical card is not mentioned, and unofficial sources say only a digital card is offered, with no ATM access.
Total 6.2 / 10 A clean, low-fee AUD card for verified Australian CoinSpot users, but limited in scope and silent on several everyday details.

The audience this card suits is narrow. If you are an Australian resident with crypto already on CoinSpot, you want to spend it directly without first moving it to a bank, and you are comfortable having your account in Australian dollars no matter where you actually shop, then the card will look attractive. If you live outside Australia, do not have a CoinSpot account, or want a physical card with cashback, ATM access and a rewards programme, you should look elsewhere.

Who will they give you the card

The card page does not publish a list of supported countries, and the official text limits itself to a single phrase: a fully verified CoinSpot account with two-factor authentication enabled, against the backdrop of references to AUD and Australian licensing. The implication is that the card exists for the same audience that CoinSpot serves, which is centred on Australia. Unofficial coverage from Finder in September 2024 describes the card as available to Australian customers with a verified CoinSpot account, and that reading fits the official page.

Two practical consequences follow. First, if you are not an Australian CoinSpot customer, the card is not pitched at you. Second, even within Australia, the requirement is not just to hold an account but to complete individual identity verification and turn on 2FA. Documents, age, processing time and rejection grounds are not stated on the card page. If you have a CoinSpot account at a lower tier, you will need to upgrade before the card option appears.

The card itself is a prepaid, reloadable debit Mastercard. Its currency is AUD, which means a foreign-currency transaction is settled back to Australian dollars. The page talks about Apple Pay and Google Pay, and it does not mention a physical card; a Finder article from September 2024 states that physical cards are not available. There is a single tier: one prepaid reloadable Mastercard, with no metal version, no premium tier and no second-currency option.

How to get it

The sign-up path runs through your existing CoinSpot account rather than a separate application. You need a fully verified individual CoinSpot account and 2FA enabled. Once those conditions are met, the card option appears inside the app, and you go through the in-app steps to enrol.

A few things the page does not spell out. The exact documents needed for the verification step are not stated on the card page itself, even though the broader CoinSpot verification process is well known to Australian users. Age requirements, processing time, and the reasons an application can be rejected are not stated either, and the product disclosure statement and target market determination are referenced but not linked from the card page. If you are already a fully verified CoinSpot customer, the card is largely a tap-to-enrol step; if you are not, expect the verification step to be the slow part.

Because the card is described only as a digital Mastercard, the next step after enrolment is adding it to a mobile wallet. Apple Pay and Google Pay are the supported payment surfaces, and that is also where you manage the card day to day.

What it really costs

The headline cost story is friendly. The card page says there are no startup or annual fees, and no lock-in periods. The fee table below pulls together every number the official card page publishes, plus the unofficial figures that the card page leaves out.

Fee or limit Amount Source
Issuance Not stated (card is digital-only) Official card page; Finder Sep 2024
Monthly or annual fee None Official card page
Conversion (crypto to AUD) 1% (unofficial) savings.com.au, Accountants Daily, Finder Sep 2024
Foreign-currency fee Not stated Official card page
ATM fee Not stated; ATM access not described Official card page; Finder Sep 2024
Daily spending limit AUD 4,999 (unofficial) Finder Sep 2024
Monthly spending limit Not stated Official card page
Card tiers Single tier Official card page
Lock-in or closure fee None Official card page

The key phrase on the official page is that crypto is converted to AUD in real time at the point of the transaction at “CoinSpot’s best exchange rates”, with no margin or foreign-exchange fee figures published. That is an honest description of the mechanism but an unhelpful one if you are trying to compare the card to a competitor, because the actual conversion cost is not disclosed on the card page itself. The unofficial 1% figure is consistent across savings.com.au, Accountants Daily and Finder, and is the number to budget against until CoinSpot publishes an official rate.

Three everyday situations show how the costs land.

Buying a coffee in Australia. You tap to pay with Apple Pay or Google Pay. The merchant sees an AUD transaction, CoinSpot converts the chosen crypto to AUD at the time of sale, the merchant is paid, and your CoinSpot balance drops by the AUD amount plus the 1% unofficial conversion fee. There is no foreign-currency fee, no ATM fee, and no monthly account fee to swallow the spread.

Buying lunch in another country while travelling. The merchant settles the transaction in the local currency, the network converts it to AUD on the way through, and CoinSpot converts the AUD back into the crypto you selected. With no foreign-currency fee published, the question becomes the conversion rate CoinSpot applies, and the 1% unofficial conversion fee is the only number to anchor on. If you carry out this transaction often, the absence of a published FX margin is something to test with a small purchase first.

Buying a subscription online. The card behaves like any other Mastercard at checkout. If the merchant is foreign, the same two-step conversion applies. If a refund comes back, the page is explicit that the AUD value is returned to the CoinSpot account and the coins you originally spent are not returned; the refunded amount is in fiat and sits in your CoinSpot AUD balance.

A refund treatment like this matters for tax. If you paid with a coin that has appreciated, the AUD refund is not a return of that coin, and you have effectively disposed of it; the gain is realised, and a later repurchase would be a new acquisition.

How to top up Coinspot

The card does not have its own balance. Every purchase draws on the crypto already sitting in your CoinSpot wallet, so “topping up” really means making sure the right coins are on the exchange and that the card knows which wallets to draw from in which order.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Coinspot starts with a transfer to the right network

The official page says the card can be funded from any cryptocurrency listed on CoinSpot, with up to five linked wallets drawn in a chosen order. The card page mentions over 470 cryptocurrencies. The specific networks behind each token are not stated on the card page, and the top-up fee, minimum amount and network fees are not stated either. CoinSpot’s own fees page does list AUD deposits to the exchange as free, which is a useful contrast: getting fiat onto the exchange is free, but spending crypto through the card is where the 1% unofficial conversion fee comes in.

A few practical points.

If you are topping up from a hardware wallet or another exchange, give yourself time for the network confirmation, and consider sending a small test transaction first. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and getting the network wrong is the most common way to lose funds in a transfer.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a prepaid Mastercard loaded from your CoinSpot balances. The mobile wallet is the central surface: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card is managed inside the CoinSpot app for iOS or Android. The iOS app carries a 4.8 out of 5 rating from 46,000 ratings, with the Google Play rating not readable at the time of writing.

There is no rewards or cashback programme. The page does not mention one, and unofficial coverage from Finder in September 2024 confirms there is no cashback. If a meaningful share of your monthly spending goes through a rewards card, the lack of any return on the Coinspot card is a real cost, even when the headline fees are low.

Blocked merchant category codes are not stated. The card works wherever Mastercard is taken online, in app and at the till, and the Apple Pay and Google Pay tokens behave like any other tokenised Mastercard. That said, the BIN range identifies the card as a prepaid Mastercard issued through EML Payment Solutions, and some merchants or fraud filters treat prepaid or foreign-BIN cards with extra care, particularly online and at the checkout of subscription services or international sites.

Disputes and chargebacks are not described on the card page. The product disclosure statement and target market determination are referenced but not linked, and the complaints policy is mentioned without a direct URL. If you have a problem with a transaction, the live chat and the email address [email protected] are the routes the official page points you to. Live chat is open 24/7 with a local support team, and there is a Help Centre at coinspot.zendesk.com and a contact form at coinspot.com.au/contact.

A practical note on holds. Prepaid Mastercard authorisations can place a hold on funds for several days even when the final charge is smaller. If you spend close to your unofficial AUD 4,999 daily limit, a held authorisation can make the next transaction decline for what looks like no reason.

What can go wrong

The risks with a card like this come in three flavours: the issuer, the exchange, and the limitations of the product.

Issuer and regulatory setup. The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, which holds Australian Financial Services Licence number 404131. It is distributed by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, trading as CoinSpot. Third-party news coverage at launch described the card as a digital-only Mastercard powered by EML, and no 2026 programme change has surfaced. EML is a regulated Australian e-money and payments institution, which is a more reassuring issuer than an unregulated technology company, but the product is still bound to the life of the programme. If EML or CoinSpot decides to wind it down, the same logic that applied to FTX’s Visa card in 2022 and to WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes in 2018 applies: a notice period, then spending stops, then you withdraw your balance.

Custodial risk. CoinSpot is a custodial exchange, which means the crypto is held by CoinSpot on your behalf, and you rely on the platform to keep the balances, the conversions and the withdrawals honest. The history of custodial platforms is sobering: Mt. Gox in the early part of the last decade, Coincheck in 2018, and Ronin in 2022, all large losses from custody failures. The risk has not gone away, and a custody event at CoinSpot would put both your exchange balance and the source of funds for the card at risk.

Account freezes and reviews. The exchange’s Trustpilot page carries a TrustScore of 4.3 out of 5 from 2,823 reviews, with 7% one-star ratings. The recurring themes in the negative reviews, sampled from September and October 2026, are account and transfer restrictions without clear explanation, withdrawal and 2FA difficulties, and slow or repetitive support replies. CoinSpot replies to 89% of negative reviews, which is a high engagement rate but does not by itself resolve the underlying complaint. None of the reviews sampled mention the card specifically; the issues are about the exchange, which is also where the card lives.

Product limits. The card is digital-only, with no physical card, no ATM access and no cashback. The unofficial AUD 4,999 daily limit is conservative for any user who wants to put a large payment through the card. Foreign-currency fees, ATM fees and blocked merchant categories are not stated on the page, which is its own form of risk: the absence of a published number is not the same as the absence of a charge.

Security controls. Two-factor authentication is mandatory for the card, the card is managed in the app, and unofficial sources say you can freeze the card, set spending limits and switch the card on and off from the app. Insurance and freeze guarantees are not stated on the card page. The complaint pattern around account freezes, even if it is about the exchange and not the card, is a reminder that an account-level hold at CoinSpot can take the card with it.

What to take instead

The Coinspot card is shaped around a specific situation: an Australian customer with crypto already on the exchange. If you are not in that situation, three alternatives are worth looking at, each with a different trade-off.

Bybit Card. The Bybit card scores 6.0 out of 10 and is offered in a wider set of regions, including Argentina, the AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an Asia Pacific region. Both Visa and Mastercard variants exist, in virtual and physical form (a physical card is not available in Peru), in a mix of currencies. The fee structure is more complex: there is no annual fee and no virtual card issuance fee “until further notice”, but physical card issuance runs from USD 5 to USD 29.99 in most regions, and the foreign-exchange fee varies from 1% to 7% by region. Cashback is layered: only crypto-funded transactions earn points from October 2026, and the rate runs from 2% at the Base tier up to 10% at the Infinite tier, with monthly spend thresholds. If you live outside Australia and want both a virtual and a physical card, Bybit is the wider door. If you are an Australian customer, the cleaner Coinspot cost structure is the trade-off.

Coinbase Card. The Coinbase card scores 6.4 out of 10 and is a Visa prepaid debit card available in the United States, including all states except Hawaii, with no other countries. The product is “zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with a spread applied when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto for the card payment. It can be funded from a linked bank account, from a paycheck deposit, or from a crypto balance on Coinbase that is converted to USD at the time of purchase. Optional crypto rewards are available on every purchase, with the user choosing from a rotating list. If you are a US-based customer, the Coinbase card is the closer equivalent to Coinspot, with a similar fee profile and the addition of optional rewards.

OKX. OKX scores 6.2 out of 10 and is positioned differently. The card is a euro-denominated virtual Mastercard, with no physical card mentioned, and is available across the European Union plus Norway, launched in late January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded. The card has no fee, no OKX foreign-exchange fee, and a conversion spread of around 0.1% (a more recent explainer figure) or 0.4% (the launch press release). Funding is limited to USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay, with other coins requiring an in-app conversion first; there is no auto top-up, and a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is restricted to USDG purchases and runs from 2% at the Regular tier to 10% at VIP4 and above, with monthly caps. If you are an EU-based customer who is comfortable staying inside the USDC and USDG universe, the OKX card is the more regional option.

Card Score Regions Currencies Physical Cashback Best fit
Coinspot 6.2 / 10 Australia (per Finder) AUD No (unofficial) None Australian CoinSpot customers who want to spend directly from their exchange balance
Bybit 6.0 / 10 Argentina, AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific USD, ARS, MXN, BRL, PEN, USD Yes (in most regions) 2% to 10% (crypto-funded) Users outside Australia who want virtual and physical options
Coinbase 6.4 / 10 United States (except Hawaii) USD Yes Optional, rotating US-based users who want a clean prepaid card with optional rewards
OKX 6.2 / 10 EU plus Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein EUR Not stated 2% to 10% on USDG EU-based users who keep funds in USDC and USDG

Who I would recommend it to

The Coinspot card earns a recommendation for a narrow but real audience: an Australian resident who is already a fully verified CoinSpot customer, keeps a meaningful crypto balance on the exchange, and wants a low-friction way to turn that balance into everyday purchases in Australian dollars. For that user, the no-annual-fee structure, the wide choice of coins (470-plus) and the clean Apple Pay and Google Pay experience are well matched to the use case.

I would not recommend the card to anyone outside that audience. If you are not Australian, the official page does not list your country, and the unofficial sources do not include you. If you want a physical card, an ATM option, a cashback programme, multi-currency balances or a published foreign-exchange fee, every one of those features is either missing or unstated, and competitors cover at least some of them. If you want a card that is also a serious rewards product, the Bybit and OKX cards sit in a different league.

The honest summary is that the Coinspot card is a small, well-priced product built for a specific user. If you are that user, the value is real. If you are not, the same limitations that make it focused also make it the wrong tool.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Coinspot card?

The Coinspot card is a prepaid, reloadable debit Mastercard denominated in Australian dollars, issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited and distributed by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, which trades as CoinSpot. It lets you spend crypto held in your CoinSpot wallet at the point of sale, with the conversion to AUD happening in real time.

How does the Coinspot card work?

The card draws on up to five linked CoinSpot wallets in a chosen order. When you tap to pay, the chosen crypto is converted to AUD at the time of the transaction, and the merchant is paid in Australian dollars. The card is managed in the CoinSpot app and used through Apple Pay or Google Pay, since the physical card is not described on the official page.

Is Coinspot a bank?

CoinsSpot is a cryptocurrency exchange, not a bank. The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, a holder of Australian Financial Services Licence number 404131, and the crypto you hold on the exchange is custodial, which means CoinSpot holds the credentials on your behalf. Funds safeguarded by an e-money institution are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

Who owns Coinspot?

The card is distributed by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, which trades as CoinSpot. The card itself is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited. The two companies are separate legal entities, and the card programme is EML’s, with CoinSpot as the brand and distribution partner.

Is the Coinspot card available in my country?

The official card page does not publish a country list and refers to AUD and Australian licensing. Unofficial coverage from Finder in September 2024 describes the card as available to Australian customers with a verified CoinSpot account. If you are not in Australia, the official page is silent and the unofficial sources point the other way.

Does the Coinspot card require KYC?

Yes. You need a fully verified CoinSpot account at the individual verification level, and two-factor authentication must be enabled. Documents, age, processing time and rejection reasons are not stated on the card page itself.

Is the Coinspot card free?

The card has no startup or annual fees and no lock-in periods. The crypto-to-AUD conversion fee is not published on the card page; unofficial sources (Finder, savings.com.au, Accountants Daily) describe it as 1% on buys, sells and swaps. Foreign-currency fees, ATM fees and minimum top-up amounts are not stated on the card page.

How do I add the Coinspot card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Once your CoinSpot account is verified and the card is enabled, you add it through the CoinSpot app on iOS or Android, where the option to add to Apple Pay or Google Pay appears. The card is digital-only on the official page, so the mobile wallet is the only spend surface described.

Where can I use the Coinspot card?

Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, including online, in app and at the till, subject to the merchant’s own acceptance. The page does not publish a list of blocked merchant categories, and prepaid or foreign-BIN cards are sometimes treated with extra caution at certain online checkouts.

Is the Coinspot card safe?

The card requires 2FA, is managed in the CoinSpot app, and is issued by a regulated Australian e-money institution. The underlying crypto balance is custodial, which means it depends on CoinSpot’s solvency and operational security, and the same account-level risks that affect the exchange (freezes, withdrawal delays) would also affect the card. Insurance, freeze guarantees and dispute procedures are not stated on the card page.

Content created by the «cryptocardsearch.com» team